We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and that's it”

La Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #940 of 2,346 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and that's it”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We took our chances on this place, despite a low rating. It proved to be deserved, food was ok to bland, service mediocre and prices high, so in combination poor. Unless you want to pay for some seclusion from it all, it's not worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Dgf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This restaurant was 2 mins away from our hotel and we discovered it like an oasis on out first night when everyone (2 adults and 3 children) were tired from travelling and hungry. Food is fantastic! Great wines by the glass and the beers were cold. So great that we went back a few nights later to celebrate our anniversary with our three children in tow!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Has worsened over the years and food rather bland.”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

There was no problem with the waitress’s English. It was just that the service wasn’t that enthusiastic. It was not the warmest of days in Hanoi, about 26°C outside, and the air-conditioner and fans were off. The unventilated dining room was stuffy and quite a few degrees warmer than outside. Despite obvious signs of sweat and discomfort no attempt was made at all by the waitresses to see if we would like to have the AC or at least the fans switched on.

My duck liver pâté was tasteless. Anything that you can pull out of the shelf from Monoprix will taste more of duck liver. The baguette, probably not home-baked, needed some salt in the dough and I would say less water. The New Zealand sirloin steak was done correctly (medium rare) but the pepper sauce was tasteless. The starter and the main discouraged med from ordering dessert.

The food at Restaurant Là was quite good some two years ago. My experience from this evening was something quite different. Although the price was not outrageous it is bad value for the quality of food offered and the stuffy environment. (By the way smoking is permitted and I can only imagine what the place would be like if more than 2 people lit up at the same time.) This restaurant is not worth the money, and most of all, not worth the time spent in the restaurant and getting there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of Hanoi's Best”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have been traveling to Hanoi for years and have enjoyed the growing number of very good restaurants. La is one of Hanoi’s best restaurants.

It is one of our favorites with consistently excellent food and service.

Relatively small, with a steady exPat cliental, La’s menu has both a western and Vietnamese section.

According to my wife, La has an excellent wine selection as Wayne, the Canadian owner, takes care in his wine selection. I can only attest to the beer being cold.

La is easy to find. Walk down “Church Street” to the Cathedral, turn right onto Ly Quoc Su Street in front of the Cathedral. La is short walk up the street on the right. Look for the Carlsberg sign.

Stepping inside you will find not only wonderful food, but also a peaceful atmosphere after the spending time in Hanoi’s chaotic old city where one-way streets and stoplights are only suggestions.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not so tasty also expensive for this quality.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I am very disappointed. Not recommend to my friend. No parking for the bike.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing