We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Sheraton.com
$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Expedia.com$80
Priceline$81
Trip.com$82
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,115)
Filter reviews
2,115 results
Traveler rating
1,138
687
213
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,138
687
213
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west lake the club lounge old quarter platinum member lake view breakfast buffet executive floor an upgrade fitness center business trip hotel is located pho halong bay the hustle and bustle tennis nguyen concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,332 - 1,337 of 2,115 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sheraton Hanoi was our first stop in Vietnam, we stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. However, the 3-star ratings was due to the fact that they are a reputable chain hotel and has failed on some basic details of services during our stay.

Location: We like the location as it is a bit further out from busy downtown - next to the lake with serene view; yet it only takes 10-15 min cab ride if you ever want to go anywhere. So it is good

Room: Clean, decent size, pretty much up to standard

Service:
- Front office staff are very nice, friendly, and knowledgeable. They also offered us an upgrade package of $50 for free breakfast for 2 + Wi-Fi and use of Executive Floor. It is definitely worth the money - because if we had to spent ourselves it will be way more. We appreciated that they informed us about this option! Great value!
- BUT, the Executive Floor Service and Staff - NEEDS improvement. Although they are nice and friendly, their professionalism and ability to provide guests information needs to be improved. We asked the staff @ the executive floor desk (instead of going to concierge because we can use executive floor service) - for recommendation of places to go and restaurants. We wanted to go to a famous French Restaurant La Badine and would like to make a reservation. They suggested us to go to the Monument/Museum and to dinner afterwards which they will call and make a reservation for us. At that time, no one at the restaurant answered the call, but the staff claimed that they are on break. Trusting their suggestion, we went to the Hanoi Monument ( i didn't recall full name) - but it was closed and can't get in!!! - then we wandered around - wait to go for dinner -- went to the restaurant - it was CLOSED! again as they don't open 7 days a week!! To us, this
is unacceptable - given that their primary role is to provide advice to guests on places to eat or visit - you should at least have basic information about when/which day they are closed or open - not just saying it and have we found out that it was closed. Not impressed for the 1st day.

Secondly, they told us to try spa outside the hotel as it is good and cheaper - which we did -- but it was a nightmare. That spa was horrible, dirty and super expensive! We used hotel spa the next day - and it was much better @ cheaper price. So i think the management should seriously make sure that their staff are knowledgeable and able to give informed/good information. Especially this is on exec floor - which you are going to expect it is going to be better than the lobby. We love the front staff @ the Lobby btw, - so we never go back to exec floor again

Amenities/Others:
- Breakfast is good - lots of variety and options to choose from - Love it
- Spa - OK ; but the facilities was in the gym - and you have to walk through the gym bathroom to the spa room - kinda weird and doesn't look that good. It is not like a typical 4-5 star spa.
- Exec floor - Great value - good view and they provide free drinks / snack for happy hour :) :) Yumm!
- Room service - I Like!

Overall, i think it is a good value for money hotel, nice location, friendly staff, but they should pay more attention to their service and training their staff to give accurate and good suggestions to guests. Wrong information or suggest to go to dinner to restaurant that is closed on that day is only worsen your guest experience.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorCal1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear ““NorCal1929”,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. All comments are much valued and appreciated. The hotel is located on the picturesque West Lake and is one of the closer hotels to the airport. Thank you for your comments about the location of the hotel next to the lake with serene views and the room cleanliness.

It’s good to read that you enjoyed the Sheraton Club lounge and the benefits of the lounge and the great view looking over the lake, however sorry about the staff and the poor information provided to you during your stay. This is not the standards that we want to maintain at the hotel.

The hotel does have 3 spa rooms located outside that were completed in the middle of 2012. These rooms are nice so I can only assume that these rooms were occupied and therefore the old spa rooms were used. I apologize if this was not up to your expectations.

Our culinary team were happy that you enjoyed the breakfast, as it is the most important meal of the day. Room service can be a challenge to make sure that we can deliver the food hot and tasty, so I am glad to hear that we met your expectations on this. We also changed the Room Service menu late last year and increased the variety of dishes.

Thank you again for taking the time to share these comments. I hope that we may welcome you again to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Premium Deluxe room on 15th floor, it was extremely beautiful once we could see the whole city from our room. The room was decorated with a King size bed, great & modern Jacuzzi Bathroom accompanying with telephone system. They had a private manager on VIP floor, so if we had any problem, they meet immediately in few minutes and of course all our request, the manager met and solved it smoothly and quickly. Otherwise, the tour operator would recommend us an excellent excursion for Sapa at Victoria Resort and Halong Bay by Aclass Opera Cruise. Stayed at this hotel that not located in center of Hanoi Old's quarter but it was more comfortable once not many high buildings covering around hotel, so enjoy an excellent view on a high floor at Hotel was quite smart and great!!! One more, they had Chinese resraurant on the second floor, Chinese food was brilliant

Room tip: Stayed at the room on a high floor, so you could get excellent view of Westlake and attractions nearby
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Sheraton Hanoi. Check-in was good. Our room was ready despite it being only 10am.

Our room was on the 8th floor with the view of the lake. It was a cosy room with no obvious faults and very clean. Fair enough, the design wasn't ultra modern nor chic. But it has its charm. Nice comfortable large bed and pillows. Bath was big enough for our daily hot bath to reduce the aches and pains from all day walking.

We only had breakfast. At USD26 per head it was not bad. Really nice croissant.

We spent the last part of every evening at the Lobby since that was the only area with free wifi. There were around 7 PCs at Link@Sheraton and you can print up to 5 pages free of charge.

Locationwise, it was nice. Less than 10 minutes from the Old Quarter, you could either take the hotel shuttle, the ever ready taxi, or jump on the bus! Having read that Hanoi is notorious for taxi scams we tried minimizing cab rides to the bare essentials. We only took it twice back to the hotel later in the evenings. And again, only take the CP Cab or Hanoi Cab. Both our cab rides were fine. Otherwise we took the bus. The bus stop was less than 5 minutes away at 33 Au Co - turning right after the hotel driveway. I think we took buses almost 10 times. It was never crowded and we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes. The flat rate was 5000 Dong. We had the Google Map print-outs and the conductors were always helpful in letting us know when to get down.

The hotel has a nice garden. Tay Ho is also a really nice area. Away from the madness and noise of the Hanoi's Old Quarter. Yet, as mentioned, not more than 10 minutes away. We walked along the lake to across the hotel and there were many cafes and nice serviced apartments. St Honore was good for pastries. If only we had more time it would be good just to have dinner or chill in this area. There were men fishing... But odd... No bait attached to the hook... Hmmm... Probably why they weren't catching anything... :)))

Room tip: High floor lake view.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meowwww1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear “MelKualaLumpur”

Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review. It’s good to hear that we were able to have a room ready for you at 10am. It sounds like you stayed in the renovation mock up room. This time of year in Hanoi it gets a little bit cold, so good to have a bath to not only reduce the aches and pain from sightseeing, but also to warm the body up. Thank you for your comments about the croissants, Vietnam does has some good chefs and the hotels bakery and pastry team are some of the best. Our pastry team was very happy to hear your comments.

The hotel does have free wifi in the lobby and the link@sheraton. The link at Sheraton has 7 workstations and an area for you to sit down with your laptop or other portable device to work or relax on the internet. We hotel also has “printme” installed, so if you are on a mobile device, you can still print out that document from your smart phone or tablet computer.

The location is about 10 – 15 minutes by taxi to the old quarter and costs approx. U$5. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service that departs the hotel 3 times a day. Congratulations on catching a bus in Hanoi !!! this is truly a great achievement and I would call you a person that really wants to know the people. As you have pointed out, there are some scams when taking taxi’s, from the hotel the taxi’s are fine and generally if you are outside of the hotel, you can get a shop to call you a reputable taxi.

The hotel is in a nice location and the garden gives the hotel that little extra bit of green that can be lacking in Winter. The hotel is situated around the West Lake and there are a few shops and dining options around the hotel. The fishing in the lake is always interesting to view. I have actually seen them catch things in the lake, but they were using bait.

Thank you for your warm words regarding your stay at Sheraton Hanoi. It was our pleasure to welcome you – and I do hope that you will return to Hanoi in the future.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last year before taking an overnight trip to Halong Bay. The staff were very helpful in that they stored our luggage for us until we returned for a further one night. We booked this hotel as it was away from the city centre and was quite pleased with its location and the wonderful views of the West Lake from our window. We often caught the shuttle bus into the city and caught a taxi home, which only cost a few AUD$. The taxi drivers do try to charge you more but the concierge was always there to advise us. Our package included a buffet breakfast, which was of a very good standard and with plenty of choices. Wifi was also included in our package, and worked really well in the room. All in all, we were happy with the accommodation, the bed was comfy and the room very clean. No complaints here !

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LeeHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear “LeeHat”

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Hanoi and posting your comments on trip advisor. I must agree with your comment about our location, the hotel is located away from the city centre and right next to the West Lake. Kudos to you for using the free shuttle service into the Old Quarter, I think it is a great service in the hotel. There are sometimes issues with taxi’s from the city trying to charge more, so it’s great to read that our concierge team were able to help. The concierge team also get many requests to store luggage while they go to Halong Bay and we are more than willing to assist.

The breakfast at the hotel does have plenty of choice and I am glad that you liked it. The beds are Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and are a brand standard and they are actually available for sale at the Sheraton store on the Sheraton website.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I really wanted to like this property - it is in a beautiful, quiet part of Hanoi on the lake away from the hustle and bustle. It has the infrastructure of a 5 star hotel with impressively landscaped grounds, a gorgeous lobby, a lounge for food/drinks and a stellar gym. However, the service here was disappointing on several key levels:

1) Very poorly staffed property. We pulled into the hotel in the taxi and there was nobody to help with our luggage or greet us. This is almost unheard of in Asia at top properties.

2) Staff struggled mightily with English. Repeatedly had issues understanding the staff or going beyond real basic language. A Sheraton should be able to find workers especially on the front lines who are much more capable.

3) Building on #2, the concierge was the biggest disappointment of the trip and his English was very subpar. We arrived on a Sunday and asked how we could plan our 2 days in Hanoi. We also asked for a lunch recommendation, how much it would cost in a taxi to head into the city, and where we could exchange our money. He gave us directions to a restaurant for lunch - we walked over and it was closed. We then headed in a taxi and realized we could bargain to half of what the concierge recommended. Finally the concierge suggested going to a bank to exchange money - but they were all closed b/c of Sunday! Fortunately we read elsewhere that jewelry shops give the best rates and were able to get the exchanges done there. The worst part of the concierge was that he didn't know that all museums are closed on Mondays! If he had told us on Sunday we would have done our visits then. We found out the hard way and when we followed up he was unaware this was the situation, despite it being printed clearly on a list he belatedly showed us of all museums.

4) We felt nickel and dimed - as an SPG Platinum guest I used Suite Night awards to upgrade from twin beds to a suite, Unfortunately the hotel does not offer suites with king beds so I figured they would just provide a rollaway since my original booking was for twin beds. However, they insisted on charging us $30/night for the rollaway. I've never heard of a top property doing this - especially if they don't have twin beds in suites. This is where English was a barrier - I tried to explain how illogical it was to get penalized $30/night for using an upgrade award but I got nowhere.

5) The lounge was nice but had no snacks during the daytime. Most top properties in the lounges have some finger food or light snacks during the day. This property had absolutely nothing and we asked repeatedly, although once without asking we got some small snacks with our coffee so at best the service was very inconsistent.

6) Housekeeping was reckless about safety. Housekeeping came to service our room once we left - I forgot my jacket in the room and ran back up - to my horror they had our room door propped completely open for anyone to walk in. I rang the doorbell to the room so I wouldn't startle the housekeeper but she was apparently in the bathroom and couldn't hear me. So I just walked in and took my jacket and walked out without her knowing. Anyone else could have done this. Unacceptable.

I've read how people were very impressed with the breakfast - I found it to be fine (tip: if you have a free breakfast benefit eat on the ground floor instead of lounge). However even the breakfast was missing key items you usually see in Asia such as baked beans, a more expansive selection of fruits, and bottled water. This fit in with the theme of the property cutting corners and service wherever possible.

Overall, it was a very disappointing experience, especially getting charged for the bed (i.e. penalized for my upgrade) and the bad advice from the concierge. Next time I will explore more suitable options in Hanoi than the Sheraton - and this is from someone who spends 100+ nights a year in Starwood properties.

Room tip: Be careful about the $30/bed/night charge if you upgrade from twin beds to a suite.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_in_Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear “Neil_in_Morristown”,

Thank you for spending the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We are sorry that we could not live up to your expectations on your visit to the hotel. The staff do take pride in their work and your comments show that we still need to improve.

For the taxi’s in Hanoi, all of the reputable taxi’s are metered and therefore there is no need to bargain. The hotel does have money exchange facilities and I apologize if the concierge suggested a bank on a Sunday. I personally would not change money at a Jewelry store, as I cannot be 100% sure of the transaction, but I am happy to hear that your money exchange at the jewelry store was ok. The hotel also has ATM machines in the hotel where you can take out Vietnamese Dong and therefore reduce the need to travel with cash.

All of the hotel Suite rooms have 1 King size bed and if more than 2 people were staying in the room, another bed would be required and there is a cost associated with the bed. I apologize if this was not explained to you at the time of reservation. I did however go and check this through the website and there is a price difference when 2 or 3 people are entered in. If you have the time, could you please send me an e-mail and I will certainly look into this.

The safety and security of our guests is very important to us. The hotel does have cctv cameras throughout the hotel to help protect our guests belongings, however I understand your point and will review this issue with housekeeping and security.

There are two breakfast options in the hotel for club lounge guests. The first option is to eat at the club floor. The club floor serves more of a continental style of breakfast with limited hot items. The other option is to eat at Oven D’or restaurant which is a full buffet spread. The hotel does have baked beans, however this is served on a rotation basis and currently served every third day. Every morning we also serve six kinds of fresh sliced fruit and two baskets with whole fruit on the buffet and numerous other selections of hot and cold dishes.

In the event that your travel schedule every brings you back to Hanoi, I would be delighted if you would contact me personally – paul.tsuji@sheraton.com. My team and I would greatly value the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Thank you again for your candor.

Warm regards

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews