We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting hotel.”

Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #544 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here late, after having booked online through Hostel World. Beware - none of the photos I have seen online match the gross hotel that we found.
The staff member at the desk didn't have a record of our booking. My room was somewhat tidy and large HOWEVER everything was grimy, dated and reeked of stale smoke.
I am quite comfortable in backpacker accommodation, however this place was disgusting. I couldn't even use the bathroom because it was smelly and the towels were brown (but were meant to be white). The bed sheets were worse - they were covered in a variety of putrid stains.
My friends room was worse. He was sent to the top floor as the normal room we had booked clearly wasnt available. This room was even bigger, but again had stained sheets and towels. The worst part was this room absolutely reeked - it smelled so much like a sewer. Clearly there was a plumbing issue and I think that is why the room was empty to begin with.
We left early, first thing, without having showered or rested much. The unfriendly staff member tried to make us pay for two nights as it was a "late cancellation" despite the fact he had no record of our booking anyway.
We ended up paying more than we were happy with but were pleased to be out of there. This place is more of a "rent for the hour" type deal. The sign in the room sums up the vibe of the place, "NO DOING THE HEROIN IN THE ROOM". Fi not stay here!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

The room was spacious, cozy and clean with city view but not much
noisy. The bathroom was spotless cleaned and the fresh towels were
provided everyday. Everything was very clean and I really appreciated
the small details such as a curtain shower to reduce wetting of the
toilet and wash basin area. There is free speed wireless in whole
building that perfect for both business and leisure customer. The
staff was very friendly, spoke English well and extremely helpful. The
breakfast was not too much but quite good. All in all, If anyone
looking for a nice place with convenient location, we highly recommend
this. Thanks staff at Garnet Hotel...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

It was the most outstanding service I have ever received. Great room with a nice view over street. Hotel location in the centre of city. There a lot of restaurant around there. I most likely come back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Erwinnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

My friend and I flew into Hanoi late at night and had reservations at the Hanoi Elegance, but the confirmation of the reservation came during the flight, so we didn't have printed confirmation. Right after the flight we were directed to a taxi and gave the driver the address. Our driver arrived at a different address, where Garnet Hotel's director, Tuan Le, hurriedly greeted us and told us that there was an electronic problem in 3 rooms at the Hanoi Elegance, and we would be put up in a sister hotel with exactly the same rooms. Tuan got in the cab with us and took us to Garnet Hotel, where we checked in and paid up front. Yes, we were naive. All our other Vietnam hotel experiences had been excellent, so we were too trusting of Tuan.

The next day we checked into his story. We took a taxi to the Hanoi Elegance, where we found they were expecting us and had no electrical problems at all. Tuan had taken advantage of us by posing as an imposter for the Hanoi Elegance and taking us to his hotel instead. We packed our things and confronted him, requesting our money back for his dishonesty. Unfortunately, we had no leverage, and he became short with us and would only offer us 20% on the remaining nights we had paid for, despite their hotel website not disclaiming this fact. We later checked into the Hanoi Elegance and asked them if we had any recourse, but they told us we had very little, as business in Vietnam very much favors the locals.

I plan on contacting TripAdvisor directly to see if there is a way to put some sort of warning on Garnet Hotel's review. This experience was the only negative part of my trip to Vietnam. Next time I plan on being less trusting and more cautious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank gezuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We were sent to the Garnet Hotel by another Hotel that had mistakenly given away our prepaid room. We were told that the Garnet was a better standard. It was not. It was at least a grade below. The lobby was nice, the staff friendly, the room and bathroom large and relatively clean. The floors had been recently covered with fairly attractive simulated dark hardwood composite.. There was a large tub with a shower curtain in the bathroom. The shower was OK, though the fact that there was no seal between the tub and the wall meant that the shower water ran out onto the floor by the toilet.. We were on the second floor and were awakened fairly early by noises of the kitchen coming up the air shaft. At breakfast, we were given a fried egg with a baguette, a banana, butter and jam with a choice of tea or nescafe. No other choice was offered.

The main problem with the room was the toxic black mould that ran about a metre along the top of the wall in the corner above the window and down from the ceiling to the top of window (another 700 cms so). It also extended in a 300 cm wide strip down from the ceiling to the floor behind the curtain. The room smelled overpoweringly of mould. In fact it was so bad that we had to put T-shirts , folded into 3, over our faces to filter out the mould in the air so that we could sleep. The mould was not confined only to our room. We noticed that it extended down to the corner of the breakfast room as well, though the smell there was not as obvious. It also covered much of the wall in the air shaft so opening the window for fresh air helped only marginally..

If you decide to stay in this hotel, be sure to ask to see your room before you accept it . Smell it and look for mould! We advised the staff that they had a serious health problem and that the hotel had to get rid of the mould to make it safe (we were stuffed up for two days after that night) . If they can get rid of the mould, the hotel would be OK. We do not understand the high ratings of other guests who stayed here unless there is a huge difference between the room we stayed in and other rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nicos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Bed & Breakfast

Address: 39 Nguyen Truong To Street, Ba Dinh district, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Garnet Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $23 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Backpacker Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garnet Grand Hotel is one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotel in the center of Ha Noi capital which will offer you comfortable accommodation with Eastern traditional decoration.Located in the heart of Hanoi, within walking distance of the central business district, Hoan Kiem lake, Ngoc Son temple, Thang Long water puppet theatre, Dong Xuan market (night market on the weekend), Hanoi Opera Theatre, Ho Chi Minh Complex, Ho Chi Minh Museum, Ba Dinh Square, West Lake, government ministries, non-government offices and major local attractions..... Close to the hotel you also find plenty of western and local restaurants, bars, ATM and other interesting places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpacker Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing