We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #121 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

From reading previous reviews, Hanoi Imperial was exactly what we had expected. Good value for the price we paid.

From arriving up a motorbike filled laneway,which does not do justice for the hotel, to doorman opening the doors for us. Check in was with ease and we were shown to our room. Our room was on the seventh floor, very clean and tidy with quite a big bathroom. Breakfast was average, however on the second day we were there, we notice that the wait staff will cook an egg to the way you like it. (Not exactly an egg station!!)
The location of the hotel is within walking distance to the lake, markets etc.

All in all, a very nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would give this hotel
3 and 1/2 stars

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryaustralia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel recently.
We’re so glad to know that you did enjoy your stay with our accommodation and services.
I suppose that you had not had any inconvenience during your stay here. Our staffs did put their best effort to bring you the most comfortable stay just like home and it delights us to know that was what you had assumed about our services. We’ve acknowledged your appraisal of every detail from our hotel’s advantages. They were exactly what customers chose our hotel for.
On the other hand, we would be pleased to know whether there was any shortcoming of ours, which prevented us from achieving your best rating. This will be so much contributive to our hotel’s performance improvement.

In brief, we hope you still keep your faith of our services and will share with your friends this pleasant experience.

Thank you once again for your great review and wish you have enjoyable time ahead!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    257
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
253
63
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room was clean with ample space. The bathroom was funky but clean. The staff was exceedingly friendly, true of all hotels we visited in Vietnam. The included buffet breakfast was good. Location was excellent, right near the lake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team, I would like to express our truthful thanks for your choosing of hotel and your genuine comments our services.

It was so kind of you to bypass tiny flaws and take our strengths over. We are so grateful for your high evaluation of our staff manners. They will make more attempts to contribute to satisfy guests as well as contribute to our business development. We hope that your stay at our hotel partially made your trip in Vietnam more memorable.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hanoi Imperial Hotel on 2 different occasions during our tour of Vietnam, March 2013. The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants and stores. The hotel staff was great and willing to be of assistance any way possible to ensure we had a good stay and holiday in Vietnam. They were kind enough to offer keep our suit cases while travel to Sapa. Our room was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was good with a good selection, fresh fruit in our room daily, free internet access available in our room with a strong connection, and their was a good selection of cable channels available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Denise M,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We couldn’t be thankful enough for your sincere and supportive feedback. It was really loss of words to receive your compliments to our services. With our advantage of location, we have been trying to make our services to be another strength of ours as well as to have the staffs well-trained and well-mannered, to provide added value and complementary, to renovate our rooms and to keep regular maintenance. We actually didn’t have to force our staffs to be enthusiastic and caring, but they acted naturally from their attitude towards customers. Our highest mission is to get customers’ satisfaction that was successfully met with your review here.
We hope, with our continuous efforts, there will be more thoughtful guests to give us their comprehension and appreciation just like the way you did.

Thank you so much again for your support!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here with our young adult family in January 2013 for a total of 5 nights. This Hotel is in the heart of Old Hanoi we couldn't have asked for a better position from which to explore this fast paced gritty part o fantastic city. The hotel itself is tucked away in a small alley a stone throw from one of the city's many lakes. The hotel has an old world charm about it that is reflected in the attention to detail in the rooms and the service of the staff. Breakfast's were good with a great selection of eastern and western cuisine. The staff at breakfast were especially good and rate a special mention as they couldn't do enough to help. The hotel is ideally placed for eating and shopping options as well as being close to reliable ATM's. We were able to store our luggage while we overnighted in Halong Bay which was handy. All in all a fantastic experience in a great hotel in a city with so much to offer.

Room Tip: all rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierrethedirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Firstly, in representation of our hotel team, I would like to send you thankful words for your stay at our hotel.
Moreover, we couldn’t be happier reading your sincere comments and beautiful things about Hanoi city that you pointed out in your review.
The city and the streets within the Old Quarter are busy all day in deed, yet fortunately our hotel is located in a quiet corner of the city which not only allows guests to have good sleep but also convenient for sightseeing, shopping and dining around.
Stepping out of the hotel, you will easily find numerous fine dining restaurants, bars, café. 2 more minutes away, you face the very green space of Sword Lake, where you can actually have fresh breath.
It was such a significant encouragement for us to know that all of our attempts to bring you the best-value service were appreciated. We are maintaining these good impressions and getting our hospitality to higher level.
Many thanks again for your generosity to us and we’re hoping to have you back to our hotel in your favorable time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here in January 2013 and it was wonderful. The staff was so helpful, getting us to the overnight train to Sapa and with arrangements for guides, restaurants, you name it. We loved the ambience of the street and the whole area, so close to the lake. We were able to walk all over. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisawalkerlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Madam,
On behalf of our Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team, I would like to give you our sincere thanks for your stay at our hotel as well as your choice of our hotel for your next visit.
Our staffs always consider that serving guests is a pleasure and that the guests’ happiness is theirs as well. Hence, your words to complement our staffs’ helpfulness were the inspiration for us to try harder and to keep guests come back again and again.
We are so proud to know you enjoyed our lovely street in the Old Quarter and hope that Hanoi lifestyle remains to be your favorite.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights if I remember correctly. I came with little expectations ... but I was quite thrilled with the service.


Location is quite central. Staff is good.
There are lot of food options .. just a walk away. Especially the cafe just outside. They serve delicious food and customize it to taste.

I had booked all my trips through hotel travel desk. And I found them to be quite good.

If given a change I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeerajB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team!
We are so thankful for your choosing our hotel for your stay as well as your positive feedback to our services. We feel very pleasured and delighted to know your stay was over your expectations.
I supposed that your experience with the trips arranged by our travel desk staff was memorable and joyful.
We will absolutely maintain this smoothness of services and keep other guests satisfied with their entire trip.
We also appreciate so much your thought of returning our hotel for another visit and hope that we have chance to welcome you back in the short time.
Wish you and your family with health and happiness always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a gem. First class (large) rooms with every possible facility and it is in a rare quiet street slap at the edge of everything. Staff so kind and helpful. Four of us just spent 4 days here and I was truly impressed by everything.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms and they were ALL good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delhi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 588 in Hanoi
1,124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 588 in Hanoi
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 588 in Hanoi
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#98 of 588 in Hanoi
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing