We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with an excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After having a hard, stressful week of traveling around Vietnam, my husband and I checked into the Splendid Star Grand Hotel in Hanoi. We were so pleased; unlike some of the other hotel experiences we've had in Asia, we felt great here.
Staff was trustworthy, very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of English. They made you feel like your stay and comfort was important to them. Everything was made convenient: they are able and willing to set up everything you need from expeditions, airport drop-off/pickup, etc.
The rooms are very western: clean, air-conditioned and decorated nicely. The hotel is located in an excellent spot- a short walking distance from all the tourist spots in the city.

Needless to say, we were very pleased with our experience in Splendid Star Grand Hotel and would recommend it to any person, couple or family wanting a comfortable and safe place to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleymarie921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We originally booked at the Spendid Star Suite Hotel for one night only, as we were off to Halong Bay the next morning. We based our booking on Tripadvisor reviews, and decided to try what you get for such a low price and so many positive reviews.

We arrived late at our hotel for a short night. Initially we were a little concerned by the location in a narrow alley, but as it turned out, we had nothing to fear. Two friendly reception assistants with limited English knowledge, manned the desk. There was a few phone calls and running back and forth for a few minutes. But then Mr. Martin showed up with a BIG smile and a great attitude! Turns out they operate hotels in four separate buildings, each a different hotel name, but apparently the same owner (at least that was my understanding). Thus we were escorted trough the first hotel onto the street behing and into the Spledid Star Grand Hotel. While Mr. Martin took our information, out bags were carried to our room.

As a family with two children, we got a family room with two large double beds. Everything was exactly as described on Tripadvisor. The A/C slightly "worn", a loose door knob etc. All minor stuff. The room was clean and adequate. The bathroom also clean with all the necessary amenities. Our room was on the 5th floor, but there is an elevator. Obviously this is more of a budget hotel, and the standard is lower than major chain hotels. Still you get it all at a great low price in different surroundings; free internet, breakfast etc. In the morning, the back alley, in which the hotel is situated, was transformed to a busy fish market. That's authentic old quarter for you! The only minor drawback is that a taxi cannot access the street during normal business hours, but I am sure the staff would help get you and your luggage to the nearby main street.

The staff is nice and very helpful. They offered to keep excess luggage at the hotel while we went on a Halong cruise - even if were not staying with them upon our return to Hanoi! My wife has gluten allergy, and they went out of their way to accomodate her. Also important is the fact that my family felt safe and cared for at the hotel.

We did not stay at Splendid Star Grand Hotel upon our return to Hanoi, but on our last day we discovered that we had left an item at the our room there. We called over, and they confirmed they had found it. When we got there to pick it up on the way to the airport, it turned out the housekeeper had it, and she was not there. We had to rush off to the airport. Half way there the cab drivers phone rang (don't ask me how they found our cab.....), and we were told they had sent someone after us to the airport with the item. In the end we did not get the item, but my point is that there seems to be no limit to their aim to please (I wouldn't be surprised if the item turns up in the mail one day)!

Thanks Mr. Martin, you are a find, and there should be more of your kind at many hotels. Your multitasking talent, made sure many people felt like the only, and most valued guest, at the same time! We have stayed at a fair amount of upscale hotels and resorts over the years. While they may have a bunch of stars, many of them lack the personal touch that makes tou feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Last night I arrived late in the pouring rain and my cab had a flat tire a few blocks from the hotel. I was in a bit of a panic because I was not sure we were in the right place and I would have to walk with my stuff in the rain. I called the hotel and they had Martin come out and meet me in the street with an umbrella. Martin immediately put me at ease and the service has been so comforting and relaxed ever since. The room is also very nice, quiet and clean. The location is great and I can't imagine booking anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a small wonderful handy to everything Hotel.
Martin the young manager and his asistant are amazing. Martin goes way out of his way to make your stay wonderful. Great advice and help with where to go and what to do. Great breakfasts.
We meet people that came back because of the service.
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Ray young

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rayandjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Found our stay great, staff were very easy going.. very honest which is what we were looking for as Hanoi can be a little alarming at first was very reassuring to actually know they had our better intrests at hand which is a rare thing to find in any country..

Would come back and stay anytime ..
the staff go out of there way to help you and can be trusted!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Splendid Star 2 Hotel in Hanoi for 3 nights. We got a family suite and couldn't have been happier. We took the train in from Hue and were picked up by the funny and enthusiastic Martin. Since our room was unoccupied, we were allowed to check in early (5am). This was fabulous as we just dropped our bags and slept for a few more hours. They told us even if our room was not ready they would find a room for us to rest in until ours was. Our suite was lovely and spacious and a cool and quiet oasis from the hear and craziness of Hanoi. Martin was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and the staff always helped out getting us taxis. The complementary breakfast was fabulous...basically order what and how much you wanted from the menu. We would stay here again if we return to Vietnam and highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexiflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the splendid star gran hotel for 3 nights. The service and staff were very nice and helpful especially the manager and Mr. Martin who were great english speakers and understanding. The room was pleasant and had a nice view. It was spacious and had everything you would need. The bad about the room was the aircon machine located at the balcony which made a great deal of noise when turned on. The location of the hotel is practical near the lake in the old quarter. Recommended for the price

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JulieDK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#38 of 599 in Hanoi
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#43 of 599 in Hanoi
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $40 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing