We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free Internet + Expensive Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #86 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The rooms were clean and there was a nice pool (two city blocks away within the hotel) but this is just not a good value--they make you pay for internet and room service at New York prices. IN fact, everything is New York prices.When I went down to receptionist to ask for a water, they charged me $2.50 for a bottle and there was no store within two blocks of the hotel. I would suggest staying in the city of Hanoi rather than at the Sheraton which is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justthetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear "Justthetrip",
We apologize for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. We could have better managed in offering water to you. We will make amends so as to better improve. Thank you for your valuable comments.
Should your future travels bring you back to Hanoi again, we will be delighted to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi hotel.
Thank you
Sashikumar (Mr.)
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for the middle leg of our honeymoon over Christmas and New Years.

I have to say that this is one of the worst Starwood hotels in which I have ever stayed. I had 170ish nights last year in Starwood and as a result am Platinum with an ambassador (the highest attainable status; there is one other that can only be granted to you and cannot be earned which is typically reserved for CEOs and the like). My ambassador informed the hotel ahead of time that it was our honeymoon and that we would be staying there. Upon checking in, we were not upgraded and weren't even told 'happy honeymoon.' When I mentioned it, I got an obligatory 'happy honeymoon' and nothing else. I asked about being upgraded (which I shouldn't have to ask. I know the way upgrades work and they should have done this ahead of time, even if it wasn't my honeymoon) and was told they had nothing until the next night, but it was a smoking room. Even though neither my wife nor I smoke we took the room. When I complained to my ambassador, they (meaning the Ambassador Service so by extension, corporate Starwood) told them to send us a cake and a handwritten note both to apologize and for our honeymoon. We received nothing.

The rooms were older but generally acceptable. The breakfast was passable but nothing exceptional. The staff seemed rather indifferent to the guests and not overly interested in our presence, let alone being helpful. Even requesting help getting a SIM card resulted in telling us to go up the street, turn right, and look for the store that sells SIMs. That was it. No store names, type of store, general distance, nothing. The staff in the club lounge was more attentive and smiled more than the regular staff.

The hotel is on West Lake, a good distance from the Old Quarter and certainly not walkable. There are some restaurants nearby that you can walk to, but not too much. There are no real sights close to the hotel so you'll have to go out for everything.

If going to Hanoi, stay elsewhere, like the Sofitel Metropole. We used points to stay at the Sheraton and knowing what I know now, I would have gladly paid $300 a night to have stayed there. That's a tough thing to say for someone like me who only stayed in two non-Starwood hotels last year out of 57 stays because I had no choice.

You get one honeymoon, just one. I assumed that because of my status we would have been taken care of here and had a great experience. The exact opposite happened. If they treated someone who they're supposed to look after and go above and beyond for so abysmally, how will they treat the average customer? I guarantee the Metropole would have treated us significantly better simply for the fact that it was our honeymoon, regardless of whether I stay at Sofitels regularly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanc724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear "seanc724",

Firstly, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience when you encountered during your stay with us. Being a top notch hotel in Hanoi the service was lackluster and below par standards. I have personally looked into the matter and enforced that adequate service training will be done so as to bring up the level of service to that of a Sheraton standard.

Once again I would like to sincerely apologize. We treasure your business to the Sheraton Hanoi. It is through your valuable feedback that we can correct ourselves so as to continuously excel in our service standards. Please do not judge us on this one occasion. I hope your future travels bring you back again and I will be more than happy to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi. Please contact me. Sashi.kumar@sheraton.com, and I will like to meet up with you personally. I look forward to seeing you back again in the Sheraton Hanoi hotel.

Thank you and warm regards,

Sashikumar (Mr.)
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The serene and peaceful location of the hotel definitely works for me. The rooms were great and room service was good. They could do some upgrading of the menu as I have stayed in both the Sheraton Hanoi and Sheraton Saigon and there room service menu is pretty similar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YES_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear "YES_abroad",

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is through your feedback that we can continuously improve.
We look forward to your future visit to the Sheraton Hanoi Hotel.
Thank you and warm regards,
Sashikumar
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for 2weeks in this hotel and its really cozy. Staff is genuine in giving service.

Favorite part of the hotel is the lounge in 17th floor. They served quality food and they have exceptional staff. Special mentioned to Hang Bi and Linh. They made my stay! Cam on! :) (thank you!)

Housekeeping they do a great job! Gym facilities and staff is Very Good! Hemisphere Restaurant... we love the Hot pot!

In general it was excellent. More power to all of you and looking forward on my next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ART0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear "ART0513",
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staffs in the hotel do their upmost best to give guest a warm and comfortable stay. Your comments are valuable to us so as to show the staff their hard work do not go in vain.
Should your future travels bring you back to Hanoi again, we will be delighted to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi hotel.
Thank you.
Sashikumar (Mr.)
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We checked into the Sheraton on 3 Jan 2014 and were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The lobby was spacious, well decorated and there were two ladies playing some sweet music on the Vietnamese instruments.
The rooms were well-equipped, spacious and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the garden as well as the West Lake. The ambient environment and greenery were soothing to tired travelers.
Wi-fi was active everywhere in the hotel and that made communication very convenient.
We loved the breakfast spread. There was a wide variety of eastern and western food, and not forgetting the tasty Vietnamese delicacies.
We loved the hotel and will sure be back again. And if I wish to be fussy there were just a few small complaints. There were no bath-mats in the bathrooms and that might be dangerous to old folks as the bathtubs were slippery. In room 706, the shower area was water logged and it made showering rather unpleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SsMm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear "SsMm M",

Thank you for your staying with the Sheraton Hanoi. We appreciate your comments on the room and will definitely look forward to improve on it. On the whole, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Thank you

Sashikumar (Mr.)
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We checked in on Dec 22nd and were greeted by Hotel assistant manager. We were celebrating our anniversary and were upgraded to a suite with preplaced champange, orchids and fruit arrangement. The SPG recognition was outstanding as was the entire staff. We took in both a body massage and foot massage which were top notch. We ate twice in the Chimes Tapas bar which was cool. Even though it was quiet, we preferred the atmosphere over the club lounge. We had Christmas dinner at Hemispheres Steak house. They try to imitate a Ruth Chris style with steak and side dishes. I would say the 'Steak' piece of this equation needs improvement. All in all, we enjoyed our stay emmensly and are planning another trip for 2014. We will for sure stay in Sheraton as a launch point for our trip to Sapa. Well done SPG!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear "John J",

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us here in Sheraton are passionate to providing our guests a warm and comforting feeling. We have noted down on your comment in Hemisphere restaurant and will move forward to improve.
We look forward to your next trip back to Sheraton Hanoi.

Thank you.

Sashikumar (Mr.)
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Sheraton Hanoi Hotel is a great 5 Star Experience overlooking West Lake. From the time you walk through the entrance and experience the smile of the staff and the ambience of the foyer area. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The Restaurant staff make you feel very welcome, with excellent service and one great buffet. Enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tetsish, Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear "Graham F",

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Sheraton Hanoi. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to feel the Sheraton experience.
Should your future travels bring you back to Hanoi again, we will be delighted to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi hotel. If you are travelling around to other countries, please choose to stay in a Starwood property for a great quality experience!

Thank you

Sashikumar (Mr.)
Executive Assistant Manager
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 596 in Hanoi
1,796 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 596 in Hanoi
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
2.7 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 596 in Hanoi
1,862 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $93 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing