We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best people at Silk Path Hotel in Hanoi”
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silk Path Hotel
Ranked #56 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
mexico df
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best people at Silk Path Hotel in Hanoi”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The people in the Hotel surprise me, when I arrived I did a wrong booking by Agoda , so I asked for the manager on duty, Mr. Dao Nguyen Trong, stay one hour in the phone and he fix the problem, I was surprise about the service and the well trained, so he told me about his studies in Montreux, I was coming from Ho Chi Min and I dont have a good service in a 5 star Pulman Hotel, last time I was in Hanoi at the Metropol , Know I want to feel the people in town and walked around , they send me to the spa very closed to the Hotel it was nice, the restaurant for breakfast, for lunch and dinner excelent, you can walk around and feel secure, everybody in this Hotel are very well trained, since the housekeeping to the managers in duty. Congratulations and thanks for making better my Holidays.

Room Tip: The rooms are Ok and clean, the view was excelent in the 10 floor, I have a suite, but the matress a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! We are very glad that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi and that you enjoyed our service and restaurants. We are also glad that we could make your holiday more enjoyable for you.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    602
    82
    14
    3
See reviews for
298
872
81
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, it is excellent and in a very good location. The rooms were quite small but clean and well presented. Breakfasts were very good and catered for all tastes. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and service.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is extremely centrally located, right in the middle of many shopping areas and the Old Quarter of Hanoi.
Just a few minutes away from the main area - that is if you survive the heavy traffic on the streets.
As you cross the streets, you just may have the feeling that no laws or rules applies, but strangely enough it all seems to blend together.
So it sure was very pleasant to return to the comfort and quiet of this hotel after spending a day sightseeing.
Yes, perhaps the rooms are a bit small ( took us quite some imagination to fit 2 cases in the room, but it has all the comfort one can imagine.
It is clean, everything works, great bed, great shower ( even a rain one!)
We received a very nice welcome from the front desk upon arrival.
Breakfast buffet has a great variety of western and asian choices.
I sure will return to this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! It was our pleasure to welcome you to Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We thank you for your comments and special mention of our location, rooms, shower and breakfast.

On a side note I would like to mention that the streets look crazier than they are. Just cross at a steady normal pace, the bikes will avoid you. It gets easier with practice I assure you.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our tour of Vietnam.

It was a great hotel, very centrally located and a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of the main city.

The breakfast buffet was excellent each morning and the service was very prompt and friendly. We organised out trip to halong bay through the hotel's tour office and they couldn't have been more helpful.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hanoi in the future!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hazthegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us on your recent trip to Hanoi and a great start to your trip in Vietnam. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our location, breakfast buffet and services.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotdl on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We chose the Silk Path hotel at the beginning and the end of our 3-week trip.
The first room was an executive room on the 5th floor and was a bit on the smallish side, but very comfortable and nicely furnished. The bathroom was large and modern with a great shower.

We even had a shared balcony. Surprisingly, we couldn't open the door to step outside but we called reception and they sent someone to drop off the key.
My guess is that the balcony is shared with another room and they may want to avoid having guests walking in front of other guests' room.
The view wasn't bad but it was really cloudy and rainy (like the 3 weeks we spent in Northern Vietnam) so the weather didn't make it too inviting.

We weren't familiar with the city and were exhausted on the first night so we had diner at the hotel.
Even though it was an Italian restaurant, they also had Vietnamese food as well and our first diner was not too bad.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The doormen would help you if you needed to get a taxi, making sure to tell the driver where you are going. All the taxis used their meters.

Make sure to pick up a city map at reception when you arrive and don't forget that you get 3 free laundry items per day per room, not per person.
We got a late check out at 7pm so we could take our train to Sapa. It costs 50% of the room but it was worth it.

We chose not have breakfast included in the room, thinking that it would be easy to find coffee shops around.
So we went to a coffee shop down the street in the first morning and regretted it. The coffee was just all right and the pastry was old.

In fact, it wasn't as easy to find places to eat around. Don't get me wrong, there was restaurants around but after being disappointed with our first breakfast, we decided to use Tripadvisor for recommendations and it worked nicely for us.

First good place for breakfast and actually lunch or dinner was the Hanoi Social club (look it up on tripadvisor for address). It's only a few minutes away. (turn right from hotel, then take first right to that small street and turn next left, walk about 50 meters on left handside).
We felt a bit old (the crowd is full of young people) but we didn't care after having an excellent caffe latte and muffin. If you want sandwiches or casual food, try the Hanoi Social Club.

Our second recommendation for diner would be the Gourmet Corner restaurant, north of the Hoan Kiem lake.
We were walking in that neighborhood in the afternoon and decided to check it out on the 12th floor of the Elegance hotel. We made a reservation and came back at night by taxi. We took their business card so it was easy to find for the taxi driver.
The Vietnamese food was excellent with great service and a great view of the city.

Going back to the Silk Path...
We booked a deluxe room for our last night in Hanoi. The room was also on the 5th floor with a decent view. The room was similar to the previous one but smaller.
I had read that some reviewers had problems with noise and having no views. We didn't have any such problems with our two rooms, so no complaints there.

I'm not sure if I'm going to go back to Hanoi any time soon but I would definitely stay there again.
In my opinion, it's well price and the location is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi and that you enjoyed our rooms, location and staff. We were also glad that you found some wonderful places to eat nearby but I would recommend exercising a high level of caution when trying these places as we can only guarantee the safety and cleanliness of the hotel.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here twice, one night each time. We had a standard room on the first stay. It was nicely done, but the room was on the smallish side, especially for two people. However, after 30 hours of traveling from the US, we found the beds to be deliciously comfortable! On our second stay, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Wow, what a difference! The room was huge and very well-appointed, and the bathroom had many more amenities. It is definitely worth the extra money for the larger room.
The hotel is in a good location and within easy walking distance to the Old Quarter market area, a sight not to be missed and well worth at least half a day's time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Silk Path Hotel n your recent stay in Hanoi. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our rooms and location.

Thanks again for your comments we look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is well located for exploring the old and French quarter of Hanoi, it has been designed in a fresh contemporary style. The modern rooms with a fresh decor are a bit on the small size, but are more than adequate and functional, they are also quite, which is a bonus in a city hotel. The staff are efficient and very friendly and very helpful. It's worth mentioning that we had a pizza for lunch one day, it was cooked fresh in front of us in a wood oven it was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Silk Path Hotel for your recent stay in Hanoi. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you also enjoyed our design, rooms, staff and fresh pizza.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.5 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#75 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Property: Silk Path Hotel
Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter with major attractions nearby, the Hotel affords discerning travelers an unrivalled value to explore all that the city has to offer. The distincly electic decor marries beautifully with all the mordern conveniences, creating a truly indulgent experience. Personalized services yet excellent privacy ensure the greatest comforts and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing