We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold as charity..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Ranked #153 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our room at this hotel was very large and comfortably furnished but was cold. When we rang to reception for assistance, maintenance came up and told us that the aircon did not work so that we cold not get any heating in to the room and would we like a blanket. It is worth remembering that Hanoi is cold at this time of year. We asked about a late checkout and were told that we would have to pay, when I pointed out that we had complained about the cold the night before and surely they would be able to comp us, I was told in no uncertain terms that I would have to pay. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandTitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedallionHotel11, General Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comments on our property. We really appreciate with your comments about our products and services and we know that you were not satified with this problem. Actually our central airconditioning had been a problem when it had been operating, We also try our best to fix this, and it took us several hours to fix.
We also know that you did not saitify with our service. And that employee had been receive a serious warning because he did not do the righ way and not solve your request in the best way. and we are really sorry about this

If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, than please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best

Best regards,
Hai Yen Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 696 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Rooms are average, yet clean. The service is excellent and the hotel very central - right outside are the streets of Hanoi with the street food and bia hoi. Good buzz about the place. The hotel put on a party for guests on Christmas Eve, and took real pride in serving their guests. A real treat. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A great place to stay - I would return.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedallionHotel11, General Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Guests,

We really thank you so much for your comments about our property. it really encouges all of us very much. We will conitue to improve our services to bring the better and better services and products to every guests.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back at Hanoi city, Vietnam country.

Best regards,

Hai Yen Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just like lots of visitors to Hanoi we have been here, gone to sapa, returned to go to Ha Long Bay, returned, driven down to Nihn Bin back again, always returning to smiling faces, bell boys going above duty trying to get our bags for us in the rain and up to our rooms and the service staff in the dining area in the morning with such kind smiles. Tasty omelets as well. The beds are firm but not too firm, warm comforters, comfortable pillows, opened doors with tiny balconies so you can check the weather, clean rooms and baths, dark, heavy wood furniture. Good light and a very responsive staff. There is a very loud backpacking hostel next door, just ask for a room in the back. Close to all the action.
We enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlin-momma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedallionHotel11, General Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your comments about our products. It will encourage us a lot in trying our best to bring best services to all guests.

Once again, we would like to say thank you so much for your staying at our hotel as preferred place and hope that in the near furture, we will welcome you in Hanoi city, Vietnam country.

Best regards,

Hai Yen Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a nice hotel located in the heart of action in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. The deluxe rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, A/C adequate, wi fi good, flat screen tv, desk, & small sitting area all great. The bathroom is large with a deep, comfortable tub & nice amenities. The breakfast room is bright & the buffet breakfast offers a large, although rather bland assortment of Asian & western fare. ATM on the opposing corner & nearby laundry services are convenient. The service is quite good from the front desk to the restaurant. The only real downside is its location right next to a hostel with a very active, noisy bar. After 2 nights of interrupted sleep due to the noise from the bar, I reluctantly changed hotels. Fortunately, the bar activity & street noise calms way down after midnight, so this may not be an issue for some.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elviraModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for a total of 8 days and am very satisified with this small gem in Old Quarter. A nice decor of the rooms, comfortable beds for westerners, good breakfast, coffee, TV and well functioning WiFi! What else can you ask for? Well, of course, mingling with the friendly and always helpful staff!
Outside the front door you will find the most of why you have come to Hanoi for - the Old Quarter with its small restaurants and shops, cyclos and a chaos of people and traffic. All which will just take a few minutes to melt into. After your first day in the chaos you will probably not even notice it!
The food in the numerous restaurants varies from very good to fantastic! Wherever you sit down, there will be good food available. Are you used to "baby chairs" try one of the street joints.
And when you have got a little too much of it all, your peaceful hotel is just behind the corner!
Oh yes, The Backpackers Hostel in the neighbor! Noicy, but I noticed it fades away at about 11pm.
We will definitively be back.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the backyard are more silent. The higher up, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here during our visit in February. Ask for a quiet room as the backpacker's hotel next door is noisy but doesn't go late. Great location, Bed comfy, room size good, hot water, AC, wifi, safe, good breakfast with warm croissants (May have to ask for) and egg 'station'. Able to change money at front desk.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kristine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We found this hotel good value, great location for Old Quarter Hanoi. The service from the staff is excellent, the breakfasts very good and this hotel has a gym which is quite good also. The only negative I would say is that our room was at times very noisy from the honking on the streets and the backpackers near by. Excellent central spot for looking at the markets and visiting the local attractions.

Room Tip: Would request non smoking if possible and maybe a room away from the street?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#109 of 603 in Hanoi
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#103 of 603 in Hanoi
572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
#112 of 603 in Hanoi
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Medallion Hotel

Address: 11 Ma May Street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $39 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Medallion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest boutique hotel in Hanoi, ideally situated in the heart of the old quarter, center of Hanoi, "in the middle of everywhere", this exclusive, discreetly luxurious hotel seduces its guests with its intimate atmosphere, cozy comfort and relaxed elegance. A gem of a small hotel, attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special; you will be treated like a guest in a private residence. From the moment you arrive, our dedicated team of butlers will tend to your every need - from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea to coordinating your social itinerary… so that you can totally relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing