We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST SERVICE EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“BEST SERVICE EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Every thing about this hotel is brilliant, rooms are nice size, in a great location, anything you want or need is a 5 minute walk but its tucked away in a little alley which keeps it nice and quiet. Yet were this hotel really sets itself apart from the others is its service. From th moment we arrived Martin and his team of super ,friendly staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, booking the best tours for us, organizing our train tickets, martin would also take time out of his busy day to walk us to the best local restaurants. Every other travelers we met where shocked at the level of service we received. If your going to Hanoi, you would be mad not to stay here.... Will be returning soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    260
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
312
582
167
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our experience at the Splendid Star was incredible. For the price the hotel has everything you could want or need, including a delicious free breakfast, wireless internet, AC, complimentary juice, water, coffee and tea. It's location is great, right by the lake with lots of cute shops, bars and restaurants all within walking distance. As two girls traveling Vietnam alone we felt extremely safe and looked after. The staff goes above and beyond and is helpful beyond words. We've stayed at many different hotels over the last couple weeks and this one had the best staff by far. Martin at the front desk was on top of everything and definitely enhanced our trip. Tuan and Martin both were great at recommending and setting up tours and providing reminder calls to make sure we were prepared for our excursions. I would highly recommend staying at the Splendid Star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel off and on for the week when we were in Hanoi. We were very warmly welcomed by Martin on arrival who shared his vast knowledge of the sights and other helpful tips like restaurants to eat at and how much a taxi fare should cost. Martin was very helpful in arranging our trips to Halong Bay and Mai Chau, which were as competitively priced as others advertised but we knew exactly what we were getting for our money. The hotel is in a great location in regard to being walking distance of the lake, markets, shops and restaurants. The rooms are great for a family as there are two queen size beds, modern looking and they have free wi-fi. Breakfast was always delicious and fresh and the serving sizes generous. Even though you choose off a menu you are able to choose multiple items rather than just one. The service and hospitality shown by not only Martin and Tuan but all staff working in all aspects of the hotel was amazing from the moment we set foot in the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casilda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachiyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I usually stay at Splendid Star Grand Hotel over the past year when I come to Hanoi on business. Because of better location to go everywhere for business or sightseeing, clean room, cheaper room charge and included tasty breakfast.

I have especially something to tell you about another reason.
It’s this hotel staffs’ “service and hospitality”. This hotel is the so-called” Mini Hotel ”. But I feel that their “service and hospitality” is Five Star hotel’s level. Furthermore, they are friendly and kindly with heart and smile.
I think that every staffs are well-trained and diligent to learn other language. So, many staffs can greet guest with guest’s language, for example “Ohayo-gozaimasu”or “Bonjour”, something like that.

I’d like confidently to recommend not only for business guest but also for family and personal tourists.
As further information, they have 3 more hotel as a group near place. So, when rooms are full booking, they will do their best to keep rooms.

If you choose this hotel, you will make better memories in Hanoi.
Have a good trip !

Room Tip: Rooms at Higher floor is silent and bright. Large rooms have good view for Nha Tho Lon(famous church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooru51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location with walking distance to old quarters, the lake and good restaurants. Just around the corner is a great area for shopping as well. Rooms are perfect for families with two queen size beds.
Staff are very eager to help out with whatever you need and arranged transfer to/from airport.
The breakfast is included but not their strenght, we chose to eat at the nearby cafés instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bredina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for two nights. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the room was cute, clean, quiet, and relatively modern! The location was great - right in the heart of the old quarter. I recommend booking early online - my friend tried to get a room at the last minute and the prices definitely went up. It can get crowded in the restaurant during breakfast, so I suggest making a bit of extra time for that, or perhaps eating during less busy hours. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygirl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Staff are exceptional in all areas; service, personability and local knowledge. Any small issues with the facilities were totally insignificant due to the staff. MpartnernJennifer and I Angus stayed a total of 19 nights at this hotel. We had a free upgrade to the Honeymoon suite our first two nights then we left for Halong Bay.

On our return we we upgraded again to a larger room than what we paid for, we also switched one more time before the final week in which we stayed in one of the two honeymoon suites. All of which was seemless as staff did everything for us. Breakfast was lovelly, the western meals were not as good as the Vietnamese meals, but that was to be expected.

I had a stomach bug in the last week of our stay and they staff were more than accommodating with ginger tea anytime it was asked for. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel or its staff. In summation great value, great people and food. Would recomend to anyone traveling to Hanoi!

Many thanks to Martin, Tuan and all the other staff for everything!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gusssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.6 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Moon Suite Hotel
Golden Moon Suite Hotel
#24 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HotelsforEveryone and Hotels.com so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing