We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$39
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$43
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Art Hotel(Hanoi)
$44
$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,485)
Filter reviews
2,485 results
Traveler rating
2,141
292
32
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,141
292
32
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager martinhalong bayold quarterhoneymoon suitechurch bellsthe hotel managera great stayfriendly hotelwelcome drinkhotel is locatedside streetfantastic servicequiet streethoan kiem lakehome away from homefamily roomlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
1,486 - 1,491 of 2,485 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I found the hotel by chance, as I arrived at 6am in Hanoi. They were able to provide me with a room straight away. The room was very nice, decorated with taste, and equipped with big screen, aircon, bathroom. It cost 20 dollars.
The plus was the service. It was the first time in vietnam that I encountered very friendly and helpful hotel staff. They had absolutely no tour or service to offer us (on which hotels usually take a 50 to 100% margin), and genuinely helped us with advice on hanoi etc.

I recommend!

Room Tip: Bargain a bit ;o)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We used the Splendid Star 2 Hotel as our basis for trips to other spots like Hoi An and Ha Long Bay. So it was a little like coming home after a couple of days. The staff is very friendly an they'll help you when ever you may need help. They also gave us very valuable recommendations for our stay in Hanoi and our trips. Although it's in the middle of Hanoi, this hotel is very quite so it's perfectly located to have a relaxing place after exiting experiences in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf-BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had two nights at this hotel in the centre of the old town which is amazing. Only a small hotel but perfectly located where it's all happening in Hanoi. The rooms are clean and a decent size, the breakfast was ok but the service is what makes this place. Martin looked after us the whole time - literally he was always there and always smiling and full of energy. Always asked about our day, even showed us a little quiet spot that looks over the city and got us drinks! Being in the industry myself i can be quite critical and i have never experienced service like it, the friendliness was amazing. We'd like to thank Martin for making our stay in Hanoi amazing and for the tips about other places!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We recently stayed here while we visited Hanoi.
Found the rooms to be clean and well presented.
They were able to organize an Overnight in Ha Long Bay in the middle of our stay. They offered to keep our bags for us in their lockup. The bags were there no problems and we went straight to a new room when we arrived back.
The staff were very helpful and able to advise us as to where to go for tourist sites, shopping and good food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We arrived at 10pm one night earlier than our booking (we where hoping there would be a room available) - we where meet by Martin who helped us with all our bags in the pouring rain. Once inside we where immediately attended to with fruit and drinks while Martin found us a room.

We where upgraded at no extra cost and given a very good run down of Hanoi, where to go and what to do - even a couple of safety tips. Our room was the best room we stayed in while in Vietnam in this price range.

We left for a couple of days for a Ha Long Bay Cruise, the hotel looked after our bags and upon our return had upgraded us to the Honey Moon suite - I think Martin was just trying to get me in trouble with my girlfriend!

The hotel its self is very well located and only a couple of dollars taxi ride to anything of interest.

Staff where fantastic and funny, but could not be more helpful.

In short we do not have a bad thing to say about the Splendid Star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron_Muir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews