We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here its awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 587 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stay here its awesome!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at 3 different hotels in Hanoi and this was hands down our favorite. The location is perfect way less busy than the other 2 we stayed at. We didn't have to worry about getting run over as we left the hotel. Our room was huge, included a very modern glass bathroom and computer area in the room. We also had our own seating/entertainment area. Breakfast was amazing and the dishes were gigantic. You can order as much as you like but we were usually to full to eat more than one. The omelets were great so we're the noodles with chicken and pancakes-it was all great. Best part about this hotel is the staff. We stayed for five nights it is very close to many good places to eat and get a beer. Martin and the staff where excellent! They were always there to help and super friendly, they are also really funny know how to joke around and have fun while doing their job which was a really nice change, at the end of our stay the staff felt like friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet because it's located on a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    274
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
366
649
187
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from Sapa at 5.00 am and had a bad experience with a taxi driver at this time in the morning. Decided to go to hotel and sit on steps until they opened. A knock on the door from a passerby was all it took for Martin to open the doors and greet us warmly at this time in the morning. He arranged for us to have a shower and rest in a spare room. Looked after us with breakfast and then an early check-in to our room that was absolutely spotless. Beautiful soft bed, soft pillows and hot water. I must say at this point we were a little jaded from the constant hassle with rogue taxi drivers and scammers throughout Vietnam. Martin restored our faith in human nature and the absolute kindness of people without wanting anything in return. I would say that Martin would be this hotels best asset.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RossJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It was the first time we visited Hanoi and Thanks so much to Splendid Star Grand Hotel for helping us to arrange our 6 days Hanoi trip so well !! Thanks to Martin - the great joker ^^ and friendly staff who taking care well of our needs at all times: offering us free room after we came back from Halong Bay cruise and Sapa trip, and thanks to him too for willing to come to pick us up at the train station even in the very early morning - 5am! Besides, under this hotel's arrangement, we met our very helpful tour guide Tim during our Sapa trip who did his job very well and took care of my sicked Father. We really had great and fun time during our stays at Hanoi. Unforgettable and Enjoyable holidays! Good Impression! Definitely we will prefer this Hotel again for our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moiyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Well hanoi massive Stayed here with 12 other ppl the rooms were clean and had more than enough space Martin was fantastic always had a smile on his face this place is tucked away in the back streets and well worth staying at.

short walk to every where got give a map so we didnt get lost were able to leave out suit cases there when we when to halong bay and were safe and secure.

One of our groups bags got left behind in the mad rush to the airport.

Quick phone call to Martin and he said he would send it along to our next stop.

Would stay here again when we return.

Top notch hotels and motels could learn from matin

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Splendid Star Grand Hotel for 3 nights in February 2013. We were greeted with drinks and fruit in the foyer by friendly staff (Tuan and Martin) and given a map of the city. They also helped us catch taxi's, recommended restaurants and places to go, and organised tours and transfers for good prices. The rooms were beautiful, neat and clean, with TV's and computers in each one (free wifi too). We were allowed late check out and early check in (6am when we arrived from the overnight train) at no extra cost. They stored our main luggage for us at the hotel when we went on an overnight Halong Bay cruise. They also upgraded our room for free because one was available. Breakfast was delicious and the hotel is in a great place, near restuarants and easy walking distance to the Lake. We would definitely stay here again! Enjoy your stay:)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe room, Splendid View Room (honeymoon) and Family Suite. All were great, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeishaD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked Splendid Star Suite for 4 nights during our visit on 12/2/2013. We were warmly welcomed by staffs upon arrival. Hot drinks served while we waiting for the procedure of checking in. Very nice of them as the weather out there was quite cold. The staffs concerned that 3 elders might not convenient to climb upstairs to the room every day, so they offered us the branch hotel ( Splendid Star Grand Hotel) with elevator , located just at the behind block .This was indeed very thoughtful of them. Heartfelt thanks to Hua for her transfer arrangement .
Martin and staffs were very helpful throughout our stay at Splendid Star Grand Hotel.
Will definately recommend it to friends. Great location and excellent staffs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had booked a 5 night stay at this hotel during the Tet Festival. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Martin, he enquired as to wether we had already booked our tours to the Perfume Pagoda and Halong Bay which he had done so at the airport but he informed us that the hotel could have arranged these. In fact nearly every travel agent in Hanoi can and there are many of them. We had also come without any of the local currency and wished to change some in Hanoi but we were told the hotel had no money to exchange as well as being misinformed by the staff that there was nowhere to do this in Hanoi as it was the Tet Festival and banks were closed. We actually managed to change our money just around the corner of the hotel at a travel agency.
and were notified that we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite (see photos) which was a pleasant surprise. However, we felt it was somewhat of a downgrade in the fact that it didn't have a standing shower nor hot water in the bath. We attempted to bring the staff's attention to the matter, but were left feeling unsure over whether they understood our problem. However, on the last night of our stay we were 'downgraded' back to our original superior room which had the standing shower, we felt that this room was better than the upgraded honeymoon suite which really only had the round bed and jacuzzi style bath.
The breakfast was ordered from a menu, a-la-carte style. Order what you like when you want, the food on offer catered to most appetites, although the food itself wasn't the greatest, the pancakes were rubbery and the cereals seemed out-of-date accompanied with very sweet condensed milk. It still was nice to eat at the hotel before setting off, you can have the breakfast in your room as there is limited sitting in the restaurant
The location of the hotel is a stone's thrown from St.Joseph's Cathedral (see picture) in the French Quarter, this is another backpacker's area similar to the Old Quarter, taxis and minibuses for the tours can't get down the alleyways of the French Quarter but this wasn't an issue, it's also just a 5 min walk to the beautiful lake in Hanoi. There are many good restaurants in the area too especially La around the corner.
The staff were friendly throughout and very helpful when it came to ordered us taxis to start our tours or to go to restaurants. Although one member of staff seemed lacking in communication skills and we couldn't get our message across but that shouldn't take away from a good experience.
This budget style hotel was value for money, the rooms were clean and in good condition, if you like a very quiet hotel, I should draw your attention to the bells that ring out from the cathedral, it's a good morning alarm as is the cockerel just outside the window too. On the lower floors, it was noticeably noisier, as you could hear doors slamming in other rooms as well as chairs squeaking across the floor. Perhaps the management could look at addressing those issues.
If you're looking for a cheap hotel option in Hanoi and want a good location with pleasant helpful staff then this is the place for you. You get what you pay for and in that regard, this hotel delivers.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite has no standing shower but it is on the 6th floor and has a view of St.Joseph's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#37 of 587 in Hanoi
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#33 of 587 in Hanoi
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#16 of 587 in Hanoi
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 587 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing