We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good food but pricey ”
Review of Don's Bistro

Don's Bistro
Ranked #192 of 2,479 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Awarded The Best Restaurant in Vietnam and number 47 of The 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Diners Club and San Pellegrino, it is a Iconic dining and entertainment destination with a faithful local and international clientele so reservations are recommended. Prices range from mid to high but are great value for the exceptional level of quality. On West Lake (Tay Ho) with beautiful views, fresh breezes, don's Bistro is a comfortable and welcoming fusion of western and Asian décor and flavors featuring a classic yet contemporary International menu of comfort and fine dining dishes from jet fresh oysters to wood fired gourmet pizzas, prime wood grilled meats, Foie Gras, pasta & risottos, delicious Asian choices, vivacious cocktails & a passion for wines, Cuban cigars, and stunning art works. For reservation please advise if you prefer Al Fresco Terrace seating, Smoking or non smoking air con dining rooms or the roof top open air covered Oyster Bar with live music drinks only or dining ok.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by Don's bistro. It has excellent location by the lake and very pleasant decor inside. Food was tasty - good choice of salad and main dishes. The only drawback is that it's rather pricey place for Hanoi. We got a chance to meet the owner who's Canadian and seems to be very nice and welcoming person. We'll certainly visit this place again but probably on special occasions and not on a regular basis.

1  Thank Gabit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastro-surfing, Owner at Don's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Gabit,
thank you for the kind review and comments. Although I use more foreign ingredients than many other places due to quality and safety issues and these can be much more expensive than other restaurants here. But we have many locally sources items on our menus that are very reasonably priced ie pizza, Vietnamese dishes, Meat Loaf, Salad, pastas etc.
in any case we look forward to welcoming you back and will be pleased to show you around the menu. happy holidays!
donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 326 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We popped in for desert and a nightcap on a quiet Monday night between Christmas and New Year.
The waitress seemed shocked that both my partner and I wanted to order something and after taking her order spat the words "And you?" at me.
We ordered liqueurs and deserts and were told that one of them had to be specially made and would take 20 minutes. Fine we said, and waited for our drinks. And waited. After 15 minutes and no drinks we were told that our desert wasn't available.
Guess what, we left.
And won't be back.

    • Service
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastro-surfing, Manager at Don's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Kirkby,
my sincere apologies for the underwhelming experience that Monday night. the internal communication was off and we let you down. I am really surprised to hear you comments though on the way waitress spoke to you and the lack of food on time. Ms Hoa is one of our senior Captains and a very very sweet lady at that. it is hard to imagine her doing anything rude. She also advise that the drinks were served in 10 minutes and given complimentary to apologize for the Chocolate cake that the pastry kitchen ran out of, with out informing her. That was our error. sorry again. if in town again come try the cake with my compliments.
best regards
donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked this place in advance for a meal,on Xmas day and given an a la carte menu.
We arrive on xmas day to find it is a set canadian christmas menu.

The courses for progressively worse and the main was awful. A blob of soggy stuffing sitting under some ham which has turkey sitting on top of it. Boring vegetables and something that was supposed to be yams that wasn't.

The price was stupid and the equivalent of four decent meals in other places.

Setting was sublime if you sat close tot he window. Service was Ok but courses too close together with no time to digest one course before the next flavour came out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastro-surfing, Owner at Don's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Ms PoohTravel.
we are sorry you did not enoy your meal, but question why you did not say anything on the night.
we also had ala carte on offer, several other tables that night ordered from it. as far as your comments, the turkey stuffing recipe is my mother's I have been using for 30 years in professional kitchens - it is moist from turkey drippings and renderings from the sausage. Yes there is Turkey and Ham touching the stuffing, it is our Canadian traditional Christmas food. over the two days of Christmas we served over 1000 people, and we had almost no complaints, yet it is not impossible yo imagine on the busiest days of the year even with weeks of preparation, years of experience and months of planning that someone will be unhappy with some aspect. We tried hard, and let you down, please let me know if there is anything we can do to make it up to you
Donald Berger 0913001359

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had fresh oysters( nothing special, not big but fresh)
We had the best cheese macaroni . We re order this dish after finished the first one.
We order lobster balls. Nice presentation but the taste not very special. Very big portion indeed. N
We also has goose liver ravioli . Good but not a wow wow wow dish.
Lamb chop is good. Really like the mash sweet potato . Not the tenderest that I ever have. But nice .
Overall, I enjoy the food and atmosphere here.
Not a surprise type of restaurant but I don't mind to come weekly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EvaW0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

very expensive, average food. it's more about marketing than good food. This place wouldn't stay in business outside of Hanoi. Da Paolo's has better Italian food, Jacksons or El Gaucho have better steaks. Don't waste your time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Don's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing