We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$176
$97
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$43
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$32
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,483)
Filter reviews
2,483 results
Traveler rating
2,139
292
32
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,139
292
32
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager martinhalong bayold quarterhoneymoon suitechurch bellsthe hotel managera great stayfriendly hotelwelcome drinkhotel is locatedside streetfantastic servicequiet streethoan kiem lakehome away from homefamily roomlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
1,554 - 1,559 of 2,483 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Andy & Rose went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help us enjoy our short stay, including picking us up from the airport. Hanoi is heaving with motor bikes, but this hotel is a little haven from the mayhem despite being so close to St Joseph's cathedral and some nice cafe's and restaurants. It's a small hotel, so don't go expecting bags of facilities - but you get a decent sized room with refreshing aircon, mini-bar, free internet - and a very welcome shower. The double bed is actually two beds pushed together - so was spacious but also created a comedy moment when I slipped down the middle!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed at Hotel for 5 nights early June 2010. Arrived at airport from Cambodia and we were met by pre arranged taxi arranged by hotel $15. On arrival we were told that the hotel had a problem with their water supply so we would have to be put up in their sister hotel next door but one, for our first night! (We were not very happy about this, but appreciate sometimes these things happen). This hotel was not that great with some what grumpy staff and a well worn feel to the hotel. However next day transfered to our original hotel which was much better. Staff were apologetic and put us up in what they said was a better room than our original booking. (Though we did not see our original room type so we can't cofirm this was the case). They also gave us a free half bottle of wine. Fair enough! The actual hotel is in a good location in the old part of the city and is located down a side street. Hotel is clean and well run. During our stay the building next door was also being converted into a hotel so the street was something of a building site, but at least the work was only being done during the day. Also of note is that the local streets are used by locals for el fresco dining purposes at night until about 11.30pm, meaning it can be a bit noisy. The hotel gives you a good taste of the real Hanoi and you feel that you are living within the community rather than just passing through. What made this hotel for us were the excellent staff who could not do enough for us, and were always on hand to help. Hotel also arranges reasonable priced tours.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fasth955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We checked out of the first Splendid Star hotel two doors down as it was awful, but came here and found a gem. After being a bit reluctant we went to our room and it was perfect. large, clean, comfortable and one of the nicest we have stayed at in Vietnam/SE Asia. The bathroom was made out of glass which is a tad weird (we had no problem with it but I imagine some families or friends might) but we had a great stay and would come again if back in Hanoi. The only reason we didn't give a 5 was because of the breakfast-which was poor-but apart from that I would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This hotel offered me a good room for a good price. Comfortable and reasonable quality.
My first room had some broken amenities, but the second room was absolutely fine.
Also nice thick towels and good quiet aircon!
Internet is rather unstable, this is costing them customers.
For me it was OK, everywhere in the surrounding area there are wifi spots.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timvangestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in all as part of our honeymoon and could not fault the hotel's location, the helpfulness of the staff who booked us some internal flights, the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality of the furnishings. There are computers linked to the internet in the rooms at no extra charge. We would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews