We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service .. Tony is fantastically helpful .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #116 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service .. Tony is fantastically helpful .”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the imperial hotel in June 2013. Hotel is right in the centre of the old quarter at the end of a quiet narrow road but within 1 minute walk of the crazy hanoi city life. Rooms are clean and comfortable . Staff are very friendly and helpful . The best thing about this hotel is tony who works on the tourist assistance desk . On arrival we told him we had 5 days in hanoi and wanted to do sapa and halong bay . Tony organised both trips for us . When half way to halong bay the trip was cancelled due to bad weather . We knew the hotel was full that night so on return we knew we had no place to stay . Tony booked the hotel down the road and got his staff to carry our bags down to the hotel for the night . Tony came too and even checked the other hotel room for us . Went to halong the next day and tony let us store our luggage in the hotel even though we weren't booked in . He even invited us to breakfast in the hotel before we headed off. When going to sapa Tony organised a staff member to accompany us to the train station to collect our tickets and he carried the bags onto the train !! . On arrival back from sapa at 5am a member of staff was waiting at the train station and accompanied us back to the hotel in the taxi . Again tony let us store out cases in the hotel for the 3 days we were in sapa . No charge !! He seriously assisted us in maximising our time to do the things we wanted even though it meant only staying 2 nights in the hotel instead of 5 .
He even helped me rent a scooter too which worked out at €5 for 24 hours . Can't say enough about how helpful Tony was . When we were leaving for the airport the receptionist came to the front door to say goodbye and shake our hands . It's the best experience I've ever had in a hotel in my life and I have been in over 50 countries and many hotels over the years . The hotel is run like a family business . I would recommend the hotel in an instant simply because of how Tony and the staff helped us . 3 stars for the hotel . 7 stars for Tony .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shambala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel.
On behalf of the hotel team and Mr. Tony Vo, I would like to send you our sincere thanks for your stay at our hotel and your genuine feedback to our services.
We appreciated so much for your compliments to our services and staff, especially Mr. Tony. He is one of our best staff and I’m sure that any one of our staff would definitely treat you the same things to make you feel most comfortable. Our staff acknowledged that every guest deserved the best services and value as they chose us as their preferred choice out of so many other hotels in Hanoi. Because you gave us trust, we were responsible for not letting you disappointed of what we offered. That’s the guideline for all of staff to follow.
I’m so proud to see Mr. Tony did a good job in accomplishing our objective of satisfying the guests. It was an honor for him and the whole hotel to see how you appreciate our efforts.
I hope that there will be many other guests like you to give us a chance of delivering the most comfortable stay and satisfying services.
We are really looking forward to seeing you again in Hanoi and bringing you the benefits of a loyal guest.
I wish you all the best in your life and personal endeavors.
Warm regards,
Duc Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    253
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
134
250
63
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile


Located near the northwest corner of hoan kiem lake, close to the old quarter. Hotel is difficult to find for most taxi drivers so right down the street names and the address, print out a map if you can or use your phone gps for the taxi. Hotel overall is pretty good, with friendly front desk and restaurant staff,plus free wifi. Made to order omelletes, continental options, and of course traditional vietnames bfast is all included with room price. Staff are very accommodating and helpful with getting taxi or tuk tuks, and the room had all the necessary amenities, there was a safe, decent shower with hot water, an ok bed and pillows, complimentary water and fruit, and the air conditioning was good. It was lacking a little bit in terms of some of the items provided, cheap soap and shampoo, towels were old and rough but a good starting point to explore the lake, the old and french quarters, and the Ho Chi Minh masoleaum and surrounding grounds. I wish I had spent more time in this city as it is one of the best I've seen after 5 weeks touring across south east asia. Good value given their low rates,but if you want a bit more luxury book at the Hilton Garden inn near the Hilton Opera House.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashman_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
I would like to send you our sincere thanks for your stay at our hotel.
We are so pleasured to have you spend your time at our property. It was a big gift to us already. It was delightful that you were almost satisfied with the services and facilities.
To hotels in general, convenient location is very important for guest’s travelling demands. Our hotel is located very close to the tourist attractions and all of necessary shops and venues that are advantageous for both business and leisure tourists, which makes us very confident to promote our hotel to the guests. Almost streets in the old quarter are narrow and crowded, yet you can find our hotel located on a quiet street.
We really appreciate your specified feedback to us and let us know what we were good at and what needs improvements.
We feel so proud that you loved Hanoi that much and I hope you will take chances to come back our pretty and welcoming city. We will make sure that you will have a perfect stay at our hotel.
Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this nice hotel in June, 2013. We booked the summer package promotion and enjoy our stay very much. The hotel is in a great location close to Hoan Kiem Lake, restaurants and stores. The hotel staff was great and willing to be of assistance any way possible to ensure we had a good stay and holiday in Vietnam. They were kind enough to offer keep our suit cases while travel to Sapa. Our room was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was good with a good selection, fresh fruit in our room daily, free internet access available in our room with a strong connection. The package also included 1 night on V'spirit Crusie which is a nice Deluxe cruise in Halong Bay. Everything was excellent and we highly recommend hanoi Imperial Hotel. You can contact them directly to book the package for a big save.

Room Tip: Thery are offering summer promotion package till 30th Sept, so please contact the hotel directly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Madame,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel and your positive feedback to our services.
We are so honored to serve you and bring you a comfortable stay for your trip to Hanoi. Our staff were very happy when you were satisfied about what they assisted you.
We feel so delighted to get your nice words to our efforts and so touched that you appreciated them.
We wish you will find more joy everywhere else on another journeys and we would be pleasured to welcome you back another time.
Great thanks and best regards from Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Imperial for 1 night and booked 2 Imperial rooms (the best ones). To be honest the rooms were fine but a lot smaller than they look in the pictures.

When we arrived there was milkshakes waiting for us in our rooms which was a nice touch.

The website said our room had a spa bath but it certainly wasn't a spa bath in my opinion. It was just an old bath.

The breakfasts were really nice, with a fair amount of choice.

You get a free massage if you book an Imperial room but it's only 1 massage per room, so even though it's a double room, only 1 of you can get a free massage but don't panic at this news because the massage is terrible anyway. My husband and I had one at the same time, and our 'therapists' were shouting through the walls to each other, and mine was on her phone a couple of times. Added to this, their idea of a massage was really just a painful rub and you are better off missing out on this experience.

The hotel is in a good location but there are many others around which are a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Madam,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of the entire hotel team, I would like to send you our sincere thanks for preferred choice of our hotel, as well as our apology for the inconvenience that you had during your stay.
We feel very regretful that you did not have really comfortable time with us. We have tried to offer room with as good value as possible by added benefits such as complimentary massage voucher, welcome drink and room with nice view, which were only applied for Imperial Room. However, it is out of our expectation to hear that you were not feeling good with them.
We understand that we can hardly do anything at the moment to make you feel better, yet with your kindness and generousity, I hope you think about the positive sides and give us your sympathy and comprehension. Guest satisfaction is our biggest aim and we never want our customers to feel uncomfortable staying with us. With respect, we hope that you will give us another chance to fix the problem and prove that we care about you much more than what you feel about. I make sure that everything will be improved if we have any chance to welcome you back.
Wish you have joy in life and success in your personal endeavors.

Thank you so much again for your stay and your understanding.

Yours sincerely,
Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location is very convenient in the heart of the old city. The rooms are spacious and clean. The first two nights we were on the 2nd floor and the room was very dark as there was not much sunlight given the position of the room so it felt a bit like a dungeon. The next 2 nights were were on the 4th floor which was much better. Staff - very friendly. Breakfast - ok selection but taste wise mediocre. Would recommend if you want to stay in the heart of old city and don't want to spend too much money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to send you our special thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Hanoi.
We are also sorry for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. We acknowledge that guest satisfaction is the priority. Yet we appreciate so much if you may understand that the room type that you booked was the one located on lower level with sound proof window and limited view. On the other hand, the room is spacious and well-equipped in comparison with many other 3-star hotels in the Old Quarter. These features were mentioned in the room description. Luckily, thank to your long stay, we managed to upgrade you to another room for your next 2 nights so that you could enjoy your stay more.
Regarding our hotel services, we are glad that you partially felt pleasant overall. We appreciate all of your comments and find it very helpful to improve our services.
I hope that you will take another chance to return our hotel in the short time and see how our services can be improved , as well as receive the privileges in our loyalty guest program.
Thank you so much again for spending time giving us the useful feedback.
Wish you have enjoyable time ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the family room at the Hanoi Imperial Hotel for a few nights in May. Had a great experience: rooms are large (well, they would be if we hadn't added the extra bed!), comfortable and clean. The breakfast is great and the staff are very attentive and helpful. We had a massage here that was great - they forgot to do the hot stone, but apologized and didn't charge us extra. Just make sure you remind them! Location is great for walking around Old Town, French Quarter or the pond. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We are so grateful for your stay at our hotel recently and your positive feedback to our services.
It was so delightful to us to know you did enjoy your stay with us. I am also sorry for the mistake that the massage staff made to you. I’m sure they won’t make it happen again with other guests.
About the room, we can say firmly that our hotel’s rooms are among the largest room types of 3 star hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel, moreover, has a very convenient location for both business and leisure travelers.
In brief, it’s our honor to host you at our hotel and make you satisfied with what we brought. I hope with the good impression, you will be inspired to return our hotel another time in the near future to discover the beauty of other destinations in Vietnam.
Wish you best blessings in your life and work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Compared to other 3 star hotels in Hanoi where most have no windows, this hotel has spacious & clean rooms with BIG windows. They offer daily complimentary fruit aside from the usual free bottled water and coffee/tea. Room amenities are like that of a 5-star hotel. Reception and Concierge are very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast is delicious & service is great. Despite checking out a day before our departure from Hanoi (because we had an overnight cruise at Halong Bay) they allowed us to leave most of our luggage and they gave us FREE wash up room using their SPA Bathroom. I was advised by their front desk assistant that it's better to book directly with their website because they can offer better price with free massage and free airport service. You can also book through them any tour around Vietnam. Since it's in the Old District where space is so expensive, their front space is rather crowded with parked motorcycles and their neighboring stores are not as tidy as the hotel. The street leading to the hotel is also a tight one way street so big tour vans will not enter, but it's just a 50-meter walk to the main road. It's walking distance to West Lake, souvenir shops, convenience stores and restaurants. Been traveling to Vietnam so I know that some 3 or 4 star hotels are so overrated, Hanoi Imperial Hotel is so deserving of a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir/ Ma’am,
In representation of Hanoi Imperial Hotel’s staff and management, I would like to express our gratefulness for your stay at our hotel as well as your thorough comprehension to us.
We couldn’t feel any other way but honored and thankful for your words of understanding what we tried so hard to deliver.
You were really the one with the big heart. Not many customers could give us such a significant sympathy and understanding for our difficulties and efforts to bring them best available services. For instance, you just pointed out the problem of jammed motorbike parking and not-so-tidy neighborhood in front of our hotel. It was so hard to tell guests that we have tried to get as more space as possible. Yet situation is not always good for our side, it also depends on authorities and neighborhood. It was extremely kind of you to understand that issue.
On our good side, we were proud that you highly evaluated our location, room quality, tour service and staff’s performance. For the location, it is the sure thing to say that it’s absolutely convenient for guests no matter they are leisure tourists or go on business. The street that our hotel situated on leads straight to the main street to Hoan Kiem Lake, shopping center and good restaurants or anything that guests may need. Internally, our hotel rooms have been renovated recently and frequently maintained so that guests can really enjoy their time in room. Services, such as breakfast, housekeeping, tour consulting are strictly supervised and upgraded to bring guests best value.
In brief, it was our duty and desire to deliver to you the best convenience and comfort with our ability. Anything that can make guests like you feel comfortable is the right thing we should do. We couldn’t be more delightful to know the right things turned out the things that we did right.
We hope you take another chance to come back with us and enjoy your wonderful time staying and touring with our arrangement.
Wish you have wonderful time in your daily life and fantastic traveling experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#72 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#93 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#101 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing