We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #82 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We are currently staying at the Sheraton in Hanoi. From the minute we walked through the doors the service and friendly staff are second to none. We opted for a club room as we normally do in the larger hotel chains as they are always a nicer experience and good value. Our room is spacious, comfortable and very clean, with a very comfortable bed and very quiet with great views.
The breakfast in the main dining room is excellent with many choices and all food is very fresh and tasty. The club lounge is comfortable, very cleanand relaxing with excellent views over the, lake, city and river. The staff in the club lounge are wonderful and cannot do enough for us
I would highly recommend this hotel if you dont mind being away from the frenetic bustle of the main centre of Hanoi, but only a 10 minute taxi rideto most points of interest.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear “Wenaus”,

You are very kind! Thank you for your warm words and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. It is kind of you to highlight our service and friendly staff. I concur that the club rooms are good value with all of the additional benefits such as evening cocktails, access to the club lounge, free internet and much more. The housekeeping team were thrilled with your comments about the rooms cleanliness. They are the backbone of the hotel and keep everything clean, (not always an easy job).

Thank you for your comments about the comfort of the bed. The bed is a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper, made especially for Sheraton hotels as we realized that guests spend most of their time in the room on the bed and having a comfortable bed was important to a guests stay. Your comments about the breakfast shows that we did a good job in this area and the chefs were very happy to read your comments.

Once again, thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the
Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    522
    178
    37
    19
See reviews for
211
421
93
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed for 6 days as a couple on our first visit to Hanoi. The hotel itself was fine. However as others have noted it is a taxi ride to go anywhere of interest.

When we stayed the internet was free, I am not sure whether this was because we stayed in a club room?

Breakfast in the Oven D'Or on the ground floor was OK. However, the coffee was awful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonbvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear “jonbvn”,

Thank you for your feedback through tripadvisor. As you have mentioned the hotel is not located in the city centre, but in the Tay Ho district of Hanoi. As part of the club lounge benefits, not only do you get evening cocktails, butler service, access to club lounge and a myriad of other benefits, but also free internet access.

We thank you for your thoughts on the Oven D’or restaurant breakfast buffet and have looked into the coffee situation and have put in place coffee machines that brews fresh cups of coffee in the morning as we realize that this is very important.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Good rooms with comfortable beds, great bathrooms and a view. Nice buffet breakfast selection.
Haven't tried other meals. However it is ludicrous for places like this to still be charging for the internet (US$15++) when other hotel groups like Marriott no longer charge in Asia. Better to be nearer the centre of town in Ha Noi.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear “GilesBlumsom”

Thank you for spending the time to write a review on tripadvisor. It’s great to know that you liked the buffet breakfast at the hotel. As you have pointed out, the hotel is not located in the hustle and bustle of the city centre, but located in the charming Tay Ho district of town. I apologize of the internet charge in the hotel was not to your liking, however all of the 5 star hotels in Hanoi do charge for internet and the Sheraton Hanoi currently has the fastest internet speed among all of the 5 star hotels in Hanoi. Thank you for your comment about the service in the hotel, we are always trying to improve and your remarks help to motivate the staff to greater heights.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel maybe good for lovers who prefer staying in.
For my trip to Hanoi, the first night I stayed at a different hotel, (Golden Sun Legend, 3-star hotel near Hoan Kiem Lake), which I paid out of my own pocket and then moved to Sheraton for the work trip part.

Location - The first thing that struck me was how far the hotel was. It's in a nice area, but there's almost nothing within a 15 minswalk from the hotel. The taxi ride from Hoan Kiem Lake takes anywhere from 10-20 mins, depending on traffic. For conference-goers it maybe ok but I don't recommend it to tourists who plan to do lots of sightseeing. This hotel is located right next to Intercontinental Hanoi, at West Lake.

Service - The standard 4-star service, decent but never seemed genuine.

Restaurant - Only ate at their lobby lounge. Better order Vietnamese dishes as those taste much better than the western choices / other Asian foods also not good.

Room - comfy, spotless and spacious, good bathroom, but maybe because I was upgrade to the Imperial Suite.

No WiFi, free or whatsoever. LAN Internet was $18 usd/day

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheesyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear “CheesyMe”

Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor. The hotel is not located in the city centre and is located in the Tay Ho district of Hanoi. It’s unfortunate that you did not get a chance to experience some of the surrounding areas of the hotel as they can be quite charming. I will however admit that the old quarter is 4 kilometres away and costs approximately U$5 and would be best off taking a taxi.

The staff do try very hard to please the guests, I apologize if the service was not up to your expectations. The lobby lounge menu is all Western food and I believe that our pizza’s are some of the best in the city, but I do apologize if this was not up to your expectations. Thank you for your comments about the guest room. Your stay was actually not in the 176 square metre Imperial Suite, but the 112 square metre Ambassador suite.

Again, I would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hanoi in the future.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for four nights and the service was great from start to finish. We got an upgrade for a nominal amount into great rooms that were spotless. The staff were so friendly including the cleaning staff. A special thanks to Vinh and the concierge staff who went out of their way to help us out. We will be back- Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear “Brett0730”

Thank you so much for these warm words – and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Hanoi.

Thank you for your comments about the service levels in the hotel. We are always trying to go the extra step to help our guests and it is great to see that housekeeping and concierge did a good job. I believe that the upgrade to the Sheraton club rooms is a worthwhile experience and we have many additional benefits to enhance our guests stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm regards
Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Well...don't stay, they messed up everything from the very beginning, room, number of beds, they wanted to charge fro breakfast even though it was included, the room was ridiculously small, the service was self centered and no focus on the customer, for sure not a star hotel, not a staying for families, we moved on to excellent somerset hanoi that had a welcoming smile

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardNoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear “RichardNoren”

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is much valued and appreciated.

I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with your stay at the Sheraton Hanoi. I did look into this matter and found out that a reservation was made through the call centre, however was cancelled via a phone call prior to check in. In the cancelled reservation, breakfast was not included. The room size is 37 sqm and is actually larger than the many of the other 5 star hotels in Hanoi, however I will admit that for 2 adults and 2 large children the room may not be ideal as we can only accommodate one roll away bed per room. I have no excuse for the service issues and we will have to work harder to improve on this.
In the event that your travel schedule does bring you back to Hanoi and you wish to re-consider our hotel, I would be delighted if you would contact me personally – paul.tsuji@sheraton.com. My team and I would greatly value the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guastalla, Italy
Level Contributor
306 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel is situated 30-40 minutes from the airport and 10-15min from the downtown.the place is very quiet, on the lake. Even if from outside the building appears not so new, inside is very comfortable and nice. The staff is very kind and they always offer help. The rooms are very cleaned and well equipped with all the facilities. The buffet at ground floor doesn't offer a big variety of food but the quality is good. This hotel is suitable for meetings and business too

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear “Bertassun”

Thank you for your kind comments and for posting this review online. The hotel is located slightly away from the hustle and bustle and as you have pointed out only 10 to 15 minutes away from the down town area.

I am glad to know that our team was able to take care of you and you thought that the room was clean and well appointed. Your comments about the buffet food quality is much appreciated as our culinary team have been working hard to improve standards.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience of the Sheraton Hanoi.

With kind regards

Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#77 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#50 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Gather in the Link at Sheraton, a communal, interactive space that keeps you connected to what matters most. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, all with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing