We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$250
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$43
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$39
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,477)
Filter reviews
2,477 results
Traveler rating
2,134
292
31
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,134
292
31
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager martinhalong bayold quarterhoneymoon suitechurch bellsthe hotel managera great stayfriendly hotelwelcome drinkhotel is locatedside streetfantastic servicequiet streethoan kiem lakehome away from homefamily roomlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
1,196 - 1,201 of 2,477 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Splendid Star Grand hotel is a great place to stay in Hanoi..lovely staff, great location centrally located in the Old Quarter down near Church Sq. Martin was a fantastic host as was Kelly, made our stay special anything you wanted they could arrange and were so friendly and accommodating..I will definitely be back..

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back..
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterc1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

hotel very good staff and service excellent,great breakfast and Vietnamese iced coffee.martin is a fantastic asset to this hotel he was always around to help and was so friendly we would recommend staying there to anyone.once again thanks for a great stay. MARTIN and all the staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at this excellent hotel which is centrally located for the cathedral and Old Quarter. I cannot see me staying anywhere else in Hanoi the hotel is very comfortable and the staff are always willing to give advice and assistance. I will be back in Hanoi in December and will be booking to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Splendid Star hotel was perfect for my husband on I. We stayed there for four nights. The breakfast was quite good. I remember ordering "cereal with fruit" and was brought corn flakes with pieces of watermelon in it. Quite funny and different for me. Please keep in mind that it is a small hotel, it's a colonial style home with many rooms turned hotel. It's walking distance to the cathedral, shops and restaurants. The hotel staff speaks English, they are very helpful and can provide with transportation to and from the airport for a fee.

Room Tip: Make sure to turn the switch outside the bathroom on before you shower, it's the hot water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likes2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My friends and I stayed in the Splendid Suite Room. The room was very spacious and I also loved the view of the French inspired architecture of the neighbouring houses. The room had a flat screen TV, a mini refrigerator and electric water heater. Bottled water and coffee were also provided. The room was cleaned daily, this includes a change of sheets and new towels. The A/C worked well and the Wi-Fi signal was strong in the room. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi, although we weren’t really able to use it.

The hostel is conveniently located in the Old Quarter, very near the St. Joseph Cathedral (1-2 minute walk). We enjoyed walking around the area as it is near the Lake and the French Quarter. Cabs can be requested through reception. The staff, particularly Martin and Kelly, were extremely friendly and helpful with giving directions and suggestions on the best way to go around the city. The free breakfast was lovely and it always came with early morning chit-chats with Martin.

I’d say this hotel gives the best value for your money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineS_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews