We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book your trips there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Ranked #59 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't book your trips there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We're a bit disappointed, we would have expected more for 30$ a night. The rooms are spacious but pretty worn down. But worst was, that we paid double the regular price for the train tickets to and from Sapa and got a hard seat night train on the way back instead of a soft seat what we were told and what we paid for! You don't ever want to experience a 10 hour train ride on a wooden bench in a totally overfilled train wagon! We would have never booked that!!!
We had the feeling that they try to get as much money from you as possible by intensively offering to book something for you..

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendezvous99, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Peter,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing us and taking your time to give us review.
We were absolutely shocked at your article as our tours & ticket booking services are generally praised by guests here.
In respond to the train tickets issue, we did make throughout inspection over and over again, yet a record of the train tickets sold to you was no where to be found. Treacherous and ignorance are never the way of a reputative business and we ARE and always proud to be a good one, so if any of our staffs ever made a mistake, we’ll take full responsible for that and will do means possible to compensate. However, while fulfilling our duty with the business, we do expect you to be calm, think again, and show proofs that you booked train tickets from us. Please do this with responsibility and caution as even a misaccusation may severely damage our efforts to build a good image.
Also, be advise that Tet is the high season, therefore it was no accident that tickets price be double or triple, even for the Vietnamese as well. We understand and feel sorry for your bad experience but NEVER apologise for what we didn’t do. Furthermore, we couldn’t find any booking details under your name from the beginning of Feb until now. The only one we had is Mr Peter Scott’s receipt who did stay with us for only 1 night of 13th Feb, check out on the 14th and went straight to the airport at 4am on our hotel’s car without any train tickets to Sapa booked.


Safe and Happy Travels,
Hanoi Rendezvous hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    267
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
99
353
241
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

In truth, I didn't really like this hotel, but it does provide a clean, comfortable room in a great location, for a ridiculously low price (by American standards). Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Plumbing is a little sketchy. Try to get a room that's not on the street; in the old quarter of Hanoi, the noise level is deafening.

Room Tip: Interior rooms much quieter, though lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeblitzflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llucmajor, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We needed a place to be after our late arrival to the Hanoi airport. The hotel arranged a taxi for us which was perfect, fast, and not more expensive than regular taxis.

The room was enormous but a strange machine roared all day -and night- long. it did not bother us too much, but still.

The staff was really friendly, the food OK and the location good for city sightseeing. wi-fi worked perfectly in the 2nd floor but not in the ground floor. I'd recommend the hostel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at Rendezvous Hotel Hanoi for 4 nights. The rooms were clean and very spacious. Air-con (& heating) which worked very well.

The highlight of the stay was the staff. They were so helpful. Organising a Halong Bay tour, city tour, train to Dong Hoi & Taxi's for us. All of the tours they arranged for us were fantastic!

The free breakfasts were great. And to top it all off there was free spring rolls and beer on the Thursday while we were staying!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscoStuRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel in a central area in Hanoi

Great for on a budget, not flash but good for afew days in crazy busy Hanoi

Breakfast is great, lots of choose from quite western

Becarful crossing those roads!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yearout2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent a total of 5 nights here, split by a trip to Halong Bay. What you get for the price is amazing. The extensive western style breakfast menu alone, included every morning, is worth it. I was here on Christmas Eve and there was even a free dinner (fried chicken and corn, spring rolls, and beer).

One of the highlights of my time in Vietnam was a city tour with one of the staff members here. He took me around on his own motorbike and gave insightful commentary at every place we visited or passed (Temple of Literature, Museum of Ethnology, plus a drive-by of some other famous sights). Riding on the back of a motorbike through the busy streets of the Old Quarter is an experience not to be missed. With all the tales of scamming I've read, it's a relief to arrange a reliable guide right from the hotel. They also purchased my ticket to the water puppet theater. The direct taxi pickup and drop-off from the airport was also smooth; the driver had the hotel business card with him.

During my trip, I met two other friends in Hanoi who stayed at different hotels. I can say that the staff at Hanoi Rendezvous was noticeably more pleasant and polite than the staff at my friends' hotels.

Comfortable beds, friendly staff, and awesome breakfasts means this place gets my stamp of approval.

Room Tip: You will hear street noise in the balcony rooms. So if you prefer quiet, ask for a room without a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bthops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great location with plenty of information and a home-from-home cafe for those sick of Vietnamese noodles. I had a twin room with two huge double beds, flat screen tv, and powerful, hot shower. There is the option for free breakfast too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#100 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#180 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel

Property: Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Dieu Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed by two energetic Australian's; Luke and Sarah, Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the heart of Vietnam's capital city, Hanoi.Located in Hoan Kiem district; The Old Quarter is Hanoi's most popular tourist destination. When you stay at the beautiful Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, you are guaranteed to be impressed by our immaculate rooms, brand new bathrooms with Western showers, LCD TV's, and greeted by our very friendly, helpful staff..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing