We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and welcoming hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #115 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A friendly and welcoming hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this nice hotel in June, 2013. We booked the summer package promotion and enjoy our stay very much. The hotel is in a great location close to Hoan Kiem Lake, restaurants and stores. The hotel staff was great and willing to be of assistance any way possible to ensure we had a good stay and holiday in Vietnam. They were kind enough to offer keep our suit cases while travel to Sapa. Our room was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was good with a good selection, fresh fruit in our room daily, free internet access available in our room with a strong connection. The package also included 1 night on V'spirit Crusie which is a nice Deluxe cruise in Halong Bay. Everything was excellent and we highly recommend hanoi Imperial Hotel. You can contact them directly to book the package for a big save.

Room Tip: Thery are offering summer promotion package till 30th Sept, so please contact the hotel directly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Madame,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel and your positive feedback to our services.
We are so honored to serve you and bring you a comfortable stay for your trip to Hanoi. Our staff were very happy when you were satisfied about what they assisted you.
We feel so delighted to get your nice words to our efforts and so touched that you appreciated them.
We wish you will find more joy everywhere else on another journeys and we would be pleasured to welcome you back another time.
Great thanks and best regards from Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    247
    48
    11
    4
See reviews for
131
244
62
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Imperial for 1 night and booked 2 Imperial rooms (the best ones). To be honest the rooms were fine but a lot smaller than they look in the pictures.

When we arrived there was milkshakes waiting for us in our rooms which was a nice touch.

The website said our room had a spa bath but it certainly wasn't a spa bath in my opinion. It was just an old bath.

The breakfasts were really nice, with a fair amount of choice.

You get a free massage if you book an Imperial room but it's only 1 massage per room, so even though it's a double room, only 1 of you can get a free massage but don't panic at this news because the massage is terrible anyway. My husband and I had one at the same time, and our 'therapists' were shouting through the walls to each other, and mine was on her phone a couple of times. Added to this, their idea of a massage was really just a painful rub and you are better off missing out on this experience.

The hotel is in a good location but there are many others around which are a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Madam,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of the entire hotel team, I would like to send you our sincere thanks for preferred choice of our hotel, as well as our apology for the inconvenience that you had during your stay.
We feel very regretful that you did not have really comfortable time with us. We have tried to offer room with as good value as possible by added benefits such as complimentary massage voucher, welcome drink and room with nice view, which were only applied for Imperial Room. However, it is out of our expectation to hear that you were not feeling good with them.
We understand that we can hardly do anything at the moment to make you feel better, yet with your kindness and generousity, I hope you think about the positive sides and give us your sympathy and comprehension. Guest satisfaction is our biggest aim and we never want our customers to feel uncomfortable staying with us. With respect, we hope that you will give us another chance to fix the problem and prove that we care about you much more than what you feel about. I make sure that everything will be improved if we have any chance to welcome you back.
Wish you have joy in life and success in your personal endeavors.

Thank you so much again for your stay and your understanding.

Yours sincerely,
Duc Nguyen (Mr.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location is very convenient in the heart of the old city. The rooms are spacious and clean. The first two nights we were on the 2nd floor and the room was very dark as there was not much sunlight given the position of the room so it felt a bit like a dungeon. The next 2 nights were were on the 4th floor which was much better. Staff - very friendly. Breakfast - ok selection but taste wise mediocre. Would recommend if you want to stay in the heart of old city and don't want to spend too much money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jingmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to send you our special thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Hanoi.
We are also sorry for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. We acknowledge that guest satisfaction is the priority. Yet we appreciate so much if you may understand that the room type that you booked was the one located on lower level with sound proof window and limited view. On the other hand, the room is spacious and well-equipped in comparison with many other 3-star hotels in the Old Quarter. These features were mentioned in the room description. Luckily, thank to your long stay, we managed to upgrade you to another room for your next 2 nights so that you could enjoy your stay more.
Regarding our hotel services, we are glad that you partially felt pleasant overall. We appreciate all of your comments and find it very helpful to improve our services.
I hope that you will take another chance to return our hotel in the short time and see how our services can be improved , as well as receive the privileges in our loyalty guest program.
Thank you so much again for spending time giving us the useful feedback.
Wish you have enjoyable time ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the family room at the Hanoi Imperial Hotel for a few nights in May. Had a great experience: rooms are large (well, they would be if we hadn't added the extra bed!), comfortable and clean. The breakfast is great and the staff are very attentive and helpful. We had a massage here that was great - they forgot to do the hot stone, but apologized and didn't charge us extra. Just make sure you remind them! Location is great for walking around Old Town, French Quarter or the pond. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We are so grateful for your stay at our hotel recently and your positive feedback to our services.
It was so delightful to us to know you did enjoy your stay with us. I am also sorry for the mistake that the massage staff made to you. I’m sure they won’t make it happen again with other guests.
About the room, we can say firmly that our hotel’s rooms are among the largest room types of 3 star hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel, moreover, has a very convenient location for both business and leisure travelers.
In brief, it’s our honor to host you at our hotel and make you satisfied with what we brought. I hope with the good impression, you will be inspired to return our hotel another time in the near future to discover the beauty of other destinations in Vietnam.
Wish you best blessings in your life and work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Compared to other 3 star hotels in Hanoi where most have no windows, this hotel has spacious & clean rooms with BIG windows. They offer daily complimentary fruit aside from the usual free bottled water and coffee/tea. Room amenities are like that of a 5-star hotel. Reception and Concierge are very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast is delicious & service is great. Despite checking out a day before our departure from Hanoi (because we had an overnight cruise at Halong Bay) they allowed us to leave most of our luggage and they gave us FREE wash up room using their SPA Bathroom. I was advised by their front desk assistant that it's better to book directly with their website because they can offer better price with free massage and free airport service. You can also book through them any tour around Vietnam. Since it's in the Old District where space is so expensive, their front space is rather crowded with parked motorcycles and their neighboring stores are not as tidy as the hotel. The street leading to the hotel is also a tight one way street so big tour vans will not enter, but it's just a 50-meter walk to the main road. It's walking distance to West Lake, souvenir shops, convenience stores and restaurants. Been traveling to Vietnam so I know that some 3 or 4 star hotels are so overrated, Hanoi Imperial Hotel is so deserving of a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir/ Ma’am,
In representation of Hanoi Imperial Hotel’s staff and management, I would like to express our gratefulness for your stay at our hotel as well as your thorough comprehension to us.
We couldn’t feel any other way but honored and thankful for your words of understanding what we tried so hard to deliver.
You were really the one with the big heart. Not many customers could give us such a significant sympathy and understanding for our difficulties and efforts to bring them best available services. For instance, you just pointed out the problem of jammed motorbike parking and not-so-tidy neighborhood in front of our hotel. It was so hard to tell guests that we have tried to get as more space as possible. Yet situation is not always good for our side, it also depends on authorities and neighborhood. It was extremely kind of you to understand that issue.
On our good side, we were proud that you highly evaluated our location, room quality, tour service and staff’s performance. For the location, it is the sure thing to say that it’s absolutely convenient for guests no matter they are leisure tourists or go on business. The street that our hotel situated on leads straight to the main street to Hoan Kiem Lake, shopping center and good restaurants or anything that guests may need. Internally, our hotel rooms have been renovated recently and frequently maintained so that guests can really enjoy their time in room. Services, such as breakfast, housekeeping, tour consulting are strictly supervised and upgraded to bring guests best value.
In brief, it was our duty and desire to deliver to you the best convenience and comfort with our ability. Anything that can make guests like you feel comfortable is the right thing we should do. We couldn’t be more delightful to know the right things turned out the things that we did right.
We hope you take another chance to come back with us and enjoy your wonderful time staying and touring with our arrangement.
Wish you have wonderful time in your daily life and fantastic traveling experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found the staff here to be genuinely friendly and very helpful. It is situated in a laneway not far from the Hoan Kiem Lake and close to restaurants and shopping.
When we arrived in Hanoi we did not expect to find our hotel in the bustling back streets of the city but what we discovered was a hotel with good facilities that was clean and comfortable.
The location was perfect for us, as just around the corner was Kangaroo Cafe Tours. We had booked our trip to Ha Long Bay through this company and we only needed a short walk on the morning of our departure.
We would be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Ma’am,
On behalf of our hotel management and operation team, I would like to express our thankfulness for your choice of our hotel among hundreds of other hotels in the Old Quarter and your wish to return our hotel. Although our hotel didn’t impress you at the first glance, we are glad that you were satisfied with our facilities and services.
The first thing that is always mentioned by our guests, as well as by you, is our staff’s manner. We are so proud that our staff always had such good behaviors to all guests. This is our strength that will be definitely maintained to other guests. Secondly, it is our location which is another outstanding point that we are proud of. Guests can find whatever they need within walking distance.
Finally, we are looking forward to your stay at our hotel again in the short time. We will have privileges for loyal guests that certainly make you feel pleasant.
Wish you have joyful time in your life and success in your personal endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is located right in the old city, two minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake. We stayed for four nights, and enjoyed our stay very much. The service was excellent, the beds were comfortable, the room was attractive and clean. The heating system worked fine. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel!
We are so honored to be your preferred choice for your visit to Hanoi and to get your compliment for our services. We have tried to improve our services every time we got feedback from customers. We self-acknowledged that we still have long way to go but by receiving such positive comments from guests like you is very encouraging to us.
We hope that we will obtain more credit for service quality from such gentle guests like you and step by step make our hotel travelers’ favourable choice.
Wish you all the best things in life and your personal achievements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#75 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#100 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#98 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#85 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#70 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing