We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Art Hotel
Save
You added Art Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #32 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I found this place right here on tripadvisor and it was a great choice. I paid US $35 for a nice room with queen size bed, flat screen TV, good hot water, well stocked bathroom and refrigerator. A/C could be better. Breakfast is OK, internet is free in the basement and staff is excellent and very helpful. They'll be happy to sell you tours, but won't bother you about it. The neighborhood is good, close enough to the lake and all the sites, plenty of shops and restaurants and a good bakery next door, but a bit removed from some of the most chaotic parts of old Hanoi, which is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    95
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
225
82
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

My family stayed for two nights at the Hanoi Art Hotel and we wish it could have been a longer stay. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful, they really make the place spectacular. They totally doted on my four year old son and were so kind to him. Breakfast is great and the food is very plentiful. Coffee and baguettes are delicious! Our room had a good-sized balcony with a swing. The bathroom was great, nice big shower with lots of hot water and water pressure. The location could not be better - a quick walk to Hoan Kiem and lots of great street food around. We will definitely stay at the Art Hotel the next time we are in Hanoi! Thanks to Mr. Chris, Mr. Phi and Ms. Suot for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ultramatic78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed for two nights at art hotel pre and post Halong Bay.
The first night I had a family suite. very big room, awesome balcony, a bottle of wine and fruit (nice touch)
Found it hard to open the cupboard because the bed was in the way and at night the noise from the traffic was sooo bad i literally put a finger in my ear to block the noise to try to get some sleep.
The breakfast was nice, the staff were very nice. Very clean and good price for hotel.
The next time we stayed we had a deluxe room. Downgraded due to the hotel being booked out but it was actually better. The noise wasnt that bad and actually got a good nights sleep. Go figure?
They kept our luggage for us whilst we went to Halong bay.
The only problem for me was the noise otherwise it was a great place to stay. Walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: dont get a room directly on main road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at the Art Hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi as a base for our stay in the north of Vietnam in November 2011. The location is very convenient for many of the sights and restaurants.

The rooms were booked over the internet from Australia and were just as requested with windows overlooking the street. The rooms were comfortable and well serviced. Breakfast was delicious.

An outstanding feature of this hotel was the attitude of the staff. All were charming, very friendly and willing to help in any way. Helpful advice was offered about getting around in and finding restaurants in Hanoi. They took a personal interest in our side trips and were very welcoming when we returned.

We are particularly grateful to the Art Hotel management for their willingness to assist us in a personal issue (unrelated to travel) with a member of hotel staff acting as expert interpreter.

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Art Hotel, would stay there again and would gladly recommend it as an enjoyable place to stay in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street have large windows but were well insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eriltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Wonderful staff, nothing is too hard, from manager to front office to wait staff. Impeccable service, super clean rooms. Central location, very reasonably priced. Intend to come back and also recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PerthResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great location, great value for money and decent, clean rooms. However, what really makes this hotel is the staff. I don't think that I've ever had so much contact with hotel staff before actually arriving! They were very accommodating in terms of room requirements but also arranged for a free pick up at the airport (no mean feat when you arrive in a crazy city like Hanoi after a 14 hour flight!) and free puppet show. They also organised our Halong Bay trip for us in advance and gave us lots of advice on things to do in the area. But more than this, we genuinely felt a connection with the staff when we arrived. They remembered the little things that we'd done during the day, asked us how everything went and we could have a laugh and a joke with them. My only slight criticism would be that the staff on the early morning shift were not really up to the same standard (English was quite weak which led to the wrong breakfast order a couple of times) but other than that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KazHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Art Hotel is well located in the old quarters. The service is tremendous. On one of our venture out to find some local food during peak time, we hailed a cab and one of the lady staff told the cab driver where we wanted to go. At arrival we read the meter incorrectly and overpaid the driver. Instead of 16,000 vnd we paid 160,000 vnd but realised our mistake only after we sat down at the restaurant. On our return to the hotel, the staff asked if we had a good evening and dinner so we casually mentioned our experience. We did not realise that the staff member who helped us earlier took down the number of the cab and volunteered to ring the cab company for us. Sure enough the company tracked down the driver and offered to refund us the overpayment via Art Hotel. Even by this time, we have departed Hanoi, the staff at Art Hotel emailed us and we gladly gave the refund partly to the cab driver and staff at Art Hotel for their honesty and excellent service. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Light sleepers, try not to get the city view suites as the traffic horning may keep you awake although each nite for my friends and I, we were too tired for it to bother us too much.

Room Tip: Request a non city view room if your are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank syanlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#66 of 549 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#14 of 549 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky 3 Hotel
Lucky 3 Hotel
#145 of 549 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#49 of 549 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#37 of 549 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#87 of 549 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 65 Hang Dieu,Phuong Cua Dong,Quan Hoan Kiem,Hanoi, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hanoi Art Hotel Hanoi.We are team of young, professional and enthusiastic staff who are old hands at the hotel industry in Hanoi. Our desire is to give you a real home on your road: Cozy, warm and familiar, everything you want and need is available at your fingertips.How about our boutique hotel? Offering a sanctuary of comfort while on the road, Hanoi Art Hotel Hanoi is a 30 rooms cozy hotel is located in Hanoi's historic Old Quarter. With 4 different room types and a warm friendly environment with plenty of charm, chic design, modern comfort and modern facilities.All 35 rooms offer a genuine experience of sophistication with "Hanoi Art Hotel Hanoi My Bed",European amenities, LCD television, complimentary in-room wireless internet access, daily newspaper, fully-stocked mini-bar and nightly turn down service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing