We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit.”

Madame Hien Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 2,341 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With fresh air terrace surrounded by trees, Madame Hien is located in the Century villa inside the old town.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great food. Option of French or Vietnamese. Really good service and option to sit inside or outside. The green tea cake is recommended (but takes 20 minutes as it's made fresh).

Four of us had three courses and a couple of beers each for a grand total of 60 GBP.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    558
    238
    86
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We ate here twice in Hanoi - the first time we sat outside in the beautiful courtyard and the second time upstairs ... which was a little hot the night we were there. The food was delicious, not our best in Vietnam overall but a great introduction to the local cuisine. Service was a bit hit and miss.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHG3270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but not so clean toilet”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This restaurant was very close to our hotel. We dine here once and food is excellent though a little bit pricey but nothing to complain about. The only negative was the toilet had no running water so unable to flush and I believe the restaurant must have known because they placed a whole big plastic mineral water on the sink for washing hands.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellingbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Madame Hien Restaurant”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent value fine dining with friends whole live locally. Old world charm tastefully decorated. Authentic tastes

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJKTravel53100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great food but spoiled by disgusting toilets”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My second time to Madame Hien and the food was lovely and service acceptable.
It's a beautiful restaurant and the fusion of French and Vietnamese cuisine is superb.

However, and I apologise to those reading this at dinner time... the toilets had no running water and looked like those you would find at a music festival.
When we made a complaint to the staff about the problem, they revealed that they were already aware. However, no attempt was made to rectify the situation.

I really hope they address this issue because otherwise this is a good place to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Hien Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Madame Hien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing