We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended overall as a good value, clean hotel in a good location but avoid the pushy owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Ranked #63 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Recommended overall as a good value, clean hotel in a good location but avoid the pushy owner”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at the Rendezvous on 3 separate occasions while we toured Hanoi, Halong Bay and Sapa. We had booked this hotel based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor and other online sites. The email communication we had with Luke, one of the Australian managers was wonderful after we had booked online. He was a wealth of knowledge and provided information without being pushy. For that reason we also booked our Halong Bay trip through the hotel.

We arrived in our pre-organised car from the airport. The car we had sent was great, the driver friendly and we felt the $15 a decent price especially when you read about all the hotel scams in Hanoi. Be aware though that you can get back to the airport for less than $10 which is worth bearing in mind.

Check-in was a little messy. They had a number of guests arrive at the same time from the airport and not all the rooms were quite ready. That said, we were shown into the hotel cafe and offered a drink while we waited and were all checked in within 30 minutes.

During our wait to check-in we had our first encounter with the Vietnamese owner. We felt that he was very pushy. Within seconds of telling him that we were going to Sapa after Halong Bay and that we were doing it independently we told us we were "wrong" to do it on our own and that we "shouldn't" be going at a weekend and that we should've let him recommend our hotel there. Those kind of words aren't the right ones to use to an Irishwoman who hasn't had enough sleep and in not so many words he was advised to back off.

We avoided the owner as much as we could for the rest of the trip and we can gladly stay that every other member of staff in the place is amazingly friendly and helpful. We had very few issues during our combined stay and any we did have were quickly resolved. The highlight for us was being picked up from the train station after our overnight from Sapa and being permitted to check in at 6am - total thumbs up from us!

The rooms were a great size, beds were uber comfy and the rain showers in the rooms were brilliant. Cleanliness was good and each room had a mini fridge and large plasma TV with a good range of channels.

Breakfast is included and represents good value with a good range of choices and includes a tea or coffee, an orange juice and some fresh fruit in addition to the meal you choose. The cafe where breakfast is served is comfortable, bright and funky too.

All in all we would recommend the Rendezvous to anyone going to Hanoi but would urge you to avoid the owner. If you are reading this, please let Luke and Sarah, your managers, do their job and let your guests come to you for information instead of pushing it on them, we weren't the only guests who felt this way. Be strong about doing things independently if that's how you prefer to do things. That said, the Halong Bay Heritage cruise trip we booked via the hotel was an excellent value tour with less than 14 people and inclusive of sea-kayaking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    281
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
105
371
263
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kitakyushu, Japan
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2010

i was very pleased with this hotel, especially the efforts of sarah and luke who helped me with all question and gave me great advide about what to see in Hanoi, where to go out and good places to eat, since my trip was short i felt they really helped me get the most out of my trip to Hanoi....if i find my self back there i would definatly stay there again. my trip was made effortless and stress free. i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We had a ball at the Hanoi Rendezvous. Clean, comfy, top location, happy helpful staff. They helped us with bookings, transfers, local information, maps of the district, advice, really could not have been more helpful! Awesome breakfasts to start each day, and did I mention happy, helpful staff???!!! Everyone was just so helpful, and the Aussie hosts Luke & Sarah gave really useful advice and guided us in the right direction so that we were satisfied (we talked to fellow travellers who made different choices and they were disappointed- so we appreciate their knowledge) It made our stay in Hanoi (Halong Bay & Sapa) so enjoyable, our holiday was fantastic- no low points & it was largely due to their great advice..Cheers to all at the Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel!! Charlie

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Sarah & Luke -the hosts of this motel have been great! Start the day with a great cooked breakfast FREE too! They arranged everything..our pickup at the airport & then our transfer to Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel. They organised a trip to Halong Bay , man many "junks" to pick from and we had no idea, so they helped us choose the Paloma - a step above lots of the others!! Transfers back to Hanoi, then enjoy the sights of Hanoi, top shopping!! We decided on a trip to Sapa.. the mountains, fantastic views and countryside, local villages, the Hill tribe women (in traditional dress) are very friendly. Train back to Hanoi, Luke & Sarah helped us with accomodation in Hoi An! They have been great..we would all recommend this hotel to anyone! Staff are superb, so cute & friendly!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardy4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My adult daughter and I travelled through Cambodia and Vietnam and stayed at some great places but would rate the Rendezvous hotel as number one stay. Great location, great value, pleasant, clean surroundings but best of all were the friendly and helpful staff. My only regret is that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliB81
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed at Rendezous Hotel whilst in Hanoi and loved it. The staff booked all our train fares, sourced tickets and helped with further travel details.

Very helpful with maps ready all the time!!!

Would recommend highly and have done so already.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My husband and I had over a week at Hotel Rendezvous and were surprisingly amazed at the quality of the hotel. Our room was spacious, beds comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. We enjoyed the free western style breakfast each morning and even chose to eat our evening meal there on two occasions. The staff, lead by Luke and Sarah, were warm, friendly, welcoming and happy to assist with any questions. We booked an overnight stay at Ha Long Bay on the magnificant Palerma - which was amazing.
We would confidently recommend Hotel Rendezvous to anyone wishing to stay in Han Oi and experience the real Han Oi. An absolute bargain in anyone's eyes.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stepbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 591 in Hanoi
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#117 of 591 in Hanoi
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#35 of 591 in Hanoi
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#29 of 591 in Hanoi
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#202 of 591 in Hanoi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel

Property: Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Dieu Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed by two energetic Australian's; Luke and Sarah, Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the heart of Vietnam's capital city, Hanoi.Located in Hoan Kiem district; The Old Quarter is Hanoi's most popular tourist destination. When you stay at the beautiful Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, you are guaranteed to be impressed by our immaculate rooms, brand new bathrooms with Western showers, LCD TV's, and greeted by our very friendly, helpful staff..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing