We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty place with a good selection of food and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don's Bistro

Don's Bistro
Ranked #228 of 2,201 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: European, Canadian, International, Asian, Vietnamese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Awarded The Best Restaurant in Vietnam and number 47 of The 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Diners Club and San Pellegrino, it is a Iconic dining and entertainment destination with a faithful local and international clientele so reservations are recommended. Prices range from mid to high but are great value for the exceptional level of quality. On West Lake (Tay Ho) with beautiful views, fresh breezes, don's Bistro is a comfortable and welcoming fusion of western and Asian décor and flavors featuring a classic yet contemporary International menu of comfort and fine dining dishes from jet fresh oysters to wood fired gourmet pizzas, prime wood grilled meats, Foie Gras, pasta & risottos, delicious Asian choices, vivacious cocktails & a passion for wines, Cuban cigars, and stunning art works. For reservation please advise if you prefer Al Fresco Terrace seating, Smoking or non smoking air con dining rooms or the roof top open air covered Oyster Bar with nightly live music (drinks only or dining ok).
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty place with a good selection of food and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's a pretty restaurant right next to the lake. It's beautiful at night when you sit on the balcony watching the lake and the lights from the city. Comfortable too.

Don is a very friendly and dedicated restaurant owner and chef. He really puts himself in the dishes to make sure his customers are happy.

The food and drink selection is quite rich and interesting as well. I enjoy it every time i make it to Don's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyHien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    32
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most wonderful Bistro in Hanoi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this multi level Bistro right on historic West Lake (Tay Ho) in Hanoi's upper class ex-pat area. The menu is a mixed selection with Western & Eastern delicacies. Great appetizers if you're not so hungry and wonderful full meals for pleasure or your business meetings. The drink menu if fabulous too and he has a glass wine cellar on view as you walk upstairs to the outside Oyster Bar where Don features live jazz, pop and blues 7 nights a week! And there is also an outdoor bar included upstairs. You get a gorgeous view of West Lake from up here too. You can also eat your meal outside at the Oyster Bar with the music if you desire a more lively atmosphere, A place where the in crowd meets. Don't miss it while you are visiting Hanoi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nonsense!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

little dish of carpaccio and a Vietnamese coffee: $30.... Can't possibly understand why this was so so so badly overpriced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Schuttmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donchef, Owner at Don's Bistro, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We have two differant Beef carpaccio dishes one is a classic style with USDA Prime Beef Tenderloin that we fly in exclusively the other is the a bit more of the same quality beef an Inverted Style with the beef over a very generous salad of organic greens and arrugula, both have parmesean Reggianno 36 months of age and white truffle dressing. I could cheapen the dishes by using local beef and regular produce from China, but it would not taste as good, nor would it be safe. We are not the cheapest restaurant by any means, and i insist on top quality. if cost is how you judge a restaurant, please be advised there are many cheaper restaurants in Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The food cooked by iron chef Mr.Tu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had seen he cooked in Iron chef Program Mr.Tu. That's a great place and perfecf. althought the over priced but right to value . The food is really good . Friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rafqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Canadian Christmas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The Christmas dinner was a disappointment, especially as we went on Christmas Day. The menu attempted to be too intricate and fussy and it wasn't very traditional, which it had been advertised as. They charged a ridiculous amount for bottled water. The ambience was nice but it was a little cold. It appeared that other diners got a little xmas gift when they had finished but we did not. I'm unsure what that was about.

We go to Don's quite a bit when the weather is nicer to have drinks on the roof terrace, where they play live music. It's really nice to overlook the lake but on the expensive side. Thought Xmas would be special there but it wasn't.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darl712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastro-surfing, Owner at Don's Bistro, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
the review above as a reviewer of reviews, seems a bit bitter, here below was the menu below for future guest to review and make up their own minds. if the review above wishes to bring to my attention any issues that were unsatisfactory i am here in the restaurant pretty much daily, and would do anything to make any quality issue right. I would apologize for missing the gift also and make it you to you.

don's Canadian Christmas Feast
Hanoi December 2012
Amuse Buche
Mini Game & Pork Tourtierre With Tomato Confit

Starter
Acorn Squash Soup
Ginger Cream and Herb Crouton

A Festive Luxury Appetizer Platter
Canadian Spring Roll
Nova Scotia Lobster Croquette & Caviar Sauce
Baked British Columbia Oyster ala Chef Tu
Foie Gras De Sapa Parfait & Ginger Chutney Crostini
Our Lotus Blossom Tea Smoked Salmon & Cream Cheese
Parma Ham & Melon Boat

Traditional Roasted Tom Turkey & Honey Baked Ham
Pan Gravy, Mom's Chestnut, Sausage & Sage Stuffing,
Homemade Cranberry, Port Wine & Citrus Compote
Wild Honey Glazed Yams, Whipped Potatoes,
Pearl Onion, Carrot, Pea, & Broccoli Gratin

Christmas Chocolate & Cherry Roll Cake
Marzipan & Meringue

Coffee Or Tea, Mince Tarts & Chocolate Rum Balls

35 dollars++ Includes A Welcome Cocktail Of
Chef’s Homemade Egg Nog (Spiked or Virgin) Or Mulled Wine
Children under 12- 8 dollars children under 4 years free
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Don's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing