We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrific find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
“terrific find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

This almost new hotel is well located in the Old Quarter, near the cafe and restaurant area. It has 11 large comfortable rooms and a bar/cafe area on the ground floor where the free breakfast is served. The hotel is tastefully decorated in modern Vietnamese style and all the rooms seem to have plasma TV, dvd player, sofa, spa bath and safe. There is free wifi and there is also a computer in each room. A bottle of wine and fruits are provided to welcome visitors to their rooms.

Staff were terrific and helped us to find the best restaurants, shopping and sights in and around Hanoi. All are young and keen to please.

Thanks to all at Splendid Star 2 for making our holiday so relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,499
    265
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
325
600
173
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Splendid Star 2 is a small, friendly, family run hotel in a conveniant location to central Hanoi. Breakfast is simple but good.
I had a single room without a window. The room was quiet small but clean and secure.
I had booked into the Splendid Star1 but there seemed to be some confusion over this. The greeting I received on arrival was very nice so I didn't like to complain.
There is free internet in reception.
I would say the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Hao_N, General Manager at Splendid Star Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Dear pablo808,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the review you have given appears to be for Splendid Star 1, as some of the details you have given do not relate to Splendid Star 2 hotel. We would like to guarantee you that all of our rooms are double rooms and all have windows. Each room also includes a PC with internet access and WIFI, instead of the communal internet access in the lobby which many hotels have.

We would like to invite you to visit us at Splendid Star 2 on your next trip to Hanoi, and we would be very happy to show you our hotel.

Best regards,

Tony Hao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cove, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

This small hotel is BIG on enjoyment! Five friends used this hotel before and after an extended N. Vietnam motorcycle trip. Each time we came back we felt more like family.
Accomodating in every way. Super breakfast to get you going, helpful storing bags while gone, clean rooms (try the honeymoon room), location in Old Quarter is very close to St. Josephs Cathedral - helpful for the taxi drivers, and much more.
The staff, Peter, Jennifer, and Ally will remember you and your needs, making for a great stay.
Fifth stay for me in N. Vietnam - best hotel by far!

Phil from USA (Oregon)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USA_OregonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights, and we couldn't be happier. The location is perfect (200m from Hoan Kiem Lake), the room is spacious, clean and nicely furnished (with an in-room computer too), and the best part of all is the staff, who has been helpful and eager to serve.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perrychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

Spent 2 nites in SplendidStar in Hanoi with 4 gal pals n stayed in a family room. Room was very cute tho rather basic, hotel was located just a stone's throw away fr the cathedral, hidden just behind a lane. Surroundings were very authentic vietnamese,food vendors were all around, and some international selection for the less adventurous as well.

I think the highlight of this hotel were the staff. They were extremely friendly and ready to help. Breakfast was very nice as well!Fresh fruit juice, aunthentic local fare...all readily and promptly delivered!

If u are looking for something simple and clean with helpful staff, this hotel has my recommendation:)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

From the minute they picked us up until they drove us back, the staff at Splendid Star 2 Hotel were the best hosts imaginable. When we arrived, they welcomed us with "Welcome home," and for the rest of the trip that is exactly how we felt. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, tea and coffee were provided in our room and in the small dining room, and our laundry was done and returned the same day. A nice breakfast was provided, which included fruit and fruit juice, coffee and tea, and a choice of fruit and yogurt, cereal, fried noodles with beef, beef noodle soup, sticky rice with fried pork, crab noodle soup, or a continental breakfast. No complaints at all about the breakfast.

The location was perfect for us, since we spent most of our time walking around the Old Quarter. It was also walking distance to the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Hoan Kiem Lake, and the Temple of Literature. Peter recommended a couple of restaurants for us, and both were excellent.

One large plus and minus was the location near St. Joseph's Cathedral. One of the unexpected highlights of our trip was coming across the end of Sunday night mass at the cathedral as we returned to the hotel. The congregation was singing and holding candles, and it was lovely. On the other hand, the bells do ring frequently. We didn't mind this, in fact we enjoyed it. However, if you are a light sleeper, it could be a bother. Otherwise, this is an incredibly quiet hotel in a noisy city. The bells were the only sounds we heard.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

So i took my mom and dad for a holiday in Hanoi, Vietnam. The country is so nice and luckily we stayed in such a great hotel like Splendid star. My first impression of this hotel was that the staff there were so hospitable and helpful to us, they served us with a very responsible and friendly manner. The hotel generally looked small but its rooms were spacious and everything was available: air-con, wifi, refrigerator,etc... Most importantly, this hotel is located at a quiet place and we could really enjoy sleeping at night after a long tiring day. It is also super duper near to many popular places of attraction. It took us only 3-4 minutes to go to the famous old quarter of Hanoi for example. Staying in such a great hotel played a very important part in my wonderful trip to Hanoi. I DO recomend this hotels to travelling lovers!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleneTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#24 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#26 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing