We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Safe" hotel for first time visitor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #83 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Safe" hotel for first time visitor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

As a first time visitor to Hanoi, I chose to stay in a brand name hotel than trying out other local hotels. The location is good and the view of the lake around is spectacular. It has everything that meet the Sheraton standards except it is bit dated.

The mushy smell linger even at the lobby the moment you step in. The breakfast spread is well balanced for a standard brand hotel. The fitness room is well equipped. The individual TVs connected to each threadmill need to be serviced though. When you change channel, all the surrounding TVs changed channel too - irritating the runner next to you.

Overall a " safe" hotel for a first to visitor.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TaiLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear “TaiLim”,
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor about the Sheraton Hanoi hotel. Your title is correct, the hotel is a very safe hotel. The hotel has had many foreign dignitaries stay at the Sheraton as it is convenient to not only the city centre but also the airport and industrial areas. The view is great from the hotel and gives you a feel of what Hanoi is like and the surrounding area is seen as quite relaxing and calm compared to the hustle and bustle of down town. The breakfast experience is very important to us and we do try hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their meal. The Sheraton fitness is as you have pointed out is well equipped for those keen or the pool gives you the option to unwind.

Again, thank you for your review of the Sheraton Hanoi and hope that we can look after you in on your future visits.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    522
    178
    37
    19
See reviews for
210
421
93
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel does the big things right—spacious rooms, delicious food (although expensive), professional staff at the front desk. But it was the little things that were frustrating. For example, my reservation included free internet but when I tried to connect in my room I was asked to select a payment option. Then when I selected one (assuming that I could have the charge removed from the bill upon checkout), I was asked to give my room number to get free internet, forming an endless loop in the system. The internet page recommended calling guest services/front desk if there were problems. But when I called guest services, no one answered. It was 8:30pm and I tried repeatedly until about 10:00 when I just gave up.

The next morning I carried my laptop down to the front desk; one of the staff members tinkered a bit and got me connected to wifi. I carried the laptop to a nearby chair and started to read my email, only to lose the connection. This happened several times and finally I just gave up again.

Another example of a little item that was frustrating: The swimming pool has relatively short hours, so it was not possible to have a swim after dinner or before breakfast in the morning. For tourists the timing might be fine but for business travelers the hours were inconvenient.

People pay American prices rather than going to a Vietnamese hotel because they want international level service. I was disappointed that the Sheraton did not meet my expectations. On my next trip to Hanoi I will choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear “Feistygal”,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Hanoi. I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Thank you for your kind remarks about the spacious rooms, delicious food and professional staff at the front desk.

I do have to admit I am aware of the internet connection procedure and we are currently working on a solution for this. I am sorry to read that guest services did not pick up your call and I have no excuses, we will have to do better. The internet connectivity is also another challenge that the hotel faces, unlike developed countries, we do have internet outages and I am sorry that this had to happen to you.

The pool is open Monday to Fridays from 6am to 10 pm and on weekends from 7am to 9pm. I apologize if there has been some confusion about the opening hours.

We do appreciate your feedback as this gives us an opportunity to improve. I do hope that you did enjoy the rest of your trip to Vietnam and hope that we will have the opportunity of seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I like this Sheraton a lot. Quite, clean and excellent breakfast buffet. You need to take a taxi to get to down town. Nice spa and fittness. Big rooms - I think I had one of the standard rooms.From airport by taxi it is about 30-45 minutes depending on traffic.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear “PMKS”,

Thank you for writing a review about the Sheraton Hanoi. The housekeeping team were very happy to read your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. As you can imagine, it can be a challenge to keep things clean in Hanoi. Your comments about the breakfast are also very much appreciated, we are always trying to ensure that everyone enjoys breakfast as I believe that it is one of the most important meals of the day. The hotel guest rooms are 37 square metres and are quite spacious in size with a good view of the lake.

I hope that you enjoyed your travels in Vietnam and when you come back, I hope that we have the opportunity of seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Sheraton in Hanoi is near West Lake. He staff were very helpful. Rooms were excellent. It's the Sheraton standards I guess. There are 4 complementary water bottles, two in the room and two in the bathroom. We got a room with the West Lake view. There is a tennis court, fitness centre and a nice pool.

However, food options outside the hotel is limited. Old quarter has quality meal for cheep prices. Here we finally found an Indian shop called Foodshop 45 around 2 km away. That was good.

Taxi (CP taxi) to Noi Bai Airport is a fixed price of 370 Vietnam Dungs from Sheraton hotel. The taxi is parked right outside.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear “Umanad”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Shertaon Hanoi. Your kind words are much appreciated. It’s great to read that the staff were very helpful and the rooms were excellent. The views of the lake are quite impressive and gives you an idea of how the city has evolved around the lakes. The taxi ride into the old quarter takes approx. 10 – 15 minutes and costs roughly $5. We do have a nice garden pool to help you cool down after a day of walking around the old quarter. If you are not tired from the tourist spots as you have pointed out, we do have a fitness centre and tennis court for a little more exercise. There are a few options around the hotel for food and our concierge will be more than willing to assist you.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the Sheraton Hanoi and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burdwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Good stay, excellent food, very good staff. Food in restaurant is superb in taste, though little pricey. Well in Hanoi good restaurants are always a bit pricey for travellers. Overall experience is very good. Location is not very near to airport, keep that in mind. Some Front office staff are not very easy in english, but that is manageable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csubhamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear “csubhamay”,

Thank you for your kind words! All of our staff were very happy to read your review and how you thought that they were excellent. Our food and beverage team are over the moon that you enjoyed the food and how it was tasty. The hotel is not in the city centre but is located on the West Lake and there are quite a few places to go out and have a good meal or relax and unwind.

Again, thank you for your kind words and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a typical Sheraton Hotel, clean and efficient with friendly staff. But with only 2 restaurants onsite. Location is not near city centre and hotel seemed isolated but pleasantly situated next to a lake.

Dinner buffet was USD55 (but house guests get a 25% discount). Is that expensive? Well, it depends on what you compare it with. Nothing in Hanoi which caters to foreigners is cheap. Walk into any air-conditioned restuarant in Hoan Kiem Lake and one drink with one main course easily sets you back USD15 to USD25. The USD55 dinner buffet comes with free flow of soft drinks and beer, foi gras, fresh oysters, wide array of fresh seafood, other regular buffet food AND each diner gets 1/2 a cheese baked lobster - all for like USD40+ after house guest discount. So, go figure. Just don't order something like freshly squeezed orange juice - it's way over priced.

The hotel operates a regular shuttle to the tourist attractions. If you decide to take the taxi from the hotel - one of those waiting at the hotel doorstep - be prepared to pay a premium. Trip to Hoan Kiem Lake costs 80,000 dongs and trip to airport costs more than 400,000 dongs.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear “Friendship88”,

Thank you for posting a review about the Sheraton Hanoi. Housekeeping especially appreciated your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. If you have traveled around Hanoi, can you see a lot of dirt and dust and they work hard to maintain high standards. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, but is still only a 10 – 15 minute taxi ride away from the old quarter and costs approximately U$5. On your return trip back to the hotel, there are also quite a few “fake” taxi’s so it is best to ask a shop to call for you if you are unsure. The hotel has great views of the lake and gives you a feeling of what Hanoi life truly is with people fishing from the edge of the water.

As you have pointed out the hotel does only have two restaurants, however our lobby lounge does serve a range of snacks and the hotel Chime bar also serves a good range of tapas and some of the best thin crust pizzas in town. The buffet dinner at Oven D’or restaurant has quite a large selection of food to choose from. We are always looking at ways to improve the menu and to keep our regular guests happy. We are also one of the few places in Vietnam and the first hotel in Hanoi to receive the HACCP certification for food safety. HACCP is a globally recognized standard for food hygiene and as you can imagine can be quite difficult to get. At the moment, I believe that we are one of only two hotels in Hanoi to have the HACCP food safety hygiene certification.

It’s great to read that you took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service. The shuttle runs three times a day at 9 am, 1 pm and 6pm and the last stop is to drop passengers off near the water puppet show.

Again, thank you for posting this review and hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hanoi.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

From here I moved to The Sheraton Hotel. Now I don’t usually splash out on accommodation, but after 10 days in Vietnam already, living out of a backpack full of dirty clothes, I really just wanted a nice big bed, in a big room to relax. The Sheraton was perfect for this.

Although it’s located about a 10 minute taxi ride away from the centre of the Old Town (downside) but it’s absolute luxury. My room and bed were both massive, and the ensuite was pimped out with fluffy bath robes, slippers and a spa bath. It’s also one of the only hotels in Hanoi with a swimming pool (surprisingly, for such a hot city)– so I made good use of it!

Overall it was exactly what I had expected – a typical western-style 4 star hotel, very nice – but also very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passport_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear “Passport_Liz”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Sheraton Hanoi hotel. I hope you enjoyed your experience traveling in Vietnam. I completely agree with you about traveling out of a backpack. After a long trip it is great to splash out and sleep in a comfortable bed. The Sheraton Hanoi hotel rooms all have Sweet Sleeper beds which really help you unwind and relax. The rooms are a good size with the minimum room size 37 square metres. The hotel is only located about 10 – 15 minutes away from the old quarter slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

The hotel pool is outdoors and is situated in a picturesque garden next to the fitness centre. In Summer it does get hot in Hanoi so it’s good to relax by the pool. We do get a lot of guests appreciating a place to relax after a long day of sight seeing.

I hope you enjoyed your travels in Vietnam and your stay at the Sheraton Hanoi. If you travels bring you back to Vietnam, we hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#77 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#51 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Gather in the Link at Sheraton, a communal, interactive space that keeps you connected to what matters most. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, all with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing