We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #86 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Average hotel and rooms, but VERY POOR housekeeping! Breakfast was good, rooms were ok, but our rooms were not cleaned and tidied properly each day, we had to call housekeeping every day when we came back! Very annoying after a busy day sightseeing, good location but a long journey into central areas. Beds not so comfortable as I would expect from this chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llbcjmsll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear “bcjms”,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Sheraton Hanoi hotel. I was saddened to read your comment about the housekeeping, we will need to keep working to improve. Great to read that you liked the breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day. The hotel is located next to the West lake and a 10 – 15 minute taxi ride into the city. I was a little surprised with your comments about the beds. Depending on how firm you like the mattress, we can firm the bed up a little. Please feel free to contact me at paul.tsuji@sheraton.com if you are travelling to Hanoi again so that we can have an opportunity to make it up to you.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    557
    188
    41
    19
See reviews for
226
451
96
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Howden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved it. Good efficient staff. Fantastic breakfasts. Great views from our excellent room.
Good location to walk out from and get the feel of Vietnamese streets with a local beer without the rush and commotion of the old quarter (but be careful of the hurrying traffic). The pool area was great as well.
Look at a map first, however we considered it a nice walk across the causeway to visit the area and buildings commemorating Ho Chi Minh.

Room Tip: Consider a room upgrade that allows you to use the club lounge with its benefits of complimentary dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear “Graham T”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Sheraton Hanoi hotel! Your comments are much appreciated and its fantastic to read that we could live up to your expectations. The staff are what makes a hotel special and I am glad to read we got everything right. The breakfasts are always something we are working on to ensure a good variety to choose from. The rooms have great views of the surrounding lake and the pool is a little oasis away from the traffic of Hanoi.

We look forward to looking after you on your next visit to Hanoi.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrniong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife & I spent 3 nights at the Sheraton, the hotel itself we found to be a bit austere, the majority of the staff were very friendly, as we found most Vietnamese to be, but the desk was not very helpful & the directions they gave were innacurate. The taxi we used, directed by Sheraton staff gave us the runaround, until I told him to go back to the Sheraton. I must stress that with the exception of the desk, all other staff were a credit to the hotel. We were told that we had no internet unless we upgraded, this was wrong. The location was not ideal for us also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBNBRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear “GBNBRON”,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Hanoi. I am never happy to read bad reviews and have been looking into your review about the “desk”. Thank you for your comments about the rest of the staff members in the hotel. The hotel does have internet packages available also offers complimentary internet at the link@sheraton and in the public areas, I am sorry if this was not communicated properly. The hotel is located not in the old quarter but at the more relaxed West lake area but is only a 10 – 15 minute taxi ride away from the city centre. if you have the time, please feel free to contact me so that I can look into the issues you had during your stay paul.tsuji@sheraton.com

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Hanoi and hope that we will have the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although this hotel is dated looking, it's probably one of the better known hotels in the area.

The reception is grand and clean, with a good welcome and efficient front of house staff.

The rooms are of a good size with a large bathroom, this includes a separate shower and bath, I stayed in a basic room with a great view of the lake.

The tv has a good selection of channels, there is a charge for the Internet. The AC works well.

I found the food average and outrageously expensive, I'd defiantly say eat out at many of the nearby restaurants, I'd think people eating in the hotel are there for a special treat, I just could not see how they justified the prices, although admittedly it was busy?

The pool was lovely, although it was missing a nice pool bar, it looks like there use to be one, but it was closed?

The staff here made the stay much more pleasant, based on that o would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBSDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear “GBSDO”,

Thank you for your kind words. The hotel team take a lot of time and effort to maintain and clean the hotel. Our staff try hard to ensure that all guests are well looked after. The room size is quite good at 37 square metres (398 sq. ft.) with separate bath, shower and great views of the surrounding lake.

I am sorry to read your comment about the food quality, I had a chat with the culinary team and this is something we are continuously working on. The cost of the food depends on what is ordered, the hotel has the highest standards and many items are imported from overseas pushing prices up. We are also one of the few establishments in all of Hanoi that have the globally recognized HACCP certificate for food safety. There are also many good restaurants close by the hotel for you to try. The pool is an oasis in Hanoi with the garden giving you a relaxed feeling from the hustle and bustle.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Sheraton Hanoi on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Check in was easy and the option to upgrade to the club lounge was available, which we decided to take. The room was ok, clean and quiet. The morning breakfast was perfect. Plenty of options available and everything fresh. All the staff was helpful and friendly. The late night bar downstairs was fun, and had some great live music when we were there. The gym and the pool are in need of a refurbishing, but I would put them second after the rooms. When I return to Hanoi, the only reason I would not stay here would be the location. I would prefer to be somewhere closer to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marketmiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear “Marketmiami1”,

Thank you for writing a review about the Sheraton Hanoi hotel. Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the room and the “perfect” morning breakfast. Your comments about the Chime bar are much appreciated, we recently renovated the bar, but have now replaced the live music with a DJ. The hotel is located at the West lake, 10 – 15 minutes away from the city centre and away from the honking and noise of the city.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

There is nothing to complain about this hotel BUT it is missing the 'Sheraton' magic. Decor is tired, staff are polite but seem to lack enthusiasm. The outside badly needs repainting. They were cleaning this whilst we were there and it was obvious that all the paint was gone in places yet apparently there are no plans to re-paint. The pool area was attractive but in need of modernising. We ordered steak fries round the pool one day. The waiter brought them to us-with no forks or serviettes! Not what I think of as Sheraton' standard. It was quite nice to be out of the hustle of the city centre and there was a courtesy bus a few times a day to take you into there if you wish. The shuttle bus driver was exceptionally polite and helpful. He really made an effort to inform us about the historical sights available to visit and when they would be open etc. Unfortunately this Sheraton does not inspire the same feelings of wanting to return as others we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear “Celia C”,

Thank you for your comments about the Sheraton Hanoi. I am sorry to read your comments about the hotel. The hotel housekeeping and engineering team work hard to ensure that the hotel is well maintained and clean. Thank you for pointing out the short coming of the pool service staff, this is obviously something we will need to work on. The hotel is located outside of the hustle and bustle of the city centre and the hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle bus that departs the hotel 3 times a day. The drivers are very knowledgeable about Hanoi and are more than willing to assist.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit to Hanoi paul.tsuji@sheraton.com

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Sheraton Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Its a Sheraton hotel but it doesn't live up to the Sheraton hotel standard. The hotel is old and interior makes you feel going 15 years back when it had its glorious days. However, considered its a Sheraton in SEA country, it is quite OK to go there for business trip. The location is not central and you have to take a cab to go to the city center. Walking distance to supermarket and restaurants nearby. The room is clean. The staff is helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear “Michael N”,

I am sorry to read that we could not live up to your expectations. It’s great to read your comments about the cleanliness of the room and the staff helpfulness. The hotel is not located in the city centre but only a short 10 to 15 minute away. The hotel is located next to the serene West lake away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel does have a few dining options around the hotel and a supermarket if you forget some items during your stay.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hanoi on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,770 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 591 in Hanoi
1,825 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 591 in Hanoi
2,189 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Gather in the Link at Sheraton, a communal, interactive space that keeps you connected to what matters most. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, all with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing