We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #121 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay, fantastic staff!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and we were not disappointed. This hotel is well located in the old quarter and is within walking distance to lots of attractions and shopping. Despite this hotel not being as large as some others, the room we stayed in was very spacious and well presented. Hotel breakfast was great as were the in hotel massages.

On to what made our stay here special: the staff. The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and professional and seemed genuinely committed to making our stay in the hotel and Hanoi enjoyable. Special mentions go to Tony, the front office manager, and Bui whom were very helpful and accommodating. When our Ha Long Bay cruise was significantly delayed and the cruise company wouldn't offer even a partial refund, Tony organised for the hotel to give us a partial refund and free airport transfer!! That went above and beyond, in our minds. Tony also recommended a day tour to Tam Coc, which ended up being one of the highlights of our entire trip to Vietnam.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family and will stay there again next time we go to Hanoi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Pipsa2013,
On behalf of our hotel team, I would like to send you our sincere thanks for your such long stay with us and your sweet word given to us as “home”!
It finds us some pleasant to see how you enjoyed your stay with us. We always tell ourselves that giving out is receiving back and at the moment we retrieved your review it was proved to be true than ever. We are so much inspired by your words and will try harder to meet expectations of upcoming discerning guests.
I hope you will take chance to return to Hanoi and our hotel soon. It will be our great pleasure to bring you even more fantastic stay.
We wish you with all the best blessings in your journeys of life and looking forward to welcoming you back “home”.

Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    257
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
253
63
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

centrally located, very good rooms, fresh and cool welcome drink, good WIFI and for free, staff very friendly and helpful on tours and excursions, also beyond standard packages (we got good advice to go to central bus station and take public transport bus which was suprisingly good i.e. with A/C and music entertainment on flat screen TV and are now up to date on latest vietnamese pop and rock music scene)

Room Tip: if you like it: ask for a room with yacuzzi in bathroom, they got some
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Holger D,
We would like to send our gratefulness for your stay at our hotel as well as your taking time to give us the contributive feedback.
We were very honored to arrange you with our accommodation excursions and glad to know you had a really good trip. Our staff will be thankful for your comments of them. I hope you will experience more exciting journeys and hospitality during your trips around the world.
We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you so much once again and best regards.
Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well located in the Old Quarter of Hanoi and don't let the streetscapes and neighbourhood of the hotel deceive you - Not impressive reception foyer but almost 5-star quality in the room: spacious size (38 sqm) and huge bathroom including bath-tub and rain-shower; every amenities you can think of and real red-wood furniture; fresh fruits daily and and live flowers in room setting; welcome drink... Most important, great service quality from staff! What more can you ask for when you also get FREE internet and breakfast all for less than US$70?

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ying A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Ying A,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial!
We are thankful for your stay as well as your moment to give us such a genuine feeback.
We are glad to know even you did have luxury impression upon arrival at our hotel, yet you had really great time enjoying our room and our special offers. Our staff will be proud to see how they contributed to your enjoyable stay.
We hope to see you again at our hotel in the near future with all best wishes from us.
Yours sincerely
Duc Nguyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hanoi Imperial for 4 nights in July 13 and couldn't have asked for a better stay, the staff were friendly and helped me find my way around Hanoi, the hotel is right in the old quarter so perfect for markets and the lake and there are a number of great restaurants and bars within a short walking distance. My room was huge, although the view wasn't great, the bed was very comfortable and bathroom was spacious. The breakfast variety was good so there's something for everyone. The hotels spa didn't seem to be as busy as I thought but I did have a massage on my last day and it was amazing, there are spas nearby but I had pedicure at one on the same street as the hotel and it took them 2 hours and 4 therapists then I was left for 30 mins I walked out, so don't rule the hotel one out if you want treatments. All in all I had a great stay and at a reasonable price so would definately stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank amyloui89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ms. Amy Loui,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel and thank you so much for spending your stay in our hotel.
We were very honored to receive your feedback and happy to know you had a pleasant stay. It was a bit pity that you couldn’t enjoy massage service at our hotel. Yet if any chance in the future, our staff will be pleased to serve you.
It was such a great honor to have your statement to stay at our hotel again. We are so glad every time a guest come back staying with us. It is the greatest pay-off for what we always strive for.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the short time and hope your life will be always fulfilled with joy and happiness.
Yours sincerely,
Duc Nguyen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We can warmly recommend Hanoi Imperial Hotel to be your "home" in Hanoi. We stayed there 9 nights. The location of the hotel is great, short walk along the side street and you are in the middle of shops, restaurants and full swing of the common life in Hanoi. The room and bathroom was large enough, quiet and clean. Fresh fruits and bottled water as complementary every day in the room. The buffet breakfast on the top floor was very good. The staff was polite, friendly and very helpful. The front desk manager arranged the city tour, country tour and Ha Long Bay tour for us. Also the money change was handy at the front desk. Very good size and cozy hotel, not too big. They took good care of us! Thank You!
We shall return to this hotel with pleasure, if we some day are able to travel to Hanoi and Vietnam again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I ứa disappointed with thís hotel. On arrival I ứa taken to my room which ứa larger enough but the king size bed ứa actually 2 singles tired together. The pillow were rock hảrd. The shampoo and bath gel were used and half full, there was only one towel. I went to the buffet breakfast and the food isí poor quality and the cooking also poor. The staff are excellent and the major asset òf thẻ hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Madam,
On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to send you our sincere thanks for choosing our hotel for your visit to Hanoi and your constructive review to us.
We are also sorry for all of the inconveniences and unpleasant feeling that you had during your stay with us. I will definitely take your comments seriously to improve our services. Operating in hospitality, we understand that it's hardly possible to make the guests happy all the time. But we will try our best to make you feel welcome and relaxed staying at our hotel. At least you appreciate our staff. That was an inspiration for us to try harder.
I wish you will give us tolerance and hand us a chance to serve you with better.
May you blessed with happiness and health in life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

First time in Hanoi and have really enjoyed the Imperial Hotel. A great value at $49/night, which includes a full Vietnamese and western breakfast. Best part is that it's on a low traffic street, which a joy to walk at night and a number of nice western standard cafes and restaurants in area. Then with in 2 blocks you can be in the city center and the hustle and bustle of the city.
Top 5 best things
1) location
2) price
3) clean, large room with satellite HD TV
4) local touches like a welcome banana shake when we arrived, fresh fruit in room and a bowl of water and rose pedals.
5) good balance between western standards and a local feel.

We enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5001, on the street front which was nice. Elevator goes to 6th floor and the 7/8 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMStraveler7865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc N, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear DMStraveler7865,
We are very grateful for your stay at our hotel and your delightful comments to our services.
We understand our mission was to create most comfortable stay and and that was a great pleasure to know you were satisfied with our arrangements and offers.
I self-acknowledge that there is still some inconvenience in our accommodation and facilities, but with our efforts and sense of hospitality, we believe we can make services better and better over time.
With your good experience this time, we hopefully look forward to your next stay at our hotel. We are always willing to assist you with any concern. Thank you once again and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 588 in Hanoi
1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 588 in Hanoi
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 588 in Hanoi
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#98 of 588 in Hanoi
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing