We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice interior decor but service level can be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Ranked #100 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice interior decor but service level can be improved”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

One plus point about Conifer is its location near Opera House, Hoan Kiem lake and walking distance from my office. There is no food vendor to dirty the street outside the lobby that overlooks the rustic Metropole Hotel at a corner. During winter, it is comfortable to sit and enjoy your coffee alfresco. However, front desk service can be improved. During my last check in, the only staff made me wait while attending a phone call. I wondered why he operated alone.
The bath tub is way too high to walk in and a wooden stool is provided for this reason. However it is slippery when you step out the bath on wet feets. It also obstructs the space around the toilet seat. bowl. I hope they could rectify the problem. Otherwise, everything else was good. Alan Chua

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank achualh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Alan Chua.

Thank you for your gracious and detailed comments toward CONIFER BOUTIQUE HOTEL on TripAdvisor.
It's always a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback and it will be a big encouragement to all of our staff as we always strive hard to exceed guests' expectation.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you have another chance to visit Hanoi.

Until time permits

With kind regards,

Phi Viet Hung
General Manager of Conifer Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    159
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
184
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trinity Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Conifer last October and it is a very beautifully presented and clean hotel, a really good breakfast and close to all the restaurants and attractions. Would stay there again when in Vietnam.
Jim & Doreen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jim and Doreen.

I would like to thank you for selecting Conifer Boutique Hotel as your residence of choice during your recent stay in Hanoi and also for taking the time to tell us about your experiences while with us.
At Conifer Boutique Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your valuable comments are well noted and we will look into improving with our team

Thank you very much indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

In April 2013 we went to Hanoi and Mai Chau (about 4 h by road out west). In Hanoi we stayed at the Conifer Boutique Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and well appointed, with tea and coffee making facilities, WiFi and TV channels (BBC, CNN etc) and each day there was a plate of fruits. The Deluxe room that we stayed in was compact, although a little more space would have been appreciated. However, on return from Mai Chau, we were upgraded to an en suite with a balcony. The hotel is well located in a side street away from the main thoroughfare. It is a short walk to the Opera house, Hilton and the Sofitel Legend Metropole is on the next street. There are a number of good restaurants close-by. The Old Quarter (night markets) and the Hoan Kiem lake is about 15 - 20 minutes walk away and we were also able to walk to the Hoa Lo (aka Hanoi Hilton) prison.

Mai Chau is a different category as it was a grass-root bicycling holiday. We stayed with home-stay in the village, although we did finish up on the last day at the comparatively luxurious Mai Chau resort. It was comfortable in home-stay; friendly locals and the meals were excellent organic ethnic food.

Room Tip: Level 8 and below en suite rooms have individual balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fin_del_Mundo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest.

Warmest thank you from Conifer Boutique Hotel team!

On behalf of our management team, I would like to thank you for choosing Conifer Boutique Hotel and also for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We will keep your compliment in mind and will trying to maintain as well as improve this service standard.

Thanks you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited Hanoi at the end of April 2013. The hotel was excellent. The hotel and room were clean. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of delicious fruits, cereal and cooked breakfast.
We stayed one night and checked out to spend 2 days and 1 night at Halong Bay. The visit was cancelled due to the weather. We telephoned the hotel and were able to get another room with no problem. The staff were friendly too.

The hotel is very close to the Old Quarter. We went to the Old quarter by taxi for dinner and walked back to the hotel at night. It felt safe and there were a lot of people still out (11 p.m.)

I definitely would stay in this hotel again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Bellaneish,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed our service, the food and the convenient location. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you and we hope you will come back soon to Conifer Boutique Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic small Hotel in a great location. It is a haven, quiet yet close to everything. The staff are friendly and the service great. If you like a smaller boutique hotel that treats you like a person not a number then this is the hotel for you.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RosepMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Rosep,

Thank you for your detailed comments about your recent stay at the Conifer Boutique Hotel.

I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you “back home” as and when your travels bring you back in this direction.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our small tour group was put up at the Conifer Boutique Hotel, mainly due to it's excellent location near the Opera House, shopping, restaurants and other attractions. The hotel itself is definitely of the boutique style. The rooms are generally small but comfortable. I had room 503 and it had a well appointed bathroom with a tub/shower, a small veranda which I thoroughly enjoyed, and a very comfortable bed. The rooms facing the back were not as nice, with an awkward layout and a very unpleasant view, so do ask for a front facing room. The staff was very nice and every evening I returned to my room to find a nice little treat and two fresh bottles of complimentary water. An electric kettle and a small assortment of coffees and teas is located in the bureau. There is a small lobby with a small bar and some tables both inside and out for having a beverage. My only complaint was that their breakfast was not very interesting, but it offered yoghurt, rolls, and both some Vietnamese and Western style foods. You won't starve but you won't be inspired, either. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. It wasn't the more luxurious Hilton or elegant Metropole located nearby, but I like small hotels, and this one worked just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room if you wish to have a bit more space and more functional layout and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

Thank you for all of your complimentary and kind words regarding our high standard of services. We genuinely have a passion for all of our guests and we are glad that they can feel it like you did.

Hope that you will come back to see us in the near future!

Thanks you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just come back from Vietnam spent the first two nights in Conifer Boutique Hotel. This hotel is very well situated within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. The hotel staff and food were very nice, spacious rooms and very clean. We were not originally booked into this hotel but were pleasantly surprised by it. It was a small and friendly hotel, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and would highly recommend this hotel if travelling to Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniferhotel_GM, General Manager at Conifer Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed our service, the food and the convenient location. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you and we hope you will come back soon to Conifer Boutique Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#12 of 586 in Hanoi
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#73 of 586 in Hanoi
1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer Boutique Hotel

Property: Conifer Boutique Hotel
Address: 09 Ly Dao Thanh Street, Hoan Kiem Dist. | Trang Tien Dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Conifer Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital City of Hanoi, once considered a conservative city, has developed into one of the unbelievable exciting cities in Southeast Asia. It is slow paced but attraction captures, with lovely lakes, lush public parks, and shaded boulevards of old French-colonial architecture. Hanoi is home to all the best of historic Vietnam and discovers traditional places of interests such as temples, monuments, including pockets of ancient culture along the narrow streets of an old quarter. Witness the rapid cultural shift as the cafes fill with young & trendy Hanoians, leisurely sipping cappuccinos and comparing latest electronics gadgets. This newest Conifer boutique hotel consists of 42 elegant rooms and conveniently situated in the heart of Vietnam's capital, just 2 minutes walks to famous Opera House and 5 minutes walks to the legendary Hoan Kiem Lake, in the of business districts is ideally for business and leisure guests alike. The Conifer Restaurant showcases both international and Vietnam cuisine utilizing regional ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conifer Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing