We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #120 of 587 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“well situated”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we have just returned from my visit to Hanoi staying at the Hanoi imperial hotel this is a lovely little hotel well situated for the city's attractions the staff are very friendly and helpful. we stayed in a basic room which was ample for our needs very clean and well maintained with fresh fruit and toiletries every day. I would like to extend special thanks to Tony Vo for all his help planning our trips which are very reasonably priced. and hope this message gets to all the other staff who made our time there perfect. can someone please thank Duoc for his help as well. a very happy guest thank-you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of our hotel team, I would like to send you our special thanks for your stay at our hotel and your use of our services. I have passed your message to all of our staff, especially Tony Vo and Mr. Duc. They were very inspired and proud that you were happy with what they had done for you. They said that was not what they had never done before but not much of their effort was appreciated like you did. We will make it not only happen to you but to the following guests. Tony Vo and Duc, as well as our whole hotel team are looking forward to your next visit here to experience another home-away-from-home accommodation.
Wish you have enjoyable time in your life and work.
Thank you so much again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    257
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
253
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked our 3 nights' stay after reading the reviews here and I'm pleased to note that we were not disappointed with our choice. The staff are so warm & friendly and the family room is well appointed, with an extra large and clean bathroom. There were fresh fruits (mango, dragonfruit, orange & bananas) in our room each day, as well as bottled water and coffee/tea sachets. We also enjoyed having our breakfast on the 8th floor, where you can view the city skyline from the balcony. I like that they will cook your eggs the way you like it upon ordering as well as pho noodles with a choice of beef/chicken/pork or vegetables, apart from the buffet selection. We were pleasantly surprised to see very large fresh juicy prawns in the buffet tray on our 2nd day there, unfortunately it's not served daily, haha. The free wifi connection is good. We also booked our day trip to Ha Long Bay from the reception desk. It is very easy to walk around the Old Quarter streets from this hotel and getting a taxi from the street is easy too if you wish to go further. We will stay here again the next time we visit Hanoi, thanks to the staff & management for making our holiday a memorable one.

Room Tip: One thing the management can improve on is perhaps the quality of the "extra" bed which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Arena G,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We are very thankful for your stay at our hotel recently and will be honored to welcome you back another time.
We are also glad to know you were happy with overall services and our staff’s helpfulness. We had been trying to improve our services day by day and you were the one who recognized it. This is not the first and the only time that we received appreciation for our location, staff performance, and accommodation, yet we still feel blessed with your evaluation. The most important thing to us is guests’ satisfaction, that means your satisfaction and this time we achieved it. The reward to us is your return in your next visit to Vietnam that we are excited to look forward.
I hope that your next visit will be at least as good as this time. Otherwise, we make sure it will be your perfect stay with better treatment for your loyalty.
Once again thank you so much for your stay and your time for this useful review.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had to make a very last-minute booking here due to our Halong Bay cruise being cancelled. It exceeded our expectations and we were very grateful that "last-minute" didn't mean "inferior".

Pros:

- it's very well-located, being within a few minutes' walk of Hoan Kiem Lake and surrounds. It's down a quiet street, so you're not disturbed by the typical hoots and honks of a Vietnamese city street.

- the rooms are large and comfy.

- the staff were fantastic - really friendly and helpful.

- there's a lovely view from the 8th floor restaurant.

- very well-priced.

Cons:

- the spa was staffed by only one (male) therapist while we were there, so we couldn't have any couples' treatments.

- the breakfast was so-so.

- the whole property could do with a touch up (paint, carpet rehab) but these are largely aesthetic problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdzN_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Thank you so much for your booking at our hotel.
I’m sorry that your Halong Bay tour had been cancelled, yet happy at the same time to have you stay at our hotel.
We acknowledge your recognition of our hotel pros and cons. Both sides are so important to develop and improve our business. For the positive points, we will try to remain them consistently. For the negative ones, that’s also what we are trying to improve. We are figuring out the solutions and you may see the changes when you come back to us one day.
I hope to see you around here in short time and enjoy benefits from our loyalty program.

Wish you have enjoyable time ahead!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there for a total of 2 nights before and after our Vietnam Ha Long Bay tour. It was wonderful. it is located in a lane way away from the busy streets. From the time we arrived until the time we left the staff were so friendly or helpful. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly. It is located centrally within easy walking distance to the lake..

Our room was spacious, clean and very conformable but at the same time great value for money. Breakfast was generous with lots of choice and the service was great.

We had an early checkout for a flight and the staff amazingly prepared us a takeaway breakfast - I have never encountered this before. If you are going to Hanoi why would you go anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyHSale_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of hotel team, I would like to give you our special thanks for your stay and your genuine review to our hotel.
It was an honor to receive your truthful comments. We self-acknowledge that good location is not good enough to bring guests to us as well as to make our hotel outstanding. Therefore, we also focus on developing customer care skill for each individual staff and enhancing services to bring guests the best value. Each staff was encouraged to take care of every detail from smallest concern of guests. We understood that we should go ahead to do things right and make anticipation of guests’ demand before asked. We appreciate that you were totally satisfied with the services and staff performance.

We are so proud to be suggested to other travellers. I’m looking for more guests interested in staying at our hotel rather than others thank to your recommendation here. We understand how hard to get this appraisal from our guests, that’s how we appreciate yours so much. We will try our best to make others enjoy their stay as much as you did.

Hope to see you another day in Hanoi and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hanoi Imperial is very well located, walking distance to all major attractions (Hoan Kiem Lake), restaurants and shops. The food are delicious! The rooms are very clean. The beautiful city view on the roof top was excellent. Staff are very friendly and always offer to carry our things to the rooms. Wi Fi is available at free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfish-247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Linda T,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We were very pleasured for your choosing of our hotel and grateful for your stay with us and your use of our services.
As pointed out by many other guests, good location is one of our strengths. We have been putting more efforts to enhance other aspects of services. We are so happy that you recognized our improvements of accommodation, breakfast buffet and staff manners.
I hope you will return another time with expectation of advanced services and extra benefits for your loyalty.
Wish your life full of joy and happiness!
Thank you so much for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent friendly, helpful service. Clean spacious, comfortable rooms. Delicious breakie included. The staff at this hotel are all so willing and happy to help you. They can also book a very good Ha Long Bay cruise for you. Thanks for another great stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanneton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Thank you so much for your choosing our hotel again for your stay.
We couldn’t be happier to welcome you back and saw how you were satisfied with our hotel. We felt so lucky to have you as our guests once again, and it was an honor to arrange you the trip that was highly evaluated. Last time when you were here with us, you couldn’t follow the tour due to your injury. It was really a pity. Fortunately, you came back to us this time and the tour was going smoothly for you. It would be really a blessing if other guests also keep their loyalty with us like you.
I hope you will take another chance to visit Vietnam again for another interesting tourist places and allow us to assist you with wonderful trips.

Thank you once again for your time!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

From reading previous reviews, Hanoi Imperial was exactly what we had expected. Good value for the price we paid.

From arriving up a motorbike filled laneway,which does not do justice for the hotel, to doorman opening the doors for us. Check in was with ease and we were shown to our room. Our room was on the seventh floor, very clean and tidy with quite a big bathroom. Breakfast was average, however on the second day we were there, we notice that the wait staff will cook an egg to the way you like it. (Not exactly an egg station!!)
The location of the hotel is within walking distance to the lake, markets etc.

All in all, a very nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would give this hotel
3 and 1/2 stars

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryaustralia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel recently.
We’re so glad to know that you did enjoy your stay with our accommodation and services.
I suppose that you had not had any inconvenience during your stay here. Our staffs did put their best effort to bring you the most comfortable stay just like home and it delights us to know that was what you had assumed about our services. We’ve acknowledged your appraisal of every detail from our hotel’s advantages. They were exactly what customers chose our hotel for.
On the other hand, we would be pleased to know whether there was any shortcoming of ours, which prevented us from achieving your best rating. This will be so much contributive to our hotel’s performance improvement.

In brief, we hope you still keep your faith of our services and will share with your friends this pleasant experience.

Thank you once again for your great review and wish you have enjoyable time ahead!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#73 of 587 in Hanoi
1,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 587 in Hanoi
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#24 of 587 in Hanoi
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#99 of 587 in Hanoi
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 587 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing