We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service but tiny rooms”
Review of Art Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Art Hotel
Ranked #47 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent service but tiny rooms”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

we really liked this hotel - its clean, the service of all staff is over the top, the location is very good. but upon entering the room, we were a bit shocked - the rooms are really tiny. the deluxe rooms have 18sqm and i assume thats including the bathroom. but to be fair, they state the room size on their website so you know what you are going for.
and i assume that most hotels in the old city of hanoi have rather small rooms, since the buildings are small and packed together.
the room was to the back of the hotel and quiet. you could hear your neighbours but all the street noise was blocked out.
the reception do an incredible service - they arrange everything, even simcards for your phone or laundry. and they all speak good english and are very helpful!
and if you are there, try the streetfood that is right next door - it was our favorite even after trying 10 others.

Room Tip: i would go for the quiet rooms because hanoi can get loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    95
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
227
82
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location. Walking distance to major sights in old city. A lot of restaurants on different budget and street shops. Rooms are clean. Whether you like Hanoi or not you will love breakfast in Art Hotel. But the best about hotel is staff. Service provided includes: airport pick up at reasonable price,city map, list of recomended shops, restaurants and other information about Hanoi, travel info and booking. Strongly recomended hotel, especially for its price.

Room Tip: Delux with Quiet has window only to get street air not for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel itself is conveniently located in Ha Noi's Old Quarter, and is just a short walk or cyclo ride from Hoan Kiem Lake, markets and major attractions (perfect for an afternoon nap to recover from the tropical climate!) The rooms were always well presented, and the finer touched like fresh fruit every day and a good night treat made our stay even more comfortable. what really made The Art Hotel something special was the friendliness, helpfulness, and efficiency of the always smiling hotel staff. Our holiday had threatened to derail a couple of times, but the staff were there to help make alternate travel arrangements, arrange for collection of lost personal items, and this took the hassle out of these urgencies and allowed us to enjoy our stay in Ha Noi. Be sure to help the hotel staff practice their English!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TristanK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is really nice. The room is very clean. All the toiletries (soaps, toothbrush, showecap etc.) are provided. It's a small hotel but we prefer it to a large international chain hotel. The service is personalized here and we had a great time.

The location is conveniece. You can walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and it is easy to find places to eat.
Also, the breakfasts provided at the hotel is very nice. There is a buffet bar where you can help youselves to cereals, fruit, vegetables, toasts, juices etc. Then, you can order dishes (already included in the hotel fee), such as omelette, bacons, pho...We are very happy with the breakfast.
Every night the hotel left us small puddings or pieces of cakes, with a "have a good night" sign (We think it's really nice). Also, they left us a bit of fruits on the table everyday.And the welcome drinks ard fruits are really nice too.


The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful, especially Ms. Suot who addressed us by our names (as we are Thai, our names are a bit unusual but she can remember them). Anyway, not just her but every staff was nice and helpful. They called us taxis and taught us how to avoid taxi scams. Also, they told us directions to go to places. They also help us with our bags as soon as we got to the hotel we did not have to worry about anything.

As two girls travelling by ourselves, we feel safe in the hotel. We are very pleased with the service. And we will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kanokporn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

All I can really do is repeat many of the other review here. This hotel is exceptional, mostly due to the excellent people who work here. A member of the Art Hotel staff was waiting for me at the airport, which I was very grateful for, as this is my first trip to Hanoi. On arrival at the hotel, you begin to suspect that this crew may really know how to do things...and they do. The welcome drink offers you a nice way to relax after a probably-hectic journey, the rooms are nicely furnished, and they insist on not letting you carry your bags around yourself lol. For the geeks: each floor has its own wifi; choose the one for your floor to get the best connection. There's also wifi in the lobby area, as well as 3 computers on the lower floor. They also have baggage storage, which I found very handy, especially on check out days where I had some daytime open before an evening train ride. The staff helped arrange several trains for me, and a trip to Halong Bay, all of which went smoothly, again, mostly because the people here are top notch. The Art Hotel met me several times at the train station, and on my trains out, one of the staff even walked me all the way to my berth to make sure I got there ok. As I said in the title, I do not often give a 5-star review. I think 5-stars should really MEAN something. This hotel truly deserves the highest marks. DO stay here if you can!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GLX1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived at about 11:45 pm on Oct 3rd and were ushered to our rooms promptly so we could rest. We stayed in the family room (709) - huge with great roof terrace; lovely touches like a laptop to use, fresh fruit and water every day and night-time sweet treats. The room was quiet and beds was comfortable. Air conditioning worked well. There is an lift. We stayed for 5 nights and was impressed by the excellent service.

Breakfast was excellent especially the coffee, omelet and pho. They had turndown services every night! ALL the hotel staff here from Bell-boy to reception, cleaning and cooking were superb.

Hotel location was very good; we walked to almost everything. There are lots of amazing streets to explore with shops, cafes and markets. The hotel is next to a bakery (Loc Tac), a puppet theatre nearby and a 5-10 min walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake.

Their car service from the airport is a very good solution to avoid many headaches that you read about regarding the taxis from the airport. Our driver was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, highly recommended place and thanks again to a lovely staff team.

Room Tip: The Family Room on the 7th floor is worth the extra money- has a private balcony overlooking the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Art Hotel Hanoi is a pleasantly renovated building in one of the busier streets in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. Our room was not large but it was quiet, tastefully decorated and well equipped. The staff members were very friendly yet courteous and made our stay very enjoyable. We arrived hot and dusty from the airport and were greeted with refreshing towels and a deliciously fruity welcome drink. The receptionists in particular were very helpful offering advice on places to eat, which spa to get a massage and how to get around the district using the hotel's map. They were even able to organise travel to our next destination. The breakfasts were spectacularly good and included the best beef pho we've eaten anywhere, in addition to delectable mango pancakes and fresh fruit and juices. We can thoroughly recommend the Art Hotel Hanoi.

Room Tip: Our room was on the quieter side of the building and on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#73 of 591 in Hanoi
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#12 of 591 in Hanoi
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#51 of 591 in Hanoi
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#74 of 591 in Hanoi
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 65 Hang Dieu,Phuong Cua Dong,Quan Hoan Kiem,Hanoi, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hanoi Art Hotel Hanoi.We are team of young, professional and enthusiastic staff who are old hands at the hotel industry in Hanoi. Our desire is to give you a real home on your road: Cozy, warm and familiar, everything you want and need is available at your fingertips.How about our boutique hotel? Offering a sanctuary of comfort while on the road, Hanoi Art Hotel Hanoi is a 30 rooms cozy hotel is located in Hanoi's historic Old Quarter. With 4 different room types and a warm friendly environment with plenty of charm, chic design, modern comfort and modern facilities.All 35 rooms offer a genuine experience of sophistication with "Hanoi Art Hotel Hanoi My Bed",European amenities, LCD television, complimentary in-room wireless internet access, daily newspaper, fully-stocked mini-bar and nightly turn down service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing