We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual great service continues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Another review confirming how helpful Martin and his team are at the hotel. We arrived early morning off the train from Hue to wake Martin up, he was able to offer us a room so we could shower and have a snooze for a couple of hours until our room was ready. He also let us have breakfast on the house after waking up. Great location in the old town everything is at hand. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very friendly staff led by Martin who was always keen to please - his warnings of local pickpockets were useful, however after the first few times I began getting a bit paranoid! Great location close to restaurants & a short walk to the lake & old town - good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singingtheblues66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This may seem to be just another review stating once again that Martin is the best (and he IS), but this review proves that he and his staff are consistently great – which is hard to do in the hospitality business.
They deserve all the kind words and credit they get here… and more.
Martin, Kelly and Sally and staff were great - welcomed us late at night after a long flight, booked tickets for us, recommended what to do that day, had a great breakfast (Viet and western choices), and nicely appointed rooms, not totally new rooms for some but clean and appointed. Great central location on a small alley off from the Cathedral square.
Martin was the best manager ever – made a duck dinner for us on request and had bamboo soup and salad, beer etc for less that what we could get in a restaurant. Had a member of their staff take us to the station to get settled on the right train car/seat etc. Welcomed us back after a couple of days in Ninh Binh and gave us an upgrade on our return!
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Best overall place on our trip!

Room Tip: We had three types of rooms - one just off the lobby for the first night as we got in late (facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What an awesome start to our Vietnam holiday. Great hotel and the staff Sally, Kelly & Marty made us feel so welcome to Hanoi. Nothing was too hard for them. They organised our visas, Tam Coc day tour, Sapa holiday and Halong bay 2 night tour. They looked after our extra bags whilst we toured the above places and provided taxis to/from airport. Marty was such a fantastic funny and beautiful man. He provided my kids with many hilarious moments and always gave us advice on where to eat or best times to view temples/Mauseleum etc....
There is no doubt if we were to return to Hanoi we would be back to stay in Splendid Star.
A bonus was our family stayed in the 1 room which was nice and breakfast was included for approx $60 aud per night.... Thanks Marty, Kelly and Sally for all your wonderful help. X

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank renae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here two nights after a trip to Halong Bay. We were fortunate to overlap with Martin the manager for the first part of our stay and he was very helpful as all the other reviews have indicated. The room was quite good (do not expect any great views from any of the rooms, but most importantly ours was quite quiet, clean, and acceptably modern) and the location is also excellent for walking in the Old Quarter and Cathedral area. The staff arranged a transfer to the airport upon our departure and we had a very enjoyable conversation with our 30-ish driver with whom we shared various observations about Vietnam. The breakfasts were great and staff very attentive to our needs. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bay_area_folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My experience in this hotel was really fantastic :) The hotel is a great location which located very closed to the old quarter and shopping street and just few step to the Cathedral Church and 10 mins to the Lake.

Even though the hotel is near to the shopping street but you won't hear the noise when you close up the room's windows. Some comments mentioned that the room that facing with the Church will hear the church bell at 5am. But we can't hear any bell ring during our stay. Most properly is because of the bed are too comfortable^^

The staff there are very friendly and helpful especially Martin. You definitely can go Hanoi without any planning and Martin will tell you where to go and what to eat! He will recommend the best local food for you.

The BBQ Pork and Fish at the small stall beside the hotel is very nice :) We don't know how to order and Martin have helped us to order it^^

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Shea Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Its hard not to be swayed by the cheap rates offered by local hotels in Vietnam!

We found this hotel to be very clean although a bit rusty. Bathroom was cleaned very thoroughly everyday but it could definitely do with a refit. Shower was a little up and down too.

The room had all the usual western satellite channels and a large screen TV too so on days that one of was unwell we could keep ourselves entertained. Wifi signals are a little weak in the room but it did generally work

Location is excellent; although its down a small back street this street happens to be very busy so regardless of how late we returned it never felt intimidating.

The staff were very helpful

If you want to try something a little different to the usual western chains whilst sticking with good hygiene levels and save some money this is a great option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer_bil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#43 of 600 in Hanoi
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#12 of 600 in Hanoi
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $42 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing