We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cheap hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Ranked #153 of 605 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in april 2012. It's a cheap, basic and nice hostel. Central location, nice staff. Free basic breakfast, AC, TV, bathtub, shower, towles in rooms. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definately come back. We booked a Halong Bay Tour downstairs which turned out to be horrible, so for that you might wanne go somewhere else and book a nice one!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same price... beds differe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel seems quite nice at a first glance and more clean many others within the same price range (15 dollars without breakfast). However, several rooms are infused with humidity and you can see stains on the walls and the ceiling (we actually stayed in two different rooms and saw two other rooms). The equipment of the room is too basic, they do not even provide glasses. No kettle or any coffee supplies, no telephone in the room (so if anything happens to you or if you want something, you cannot even call the reception). There is a minibar in the room but there isn't even water in it and it makes a lot of strange noise. Bathroom is really nice though,very clean, with a nice bathtub, recently renovated I think. Many reviews point out that the staff is really friendly (and it's the impression you get at first) but don't be fooled... When we checked out and paid the bill, the receptionist didn't even say goodbye to us and just headed to the back of the hotel like we didn't even existed. I think she guessed we were going to go to another go (though we didn't say anything) but that doesn't allow someone to treat his/her customers like that. Anyway, you can find better hotels within the same price range. Beware: prices vary from client to client

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oksana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012. We were initially staying in dorms at the Hanoi Backpackers' but after a Ha Long Bay tour we wanted our own room. It's hard to find a decent priced hotel in Hanoi, but we got a good deal staying here. The staff are so friendly and willing to help whenever they can. Our room was fairly large with a double and a single bed. There was even a new flat-screen TV and a bath with hot water. The beds were a little uncomfortable but very clean and you need ear plugs if your window faces the street as traffic noise can be loud in the morning. They include breakfast as well in the price. The location was good - in the Old Quarter not far from nightlife and a short walk to the lake and main sights. I'd definitely stay here if I came back to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room facing out on to the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place is located in the bustling streets of Hanoi's old town. Staff was friendly although they really wanted me to sell their own Halong Bay tour but I guess that's the same in most Hanoi hotels. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. It even had a balcony but sadly it wasn't possible to open the door. Breakfast (omelette, bread and coffee) was included in the price ($ 18 for double room).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room to the backyard because front rooms can be noisy beacause...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyfootballhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed 3 days at the Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel, it was clean, and nice big rooms, good staff too. Paid $18 a night with breakfast for a double. The location was pretty central, but the horrendous Hanoi street noise kept me up til 1am and woke me up at 6am everyday. No real sleep! However, I think this may be a problem for any guesthouse in Hanoi! I'd recommend it, but ask for a room at the back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Apparently this is a very nice hotel but I never got to find out as the day before I arrived in Hanoi they sent me an email to say they were closed for renovation (not sure if this was true or not) and directed me to a completely different hotel - The Prince Hotel on Hang Cot - nearby. This is despite the fact that I made my reservation months in advance. Upon arrival we found the Prince Hotel was closed but there was a zombie napping on the sofa in the lobby who sleepwalked us up to our room with hardly a word or smile. Our room smelled very damp and musty. The fan was broken, some of the lights didn't work, the floor was dusty. Worst of all is that the bin had not been emptied since the previous guest and it was full of what looked like yoghurt with mould all over it. There were big cockroaches too. I thought it was very wrong of them to charge the same price as the Blue Sky when it was obviously not of the same standard. When I wrote to Blue Sky they replied - several days too late - that if I wasn't happy with my room I should come to Golden Time Hostel. My question is: Why didn't they just give me a room there in the first place instead of trying to fob me off with the poor substitute that is the Prince Hotel?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Their original name was "Blue sky hotel", nowadays is "Golden Time Hostel" at 43 Ly Thai To in HaNoi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keltoi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#131 of 605 in Hanoi
1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#147 of 605 in Hanoi
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#203 of 605 in Hanoi
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#65 of 605 in Hanoi
1,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#318 of 605 in Hanoi
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#201 of 605 in Hanoi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel

Address: 65 Hang Cot, Hanoi | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 605 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $20 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best rate guaranteeHanoi Blue Sky Hotel is located in the area of old streets in the center of Hanoi Capital. It just takes 3 minutes to walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We at the Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel have years of experience. We love meeting travelers and we love showing them our Vietnamese hospitality. Our hotel has 11 rooms ranging from single, double, twin and triple. Regardless of what room you stay in, you are treated to 24hr tea and coffee, as well as fruit and daily breakfast. We also provide free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the building, and have a computer room for those without laptop. Our tourist help desk is open to help you book tours or tickets to specific destinations. We can also provide excellent advice on what to do with your time in Vietnam. Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel also has a modern restaurant on the ground floor. We serve both Vietnamese and Western foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing