We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$311
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/31
$43
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
Free cancellation until 05/27
$39
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$132
$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$76
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,477)
Filter reviews
2,477 results
Traveler rating
2,134
292
31
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,134
292
31
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager martinhalong bayold quarterhoneymoon suitechurch bellsthe hotel managera great stayfriendly hotelwelcome drinkhotel is locatedside streetfantastic servicequiet streethoan kiem lakehome away from homefamily roomlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
1,346 - 1,351 of 2,477 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the minute we arrived we were treated like VIPs. Our tours booked, lots of advice about local restaurants and sites to visit. Overall a very pleasant stay, we would recommend this place to people with a small family as the rooms are spacious and good value. Breakfast was tasty and more than we expected.We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monsoonluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Splendid Star Grand family room on 15/4/13 till 16/4/13. Staff were great, friendly and helpful especially Martin that likes to connect with every customer & makes every guest felt welcomed. Breakfast were great, up to standard, budget hotel with valued added service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Excc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night and then two nights in this hotel. The location is perfect: very close from the cathedral and within a walking distance from tourist attractions/old town, in a quiet alley with no traffic. The hotel is clean and well maintained - except some minor things that you experience everywhere in Vietnam because of the poor quality of the construction such as water leaking outside of the bath or hair drier not working - but not a big deal.
We were once upgraded to a superior room and the second time we insisted to stay in this hotel although it was full (they have 3 other Splendid star hotels in the same street) and Martin, the manager, asked us to wait a couple of hours to get a familiy room cleaned for us. So both rooms were very spacious, with a desk, a computer, a fridge, a wardrobe and a small safe. Air con was working well and beds were comfortable. The rooms were quiet compared to other hotels, could not hear much noise from other rooms, except the last night where we heard the shower from our neighbours. No noise from the street. The breakfast is good, with a large choice. Laundry is cheap (1$ per kg) and good quality.
Martin is a great manager, his english is very good and always willing to help: they kept one of our luggage for a couple of days while we were traveling in Halong Bay, printed flight tickets for us, posted our post cards etc...
The only drawback is their exchange rate which is the worst we've seen in Vietnam: 1$ = 22,000 VND. We tried to negotiate it to 1 for 21,000 as everywhere else but they refused. We ended up paying by card as the 3% fee charged by the bank was still cheaper than they exchange rate.
Overall this is one of the best hotels we have had in Vietnam, definitely the best service and I would stongly recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: Like in all hotels, less noise from the lobby if on higher floors. We had one room facing the other buiding in the alley and one at the back on a not very nice courtyard/buildings but not a bid deal as they are curtains. There is a lift so not a big deal to be on top floors.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pep1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family stayed there in March and all enjoyed our stay, the room was good for the price. Martin joked with the kids all the time and the breakfast was pretty good. No buffet but Martin was always there offering more of whatever you wanted. They looked after our bags while we went to Ha Long Bay and booked train tickets and drove us the station and put us on the train in the right sleeper. We booked our Ha long Bay trip through them because they were competitive and gave us a satisfaction guarantee. Martin didnt even want us to pay until we returned and were satisfied. I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for families on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Highly recommend this very good mid range hotel centrally located in the old quarter of Hanoi. Comfortable, clean air conditioned rooms with good facilities. The hotel is quiet as it is away from the street noise and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Martin & Tuan are always willing to assist you with any request. Martin has a good recommendation if you feel like a massage. We would recommend this hotel to couples & families alike. The breakfast menu is great to start your day!!

Room Tip: Higher floors a lighter during the day.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil_and_Deb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews