We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Ranked #153 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Perfect location and nice hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at Medallion Hotel for totaly four nights. This is a very good hotel and the location couldn´t be better, right in the middle of the old town. It´s a walking distance to a lots of sights and the old town itselfe feels so genuin and nice.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly to us from the day we arrived until the day we left. We stayed in a superior room during our first 3 nights and after returning from a two-day boattrip to Halong Bay we vere upgraded to a Delux-room.The difference between the rooms wern´t so big. The Delux-room was a little bigger and was located on the 8th floore so we had a great view ower Hanoi and the Red river. It also had a french balcony. Both rooms were very nice furnitured, had great big beds and was always kept very clean. It was also quite quiet and we didn´t take much notice from the traffic outside. The batrooms vere big and clean. Also the breakfast was good. All in all, a very nice hotel.

Mats and Lars, Sweden

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mats_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    313
    107
    37
    18
See reviews for
124
274
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We saved an extra 10% by emailing the hotel and booking the rooms along with the halong bay cruise and sapa trekking tours thru them guys. The sales manager was very responsive and helpful - they agreed to let us use one of their rooms for 2 hrs for a quick shower in between the tours without charging us! The hotel has 2 wings and rooms in 1 wing is more refurbished than the other so it depends on your luck if you get allotted a newer room. For the older rooms, quality of the room facility is 20-30% discount of what you see on their website. Walking time to Hokim Lake is 15 mins and you can take stops on the way to stroll the night market that opens at 7pm daily. It's adjacent to a backpacker's hostel, which is the source of some critical noises at night (the lobby turned in to a big disco party flooded with young drunkies). Not recommended for light sleepers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeerTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great spot very nice top rooms average rooms are a little pokey but they upgraded us and were great about everything excellent hotel

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I should have read the warning signs at checkin when the less than welcoming male receptionist insisted I had booked a single room despite my handing him a written confirmation booked via Expedia of a double deluxe with balcony - he then insisted the checkout was prior to the day stated on the confirmation. He then asked my travel companion as to whether he was a tour guide despite us both having individual baggage and both clutching passports - we are both asian.
On reaching the room on level 5 we ascertained the reverse cycle AC was not operational (the temperature was a chilly 15 degrees)
On ringing reception I was informed the AC on the floor was not working ( so why allocate us on that floor?) but we could move rooms or they would send extra blankets - we choose the latter given the lateness of the hour

The next morning ( by now even colder) when I enquired as to when the AC would be fixed - the less than forthcoming answer was it required a major part that need to be imported- I then chose to move - we were allocated a room on level 8 (without balcony) - by this point it was pointless to argue.

The shower in the room was based on a pump action and as a result the water never flowed freely.

On the morning of departure the lift was inoperational - we were advised by the bell desk that this had occurred at midnight so why weren't signs place on each floor to this effect.

On check out there were none of the usual niceties about hope you enjed the stay or look forward to seing you again - just grim silence


Housekeeping was uneven - on reaching the room i noted there was a use towel hanging in the bathroom- housekeeping was less than impressive - dusting was intermittent as was removal of dirty glasses

The general state of the property in the wing I was staying was poor with little attention to maintainence. The hallways were messy with fold up beds in evidence

Breakfast was average - plenty of it but of poor quality - the croissant made a solitary appearance in the the 4 nights I stayed there. The breakfast room atmosphere was less than welcoming and matched the sullen staff who obviously didn't want to be there - nor did I


In summary the only good thing about the property was the location. I have stayed in several properties in Hanoi from 5 star to 2 star but none have been such poor value for money and had such mean spirited staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 51intercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed for one night at the start of a G Adventures trip. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and we got a yummy takeaway breakfast. The room was spacious. 10 min walk to the heart of the old quarter. I liked the book exchange next door!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanamiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great location in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, direct in the center. The hotel is close to lots of attractions as well as restaurants and street food. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is a bit noisy due to the location in the Old Quarter, but there is nothing which can be done about this. A suprise was the Christmas dinner, which we did not know about. Coming back to the hotel and there was a great buffet with free drinks!
We stayed there for 4 nights, I would go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Not facing the street, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel is right in the middle of the old city, even bus couldn't stop in front of hotel coz the lane is too small for tour bus. Was a bit disappointed when asked by tour guide we have to walk to hotel... After entering to my room, it was out of my expectation to be that good! The room is clean, new and modern, though a little bit small but it gave us very comfortable sleeping experience. Strongly recommended to asian as I noticed most of the hotel guess aren't asean, may be they haven't discovered this lovely hotel.

The balcony is facing the front small road where you can see the overview of the old city, very typical hanoi feel...

Breakfast is standard and good. The hotel is not big, the size is like a boutique hotel but I loved it. Boutique hotel is always my favourite choice as it will not be that crowded and the front desk is always friendly.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Eco Hotel Hanoi
Eco Hotel Hanoi
#189 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#89 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#102 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
MK Premier Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Medallion Hotel

Property: Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Address: 11 Ma May Street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Medallion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest boutique hotel in Hanoi, ideally situated in the heart of the old quarter, center of Hanoi, "in the middle of everywhere", this exclusive, discreetly luxurious hotel seduces its guests with its intimate atmosphere, cozy comfort and relaxed elegance. A gem of a small hotel, attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special; you will be treated like a guest in a private residence. From the moment you arrive, our dedicated team of butlers will tend to your every need - from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea to coordinating your social itinerary… so that you can totally relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing