We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in total with Splendid Star Grand Hotel right in the heart of the Old Quarter. Upon arrival we were sat down with complimentary drinks and fruit whilst we were checked in (well received after a long international flight). We had the deluxe room on the 4th floor which was great. It was super clean and the sound proof glass meant that we could not hear any outside noise which allowed for a great night sleep after the hustle and bustle of wonderful Hanoi.

The reception staff could not have been more helpful and assisted us with finding out the answers to any questions we had. The icing on the cake though was on our last day. Check out was 9am but we did not catch our overnight train until 7.30pm. After check out, Splendid Star stored our bags for the day and then upon pick up, allowed us to use a vacant room to shower and freshen up before our 14 hour train journey.

Would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEBrown303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    273
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
351
633
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I spent three days at Splendid Star Suite Hotel in Hanoi. This hotel was affordable, comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing! You can order whatever you want from a menu which includes both vietnamise and western dishes. The position is also good very close to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ema_P89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thank you so much Martin for giving us the best service on our trip you and your team work so well together and working in the field we no how it all works so thank you so much for the great service and looking after us from the time we step in the door and have and will recommend your hotel

Room Tip: Balcony room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just arrived home to Australia and I can say for all of my family that Martin and Tuan at the Splendid Star Grand Hotel made our trip a wonderful experience.The hotel itself is situated in the Old Quarter of Hanoi near the church (which is a great land mark to head home to) . It is in a nice quiet laneway with little car/bike noise and local kids playing in the street.The rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was incredible with your choice of Western or Asian food and no problem if you wanted more! But it really was the staff that put this hotel above any of the others we stayed at. Martin was the big brother for William and we continued to talk about him and his kindness for the rest of the trip.Nothing was too hard for him to organize even letting us use a room to shower and organize ourselves after we had checked out - at no extra cost!! All in all we cannot fault the Splendid Star Grand.Thanks. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as us

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annspaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location is right in the middle of the old quarter, where it all happens. Rooms are clean and spacious, Breakfast is very nice, you can order as much as you like!

One of the best things of our stay was definitely the staff.He took the time to explain all the highlights, good eateries and onward travels. This guy really knows about Hanoi and he will do anything to satisfy his guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is situated in the Old Quarters of Hanoi, and within walking distance from most tourist attractions. What's most notable about this hotel, however, is the friendliness of the staff. Their excellent service began the moment we stepped out of the taxi. Language was no problem as they were able to communicate in English well, and we took advice from them whenever we're off to visit somewhere in Hanoi, which was great because it's not easy for us first-timers in Hanoi to navigate the city (we found out that the people there don't really speak English, and this was a pain when trying to get a taxi on our own.) Luckily the hotel staff were able to help us arrange for taxis most of the time. The condition of our room (Suite Room for 3) was, as the name of the hotel suggests: simply splendid! Not a bad price for it too. Definitely a great hotel for tourists! (Special mention of two staff: Tuan and Martin who helped made our stay comfortable and fun!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Having lived in Hanoi for 18 months now, I've come to realise just how good Splendid Star actually was (is). Customer service is a relatively new concept in Vietnam and quite often places can get it comically wrong.

How often can you remember the name of a receptionist (Martin) especially not 18 months later. You could not have a more helpful or fun person to have looking after you during your stay. The hotel is ideally placed, clean and tidy and ideally priced. It's obviously not lavish luxury, but at the price it was definitely value for money.

We stayed there a few days before finding a place to live. Before doing so we actually tried another hotel and regretted it immediately.

If this hotel is within your budget, I doubt you'll find anywhere better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHWhite304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#27 of 586 in Hanoi
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#37 of 586 in Hanoi
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 586 in Hanoi
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing