We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the splendid star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #29 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights. The staff were great, and very helpful Tuan (Jenny to us) Booked all our day trips and even gave us advice on shopping and prices we should be paying. The hotel is right in the heart of the old quarter. We started our day with breakfast at the hotel which was excellent. We had our lunches where the locals eat, in the street restaurants. Wifey enjoyed the local shopping and felt very safe. We retired back to the hotel in the evenings and were always treated with a warm smile. The bed was very comfortable, showers nice and hot. The bell from the church kicks in around 5:30am but it's not to bad. The hotel has wi fi, and took care of our laundry. We would have taken Jenny home with us in the suitcase if we could have :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower levels ( there are 6 floors) and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived at Splendid Star Grand hotel by Tuan and Martin. We were given welcome drinks and Tuan briefed us on the sights we can visit. The room was brightly lit and spacious compared to other hotels we've been . Breakfast was good Its walking distance to the lake and the night market. They were very helpful in allowing us to have a free room to freshen up before we board the night train to Danang. Martin even helped us to booked our bus ticket from Hoi An to Saigon. I will definetly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. The staff went out of their way to help you and nothing was to much. Went to Halong bay with the hotel and the trip was really good. Told you all you needed to know and really made sure you knew all the local scams, not that we saw any. When arranging a taxi made sure we paid a fair rate. All in all would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyTaylorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Fantastic budget hotel right in the centre of the old quarter but down a quiet street so no traffic noise! The room was great with excellent facilities and more than worth the money we paid. Breakfast was good too, you get a choice from a wide selection. The staff at the hotel go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. Definitely recommended, would stay here again in a flash.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RosieJo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I didn't had any special plans to do in Vietnam...
At first, the hotel place is located in very good, quite and clean place. There is no cars or bikes running near the hotel .
The rooms are big and quite romantic.
Martin, the main guy who working in hotel was very nice person.
He told me about tours , and nice places to go and eat etc...
And his advices was actually good! Believe him.

Hotel value is great , breakfast is nice, free drinks etc..

It is nice place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwardzedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at 3 different hotels in Hanoi and this was hands down our favorite. The location is perfect way less busy than the other 2 we stayed at. We didn't have to worry about getting run over as we left the hotel. Our room was huge, included a very modern glass bathroom and computer area in the room. We also had our own seating/entertainment area. Breakfast was amazing and the dishes were gigantic. You can order as much as you like but we were usually to full to eat more than one. The omelets were great so we're the noodles with chicken and pancakes-it was all great. Best part about this hotel is the staff. We stayed for five nights it is very close to many good places to eat and get a beer. Martin and the staff where excellent! They were always there to help and super friendly, they are also really funny know how to joke around and have fun while doing their job which was a really nice change, at the end of our stay the staff felt like friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet because it's located on a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived from Sapa at 5.00 am and had a bad experience with a taxi driver at this time in the morning. Decided to go to hotel and sit on steps until they opened. A knock on the door from a passerby was all it took for Martin to open the doors and greet us warmly at this time in the morning. He arranged for us to have a shower and rest in a spare room. Looked after us with breakfast and then an early check-in to our room that was absolutely spotless. Beautiful soft bed, soft pillows and hot water. I must say at this point we were a little jaded from the constant hassle with rogue taxi drivers and scammers throughout Vietnam. Martin restored our faith in human nature and the absolute kindness of people without wanting anything in return. I would say that Martin would be this hotels best asset.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank RossJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#44 of 603 in Hanoi
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#42 of 603 in Hanoi
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $41 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing