We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Star 2 is good - very helpful & friendly staff, safe to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid Star 2 is good - very helpful & friendly staff, safe to stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

It was our 1st time to visit Vietnam and we picked Hanoi as our 1st city to visit. Before our trip, I read the comments from trip advisor and learnt that Splendid Star 2 is ranking quite high in the list. We arrived Hanoi very late (around 1 am) last week via a late flight. Splendid Star 2 had arranged an airport pickup for us, it was actually safe but since it was very late, not many street lamps were on so all streets looked dim. The driver can't communicate in English so I was a little bit worried rather he was sure where to send us. About 45 minutes later, he stopped the car and a young guy came out from a dark lane and stood next to our car. I was a bit lost at that moment and then I learnt that the young guy was a staff of Splendid Star 2, he was Martin. He greeted us, took our luggage, and led us the way to the hotel. I was immediately relaxed and pleased with Martin's good services. The lane was a bit narrow and dark but after that, we saw the hotel. It is a small hotel but it is neatly decorated, we felt warm and safe there.

We spent 5 nights at Splendid Star 2 and we loved to stay there. All staff are very friendly and they speak good English. Martin and Jenny are extremely nice & helpful. My small boy loved to play with Martin, whenever he felt bored in the room, he went down stair to look for Martin. We used to stay in bigger hotels / resorts when we visited other countries. My kids questioned me why I picked a small hotel when they first arrived Splendid Star 2. Just after a day, my boy said he would like to stay in the same type of hotel if he visit another city / country next time. We are pleased by the warm services, as well as the free to order breakfast that offered by Splendid Star 2 which may not be easy to get in big 4 or 5 stars hotels. The only drawback is that the hotel is located near St. Joseph's Church. The church bell starts to ring at 5am everyday. You have to make sure you are tired enough otherwise you may be waked up this early morning call.

We booked a city tour and Halong Bay private day trip via Splendid Star. The price may be a little bit more than to book it via the travel agent directly but everything was properly arranged, we enjoyed very much except the weather was extremely cold and rainy on the day of our city tour. We had an early flight to go back Hong Kong and we booked the car via the hotel to the airport. Martin slept on the sofa in the hotel lobby, probably to wait for us. He helped to take our luggage, led us to the car and greeted us good luck. We appreciated very much for his great services.

The Hanoi airport is quite confused about the flight information. We spent at least 15 minutes to ask for the right counter for flight checking in. We met a couple in the airport (also from Hong Kong) and they told us some bad happenings they encountered in Hanoi. They stayed in a low priced (less than USD20 / night) hotel and they broke something in the bathroom and the man was injured. The hotel didn't help at all and insisted them to pay an unreasonable price as compensation. Finally they paid some money and left that hotel immediately and had to stay in another hotel for their last night in Hanoi.

In order to have a good and pleasant stay in Hanoi, it is important to find a good hotel. I will strongly recommend Splendid Star 2 and will stay there definitely for my next visit in future.

Tan's family from Hong Kong

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETanHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    274
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
366
648
187
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My wife was dreading our return to Hanoi - we had had a brief look for one night at a disappointing hotel (Charming) the week before and now had to return for 3 nights before our flight home. I was unwell with gout and it was looking grim.
Until we arrived at the Splendid Star 2 - from the moment we arrived 'Martin' took it upon himself to cheer us up and look after us with 5 star service. All the staff were first class always cheerful - from helping me to get seen at the Hanoi SOS clinic and to ordering reasonably priced pizza to eat in as I could not walk anywhere.

They helped in every way possible - advising which taxi's to use so my wife did not get ripped off as she had to venture out on her own, Each day Martin' took her to the square in front of the Cathedral and hailed the taxi himself he explained to the driver exactly where she wanted to go gave her the hotels card for return journey so no problem being understood as it had a little map as well as the address...it was so easy and as a result she thoroughly enjoyed herself exploring and shopping!

I cannot emphasize enough how much this was down to the wonderful staff because she is a first class wimp in cities and in other circumstances would have just stayed in the room bored to tears with me.

All the staff including the managers had 'names' which were English to make it easier for customers - personally I find that a bit condescending - and would prefer a phonetic version of their own names. 'Martin' spoke extremely good English which he managed to use to very good effect and managed to be humerous and cheeky - a real character - he told us that he had learned the language working at the hotel from customers - he must have a really good flare for languages - a clever bundle of potential going to waste that I witnessed working all the hours god sends always striving to please his customers.

Now to facts about the hotel - the website led us to think there was a restaurant - yes there is but only for breakfast. Rooms are excellent and quiet - a bit of street buzz from local barbque but this goes quiet after 10-11 and is noway disturbing - no traffic noise as hotel situated in a small well lit lane.

Rooms are lovely And as good as the pics (makes a change) room safe aircon, satalite TV, DVD (films frre to borrow) kettle, tea and coffee - in addition staff will room service drinks tea coffee juices free of charge. Both rooms we looked at were beautifully decorated and accesorized. A bedside lamp each. Only drawback not enough plugs and they were a bit stiff to use. Great breakfast which can be served in the room. Never met the managers who email you but nevermind the rest of the staff flew the flag brilliantly!

Without any hesitation we will be recommending the Splendid Star to all our customers and friends who want the Vietnam experience

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

A great location, right at the heart of the Old Town. A small boutique hotel with simply super friendly staff. Rooms are clean and attractively decorated. The beds are first class (a top priority for those of us with bad backs). Staff here will go the extra mile for you to help.....helping with trip planning and booking or even searching out special need items. Breakfasts are generous and excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobdeFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My family, 2 adults, two 17 1/2 year olds and a 3 year old, stayed at Splendid Star for 3 nights.

From the moment that I made contact with Splendid Star I received an extremely warm and welcoming response. It felt like staff were willing to do anything to be helpful and make our stay a good one. We had a twin room and the large room, with balcony, that overlooked the cathedral and had a round bed! We had high speed internet, DVD player, free wine and a hot tub in our very clean and comfortable room.

On our arrival Martin invited us to relax and have a drink before showing us the rooms and checking that we were happy. He, and all staff we came into contact with, were so nice to our 3 year old. Martin made it clear that all we needed to do was ask if there was anything we ever needed. Splendid Star is up a very quiet alley which is a godsend in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. It is close to good restaurants, coffee, cakes, shopping, the lake and the water puppet theatre. I highly recommend the hotel and commend all of the staff for working so hard to create such a lovely welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenstreetpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was a lovely surprise. The hotel (which is quite small) was a little hard to find because it is in a lane so cars can't go down it and our cab driver was a little bewildered. It is around the corner from the Cathedral which is a good landmark if you get lost. Being in a lane means that you don't get traffic noise, which is good. Beds were comfy. Staff are really friendly ( their English was better than in some of the other hotels we had been in) - you get welcome drinks and fruit - and make lovely passionfruit juice drinks. We had a little misunderstanding when we booked our city tour in that we didn't realise that it included the water puppet show as well and we went and booked the water puppets separately. Breakfast was delicious (a la carte - as the hotel is too small for buffet). We had a computer with internet in our room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veraverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The location of the hotel is great, just behind the cathedral in a quiet (well, for Hanoi standards) back alley. The staff, Jenny & Martin are extremely helpful and have a great sense of humor. They can advise you on anything from restaurants to spas to organizing your whole Vietnam journey. Stayed for two nights then went on to Ha Long Bay and came back a day later. As there was no twin bedroom available Jenny transferred us to the newest member of the SS just next door. There is wifi and computer with lan cable the rooms which are clean and spacious with good bathroom amenities. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juvidox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Our stay was made most memorable by the the service of Jenny, Martin and the many staff available to help us. It was a great location and a fun place to go back to after our many adventures. Staff went out of their way to make everything happen smoothly with a great sense of fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#38 of 588 in Hanoi
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#34 of 588 in Hanoi
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 588 in Hanoi
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing