We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new hotel in Old Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Ranked #145 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
california
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel in Old Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

The Medallion is a newly renovated hotel on Ma May street in the Old Quarter near the Bach Ma temple (which was never opened during the 2 weeks we were in and around Hanoi!). The Medallion staff is very firendly and helpful, the rooms are nicely decorated and very clean and there is an ample breakfast. The prices are somewhat higher than other hotels in the area but it is also larger and newer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanitaC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    311
    103
    34
    18
See reviews for
122
272
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
178 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights....the rooms were clean and airconditioned...and a very comfortable (and large) bed. We were in the back of the hotel, so the constant sound of horns was not intrusive. The location was perfect, right in the centre of the old quarter...2 minutes to walk anywhere. The cost was $75 dollar per night for the room Only black mark was breakfast which was very ordinary

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrandomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at Medallion Hotel during our trip to Hanoi. The hotel located at a central place and it takes only few minutes to walk to the Lake. We also got the chance to shopping at night market and tasting many delicious foods here . Our rooms were in the third-floor, it’s clean, convenient size with all good facilities that we could expect . Especially, all staffs here were so kind and helpful. We got a trip to Sapa and they had arranged for all of our transfers , they even picked us up at 5 a.m from the train station. From the great services that we received, we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Grant_1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Hanoi Medallion hotel, and we was experienced a comfortable trip during the time we stayed here. The hotel is in the Old Quarter, a great location for sightseeing and exploring Hanoi. We also got such a warm welcome and incredible service with great value, but best of all were the friendly and helpful staffs, they always smile and quickly respond to our requests. Medallion hotel will still be our first choice when we visit Hanoi next times.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal_007069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
344 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

This new hotel does not have the charm of other Old Quarter hotels. Everything is pretty mediocre, including breakfast and service. The rooms are very small. The main advantage is that is it new so paint and furnishings are all in good order. It is very close to a main road so is not very quiet, and also the room suffered from a lot of hallway noise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

we found the hotel from our friend who stayed in medallion about one month before.It is very good hotel with friendly and professional staff .the breakfast is inclusive with the room rate and its very good with many choices.it is buffet breakfast but you can order for more as well .
we stay in the hotel for my business so I need a good place for sitting and having a coffee and its amazing when we know that they have good business central on the second floor with chair and computer .we have 6 people sitting for business on the second floor ,the customer service offers us the coffee as complimentary .that is very kind of them.in the room ,everything is new and clean we have very big window where we could see the town from there.thank you very much for the great time at the hotel .we will come back whenever we come to viet nam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had a strange experience at the Medallion which started at check in. When we arrived, the front desk staff greeted us by name and seemed to have a room already organized yet insisted we provide a VISA card to pay for the room. We explained that we had booked and paid for the room via hotels.com yet they insisted the room had not been paid for. I asked her how she knew our names and why she a folder with our travel details if we hadn't prebooked. She couldn't answer but insisted we pay for the room. Luckily we had our laptop with us so we pulled up the confirmation from Hotels.com and showed it to her but she continued to argue that the room had not been paid for! The General Manager had to get involved and directed her to check us in and we finally got to our room. A few minutes later the General Manager knocked on our door with a small fruit basket offering us an apology and in fairness he did seem sincere. He kept on saying the the hotel was new and the staff were just learning seeming to excuse their cluelessness. Anyways, it was an awful start to the stay.

On the bright side, the rooms were new & had been attractively renovated. We stayed in a deluxe room which was quite nice & spacious with a cute little seating area. The hotel itself was really well located right in the heart of the old quarter on Ma May Street. Our room was quiet & we weren't bothered by the street noise at all. We were on the 8th floor so we had a pretty cool view of the old quarter from our juliette balcony.

We turned in early on our last night and planned to get a good night's sleep before our long journey home. Unfortunately this was not to be. On our last afternoon we noticed a group of young Vietnamese guys staying in two rooms on our floor and they already seemed pretty drunk This was a sign of things to come! At around 2am we were woken by some extremely loud banging, yelling, fighting etc. Anyway, this noise was off the charts and went on & on. We called the front desk and spoke to the staff who promised he would talk to the people and ask them to be quiet. We saw this tiny little frightened desk clerk gently knock on one of thier doors but they yelled & slammed the door. It then got louder & louder. We phoned several times over the next 3 hours but the noise continued. We checked out around 1pm the next day and on our journey to the elevator saw two of the same guys in the hallway outside their rooms dressed only with a towels wrapped around there waists & they were already starting to yell & carry on. Most decent hotels around the world would have thrown these guys out for such behavior but they seem to have had no consequences at the Medallion.

On check out the manager apologised for the "bad noise problem" and stated that the noisy guests would never be allowed to stay at the hotel again. They offered us the hotel shuttle bus for US $15.00, (the same price as a taxi) in lieu of the noise problem the night before Wow....

Anyway, to top it off on the way to the airport I got a call from the hotel asking for me to send them my confirmation of payment from hotels.com. They said otherwise they'd have to bill us. Luckily I had refused to provide our VISA card details as we were pretty sure we'd get charged for the room despite already paying. The hotel rooms were nice but until they change the management team I could not recommend this hotel. The whole stay was a comedy of errors. Hanoi has so many terrific hotels to chose from at very reasonable prices so your spolied for choice. Consider yourself warned!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Eco Hotel Hanoi
Eco Hotel Hanoi
#191 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#83 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
MK Premier Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Medallion Hotel

Property: Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Address: 11 Ma May Street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Medallion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest boutique hotel in Hanoi, ideally situated in the heart of the old quarter, center of Hanoi, "in the middle of everywhere", this exclusive, discreetly luxurious hotel seduces its guests with its intimate atmosphere, cozy comfort and relaxed elegance. A gem of a small hotel, attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special; you will be treated like a guest in a private residence. From the moment you arrive, our dedicated team of butlers will tend to your every need - from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea to coordinating your social itinerary… so that you can totally relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing