We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PART OF HOTEL IS BAR AND RESTAURANT”
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silk Path Hotel
Ranked #58 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
puerto aventuras
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST PART OF HOTEL IS BAR AND RESTAURANT”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I like a hotel that reflects a bit of where you are and Silk Path was a bit too big an slick for me.

I had everything I needed but I lacked charm

The food and drink on the other hand was fabulous and after Burma (which I adored) it was very welcome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! While I'm not sure where Silk Path is missing charm I am delighted to hear that it seems you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. I have extended your comments to the Chef and his team for them to keep up the good work and for them to continue to improve alongside our other staff.

Thanks again for your comments,

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    632
    83
    15
    3
See reviews for
352
923
85
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, we arrived at 8.30 pm from Melbourne, were greeted with a friendly smile and a quick check in. The room was great, roomy, deep bath, very clean. All the staff were friendly and accommodating, they were very helpful with information, checking our transportation and storing our luggage whilst on an o'night trip to Halong Bay. We had several extensive conversations with Hoa Hoang (waitress) about Hanoi and its culture, interacting with the staff to find local information was valuable, we even got to see inside the kitchen, for an ex-chef this was a real bonus. The breakfast diversity and variety caters for all types, I am hooked on Congee. We will definitely be returning, excellent value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Silk Path is well located on Hang Bong Street in the old quarter. It is a quick walk to many of the central activities of Hanoi. Along Hang Bong and its crossing streets lies many small shops and restaurants that seem typical of this country. The bustle of the city is evident and gives you a good feel of the city.
The hotel itself is modern and clean. The rooms are large and ours had a separate sitting area. The breakfast was adequate but not as complete as with some of the other places we stayed in VN. We ate one dinner at the hotel after a long day returning from Halong Bay only because it was convenient. The food was only ok. The hotel staff was helpful although not very knowledgeable about local restaurants. Trip Advisor did a better job than their concierge. Although there was supposed to be turn down service, that did not occur on any of the 4 nights we spent there.
All in all it was a fine hotel, but not excellent.

Room Tip: I would try to stay away from the lower floors that overlook Hang Bong as the traffic can easily be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 688DavidR688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! Our hotel is indeed close to most of the attractions in Hanoi's Old Quarter, most are within a 2km radius. I'm also you found our accommodations to your liking, even while you were not thrilled with the knowledge of our staff. Our staff is very service orientated and it seems they need to brush up on some more current knowledge of the restaurants in Hanoi. Another thing though is that I encourage people to think about is, while the staff will know tons of places to eat, the food there might not be safe for westerners or foreigners. Our staff want to help people and they want to keep our guests safe.

Thanks again for your comments!

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff are welcoming from when you first arrive. The rooms are spotless and quiet.. The hotel is quirky in that the rooms do not have an outside window but look into an atrium The breakfast was great with a big choice. The location was near the old quarter and taxis are cheap and plentiful.

Room Tip: This was one hotel I did not have to ask for another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I'm glad that you found our hotel a good place to stay and the staff welcoming. Our "quirk" was put into the hotel plan design to include natural light into all of our rooms, even those in the middle of the hotel. While it is odd for some Westerners it is fairly common in Vietnam hotels to place skywells for this purpose, especially in the dense and crowded area of the Hanoi Old Quarter.

I hope this quirk wasn't too much and we'll be able to welcome you again to Silk Path Hotel Hanoi.

Thanks again,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our first trip to Vietnam and the first hotel we stayed at. We were there from Dec 22 - 25 and enjoyed our stay. The location is superb for being able to walk around the old quarter, to the lake, shopping and loads of great restaurants. The hotel had fast and free wifi and a great breakfast. We're normally not the breakfast type of people but the fruit and options made us keep coming back. The rooms were very quiet and spacious. A fun feature was the black out shades that were controlled by switches on the wall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's location and our breakfast. I can't lie, I'm a big fan of the fruit here too! There is so much variety. Also all of our rooms come equipped with modern high tech technology which is sure to make every one comfortable. The black out curtains are just one of those technologies, but they sure help for those with jet lag!

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very comfortable amidst the chaos which is Hanoi! Only complaint is that the expensive room rate, even through Expedia does not include breakfast. Stayed twice, first time room was delightful, second time shown to a tiny room at the back facing a brick wall! When I complained they made me pay extra so disappointing customer service.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith_pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments! I'm very glad to hear that over all you found our hotel and location pleasant. I'm sorry that you had the problem on your second night. I have looked into the matter and it has been brought to the attention of the management. We understand that you had requested a room switch however at that time we did not have an available room to switch you with and could only offer an upgraded room which is a higher rate. Unfortunately at this time we are still looking into the matter and will be adding onto our customer services training to avoid this problem in the future.

Thanks again your comments and for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights on our first visit to Hanoi and had two rooms (not interconnecting) for our family. The location, on the edge of the Old Quarter of Hanoi was great and within easy walking distance of most of Hanoi's key attractions. Our rooms were street facing and had a great view (and just a little street noise - we were on level 4) - I would certainly request rooms facing the street. We only ate in-house for breakfasts, which were very good. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for street facing if you want views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieFs_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with even though we could not provide you with interconnecting rooms. We are also glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We try our best to provide our guests with 5 star service even though we are only at 4star size.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Relations
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#72 of 591 in Hanoi
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Gallery Premier Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Property: Silk Path Hotel
Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter with major attractions nearby, the Hotel affords discerning travelers an unrivalled value to explore all that the city has to offer. The distincly electic decor marries beautifully with all the mordern conveniences, creating a truly indulgent experience. Personalized services yet excellent privacy ensure the greatest comforts and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing