We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the advice of waitress. Order whatever u wanna eat:)”
Review of Don's Bistro

Don's Bistro
Ranked #240 of 2,346 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Awarded The Best Restaurant in Vietnam and number 47 of The 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Diners Club and San Pellegrino, it is a Iconic dining and entertainment destination with a faithful local and international clientele so reservations are recommended. Prices range from mid to high but are great value for the exceptional level of quality. On West Lake (Tay Ho) with beautiful views, fresh breezes, don's Bistro is a comfortable and welcoming fusion of western and Asian décor and flavors featuring a classic yet contemporary International menu of comfort and fine dining dishes from jet fresh oysters to wood fired gourmet pizzas, prime wood grilled meats, Foie Gras, pasta & risottos, delicious Asian choices, vivacious cocktails & a passion for wines, Cuban cigars, and stunning art works. For reservation please advise if you prefer Al Fresco Terrace seating, Smoking or non smoking air con dining rooms or the roof top open air covered Oyster Bar with nightly live music (drinks only or dining ok).
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the advice of waitress. Order whatever u wanna eat:)”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had fresh oysters( nothing special, not big but fresh)
We had the best cheese macaroni . We re order this dish after finished the first one.
We order lobster balls. Nice presentation but the taste not very special. Very big portion indeed. N
We also has goose liver ravioli . Good but not a wow wow wow dish.
Lamb chop is good. Really like the mash sweet potato . Not the tenderest that I ever have. But nice .
Overall, I enjoy the food and atmosphere here.
Not a surprise type of restaurant but I don't mind to come weekly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evawongbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    69
    32
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very expensive, average food”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

very expensive, average food. it's more about marketing than good food. This place wouldn't stay in business outside of Hanoi. Da Paolo's has better Italian food, Jacksons or El Gaucho have better steaks. Don't waste your time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“thorough disapointment”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant for a special occasion with my family (party of 8)
Let me start by saying that I am in the food business myself and that the food delivered here is not earth-shattering by ANY standard. In fact, that this establishment was voted into the top 50 in Asia is an absolute joke! I can point out 100 restaurants that are better in ANY major city.
Pizza was soggy and not tasty. Smoked salmon pasta was of a poor standard and would have not fed a 3 year old. 12 oysters at a shocking 75 US$. Over-cooked beef. A music playlist that regurgitated 3 songs over and over....don't know where to start to explain the shocking experience we had. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyShu-lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastro-surfing, Owner at Don's Bistro, responded to this review, October 11, 2016
i never wanted to answer this as i knew it was a fraud, Stanley Wong, is Jimmy Shù Lín and that is just another fake name and he is not from New york city but an ex partner with a pathetic vengeful agenda. the only thing true is 75 dollars for Live imported Oysters from France, Canada and Australia, is about what you pay in any restaurant abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Terrific Lunch”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Restaurant on West Lake. We stayed nearby at the Sheraton and went over for lunch. Ate in the festive second floor no smoking rôôm. Shared a prix fixe lunch with a friend which included a glass ò wine and desert for approx $15. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the gnocchi Bolognese and a grilled veggie salad. The portions were large and delicious. Asked to meêt the owner. Don came to the table and we chatted pleasantly for a while.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Perfect hang-out for a Sunday brunch, overlooking Hanoi West Lake. The trendy decoration with painting qnd pieces of art, the friendly staff and overall the delicious French toasts, fresh fruits and excellent coffee:the perfect hang-out place after an entertaining Saturday night party :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucBKK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Don's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing