We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms, dishonest owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Century Hotel
Ranked #185 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good rooms, dishonest owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I paid 14 USD for a nice big clean room in the hotel. Wifi reception was perfect too. I cant complain much about the hotel itself but the money grabbing owners just kept on giving us more and more reasons to write this warning review. They lied to us about a taxy price, bus tickets and even missledged us about the price of the room. You can sleep here but i suggest you dont think about buying sonething from them or even ask them for help.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffetyefet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
11
52
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Skagway, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tom, (spelling?) The owner/manager, looked at us like walking wallets. Lied to us from the moment we walked in. Tried to overcharge for bus tickets to laos by 20+ usd. Very pushy sales man, would not let us leave. We agreed on a price for a room the night before and in the morning the price was much higher.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is good and bad.
Pros - clean, large rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, good blinds, excellent position in old quarter, reasonable price

Cons - narrow staircase; whole bathroom gets completely wet, you can't even leave toilet paper or towels in there, the toilet paper is like fairy floss, use it twice to blow your nose and it's all gone; the hotel needs fixing, the bathroom door handle came off in my hand, the bed collapsed under me; the heater in the room did not work properly and there is no heating downstairs for breakfast or computer use (Hanoi in winter is very cold!); the breakfast was nasty, very greasy eggs, lukewarm tea with condensed milk; and the worst thing about this hotel is the money grabbing behaviour of the staff. They are quick to push tours on you all the while saying they're giving you a great discount only to find that others doing the same tour are paying a lot less! Also they insisted on booking us a taxi and then when we told them we had booked another (more than an hour before it was to pick us up) she got annoyed and said "well you pay charge now for booking" I calmly shook my head, we had given them enough extra income!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good location near Hoan Kiem lake in the Old quarter, clean, large rooms, great breakfast and brilliant staff. Thanks to Lily and all the staff in New Century for making our stay in Hanoi even better. True Vietnamese hospitality right there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

When we planned to visit hanoi, we had no idea where we would be staying. Luckily we stumbled upon this hotel on booking.com, and never regretted the choice we made!

Lilly and Sen were amazing! They made the stay there so comfortable and easy, and after travelling constantly for 3 weeks, that was very much needed!

The location of the hotel is just down the road (5 mins walk) to Hoan Kiem lake, which is the centre of hanoi, which is very useful as a landmark point.

After the initial greeting and settling in to the large family room (very comfortable beds, hot shower and satellite tv), we were still unsure as to how to plan the rest of our stay in Vietnam. Luckily, Lilly and Sen were on hand to sketch out a plan for the next 2 weeks. They helped plan and book every last bus/ train/ boat/ plane required to reach each of the destinations (ha long bay, cat ba, sa pa, hue, hoi an and finally saigon), and the accommodation for each destination. So after 45 mins, we had our whole trip booked and planned (even taking into account the weather for each destination and the length of stay that would be sufficient), which took a HUGE load off our minds. We could now enjoy the holiday without having to think about where we would have to stay...etc. AMAZING SERVICE!

I recommend this hotel whole heartedly, and would definitely stay there if I return to hanoi!

I want to say a final THANK YOU to the staff in the hotel, who were so kind and helpful (all of them!), in everything they did, and did so without breaking a smile! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ousameh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked the hotel via booking.com, and even as i arrived very early in the morning, they immediately got a room for me. The room was clean and equipped with a very large flat screen tv. The breakfast was very nice and pretty tasty and they really help you to get around in Hanoi. The staff is very nice and really cares about you!
I can really recommend the hotel for a stay in Hanoi!
btw: the hotel is located directly in the old quarter and great to discover this area of the city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I would say this is very much an average hotel, fine for a night or two in Hanoi, but I would not recommend any longer. We had a very large room which had huge windows so your neighbours could see right in, so you had to have the blinds down most of the time. The staff here on the whole were helpful, though there was one boy who ignored us at breakfast and when we asked for our breakfast he just ignored us. The staff will also try their hardest to sell you a tour, and very rudely picked up my paperwork for a tour I had book with Kangaroo Cafe, they had a good read of it then told us that they did tours too and would we like one from them, when it was obvious we had already paid for one with someone else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#102 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
#60 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#182 of 579 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#12 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Sports Hotel
Hanoi Sports Hotel
#169 of 577 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stars Hotel
Stars Hotel
#59 of 577 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel

Property: New Century Hotel
Address: No 12B Hang Manh Str - Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Century is a Brand New hotel locatedat in The Old Quarter of Hanoi. This area is characterised by narrow streets wherepeople have carried out their trade for hundreds of years. New Century is one of the most beautiful and luxury hotels in the capital of Vietnam. It is convenient to walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake 100m and shopping areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing