We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY VERY GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY VERY GOOD”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Great place to stay.
Has all the things you would expect from a 4star hotel with out the price tag.
Great staff, good food, clean and large rooms. Great hotel to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travisbbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    268
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
332
613
176
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

All the staff members go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. Their English is good, they are ready with a smile, and make you feel very welcome. The rooms are modern, clean, functional. The price is right. Breakfast is a full meal. Coffee tastes great. Any service we used was completed professionally - laundry, money exchange, transportation, room service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jemcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The service of the staff in this hotel is excellent. Located a stone throw away from everything. The staff was very willing to go out of their way to help us with everything
A must if thinking about coming to hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freelandaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Wonderful staff members are like your family members. Before you leave for sightseeing or after you come back from business meetings, they serve you a fruit plate, good coffee, and big smiles. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oneone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

You cannot go wrong with this place. My wife, Stella, and I really enjoyed our time. The staff, Martin and Thuy, were teriffic, they have super high energy and just are desperate to please. And most importantly we found them completely trustworthy with our room, our valuables, recommendations, the bill, storing our luggage while we went to ha Long Bay, with booking transport and Ha Long at honest or better honest pricing, deal with Ha Long Emotion Cruise was better than booking direct.

I just saw two other reviews with negative comments which clear are bogus and did not contain accurate information, for example the locks on the rooms were perfect and secure. The high quality of service and value for money clearly has other hotels nearby envious. But for me the efforts of the staff were the reason I have gone out of my way and written this review.

Room was very impressive for a hotel in this price range. Comfortable, clean, DVD, and big Plasma TV with satellite stations. Location is perfect, 100 meteres from great restaurants and the best areas of dowtown Hanoi. It is great to be able to refresh yourself at teh hotel during the day and then head back out again, the 5 star places are all much further away.

I also stayed at the Sheraton for business but I had more fun at Splendid Star 2.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GoldenRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My mother and I checked in mid afternoon. My mother was booked in for 6 nights. I was just going to stay 2 nights. They could not guarantee this. Nor would they assure us that my mother would not be kicked out of one room once I left, unable to check in to the next room for half a day.
The door lock was a simple key lock which would easily have been opened with a credit card. The "safey chain" was flimsy and alllowed the door to be opened wide enough for a finger to unlatch it.The bathroom in both the rooms in which we stayed was a disgrace,Breakfast was basic but adequate so we ate quickly ,The accomodation was so shocking it was beyond belief,Do not stay in this establishment, it is not fit for human habitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We found this very clean hotel purely by chance.
The manager showed us the room before we checked in and it were very good:
clean and cozi, big bathroom, a basked of fruit and a small bottle of wine offered every day, a nice flat screen TV ( with DVD player and several DVD avail from the lobby ) and a PC on the desk - very useful for backpackers.
Breakfast was nothing special : you could pick from a menu.
The staff was very nice, always ready to help.

The most amazing thing however, was that the hotel turned out to be our base camp for excursion in North vietnam. We arranged ( and bargained ) with the manager trips to Halong bay, Sapa and Parfume Pagoda. We could leave all extra luggage in the hotel and bring only the necessary for every 2 / 3 day trip. The staff was providing car pickup and we even had a room to sleep few hour after coming back from Sapa with the night train at 4 am. They really made our life easy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roamingraffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#23 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#78 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing