We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #124 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hanoi Imperial Hotel on 2 different occasions during our tour of Vietnam, March 2013. The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants and stores. The hotel staff was great and willing to be of assistance any way possible to ensure we had a good stay and holiday in Vietnam. They were kind enough to offer keep our suit cases while travel to Sapa. Our room was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was good with a good selection, fresh fruit in our room daily, free internet access available in our room with a strong connection, and their was a good selection of cable channels available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Denise M,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We couldn’t be thankful enough for your sincere and supportive feedback. It was really loss of words to receive your compliments to our services. With our advantage of location, we have been trying to make our services to be another strength of ours as well as to have the staffs well-trained and well-mannered, to provide added value and complementary, to renovate our rooms and to keep regular maintenance. We actually didn’t have to force our staffs to be enthusiastic and caring, but they acted naturally from their attitude towards customers. Our highest mission is to get customers’ satisfaction that was successfully met with your review here.
We hope, with our continuous efforts, there will be more thoughtful guests to give us their comprehension and appreciation just like the way you did.

Thank you so much again for your support!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 687 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here with our young adult family in January 2013 for a total of 5 nights. This Hotel is in the heart of Old Hanoi we couldn't have asked for a better position from which to explore this fast paced gritty part o fantastic city. The hotel itself is tucked away in a small alley a stone throw from one of the city's many lakes. The hotel has an old world charm about it that is reflected in the attention to detail in the rooms and the service of the staff. Breakfast's were good with a great selection of eastern and western cuisine. The staff at breakfast were especially good and rate a special mention as they couldn't do enough to help. The hotel is ideally placed for eating and shopping options as well as being close to reliable ATM's. We were able to store our luggage while we overnighted in Halong Bay which was handy. All in all a fantastic experience in a great hotel in a city with so much to offer.

Room Tip: all rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierrethedirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Firstly, in representation of our hotel team, I would like to send you thankful words for your stay at our hotel.
Moreover, we couldn’t be happier reading your sincere comments and beautiful things about Hanoi city that you pointed out in your review.
The city and the streets within the Old Quarter are busy all day in deed, yet fortunately our hotel is located in a quiet corner of the city which not only allows guests to have good sleep but also convenient for sightseeing, shopping and dining around.
Stepping out of the hotel, you will easily find numerous fine dining restaurants, bars, café. 2 more minutes away, you face the very green space of Sword Lake, where you can actually have fresh breath.
It was such a significant encouragement for us to know that all of our attempts to bring you the best-value service were appreciated. We are maintaining these good impressions and getting our hospitality to higher level.
Many thanks again for your generosity to us and we’re hoping to have you back to our hotel in your favorable time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in January 2013 and it was wonderful. The staff was so helpful, getting us to the overnight train to Sapa and with arrangements for guides, restaurants, you name it. We loved the ambience of the street and the whole area, so close to the lake. We were able to walk all over. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisawalkerlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Madam,
On behalf of our Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team, I would like to give you our sincere thanks for your stay at our hotel as well as your choice of our hotel for your next visit.
Our staffs always consider that serving guests is a pleasure and that the guests’ happiness is theirs as well. Hence, your words to complement our staffs’ helpfulness were the inspiration for us to try harder and to keep guests come back again and again.
We are so proud to know you enjoyed our lovely street in the Old Quarter and hope that Hanoi lifestyle remains to be your favorite.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights if I remember correctly. I came with little expectations ... but I was quite thrilled with the service.


Location is quite central. Staff is good.
There are lot of food options .. just a walk away. Especially the cafe just outside. They serve delicious food and customize it to taste.

I had booked all my trips through hotel travel desk. And I found them to be quite good.

If given a change I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeerajB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team!
We are so thankful for your choosing our hotel for your stay as well as your positive feedback to our services. We feel very pleasured and delighted to know your stay was over your expectations.
I supposed that your experience with the trips arranged by our travel desk staff was memorable and joyful.
We will absolutely maintain this smoothness of services and keep other guests satisfied with their entire trip.
We also appreciate so much your thought of returning our hotel for another visit and hope that we have chance to welcome you back in the short time.
Wish you and your family with health and happiness always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a gem. First class (large) rooms with every possible facility and it is in a rare quiet street slap at the edge of everything. Staff so kind and helpful. Four of us just spent 4 days here and I was truly impressed by everything.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms and they were ALL good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delhi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed there for 2 nights. My first impression of the hotel was it looks dirty and old. The street connecting to the hotel was dirty and smelly. In front of the hotel was the garbage from the hotel. There are also dog poo around and be extra careful not to step on it. The staffs were pretty friendly. They are also very helpful to us. The room looks old but clean. The hotel have a good location as it is just mins away from the lake and shopping areas. There are alots of pubs and restuarants around the vicinity for you to hang out. Breakfast was ok. Skipped my second day of breakfast because i rather have something else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsf_tan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to send you our special thanks for your stay with us and your spending time to give us the valuable feedback.
We are also sorry for the unpleasant feeling regarding the outside area that you had at the beginning. We feel so regretful that we couldn’t do anything about the street. You may know that the conveniences come out with living among citizens, streets and city life. On the other hand, our hotel location is perfect to visit the most popular tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, souvenir shops, etc.
I hope those advantages did find you better over the external factors and those may bring you back Hanoi and our hotel another time.

Wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Hanoi Imperial, and was very satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean and conveniently located. What more can you ask for? They also offer very decent massages for under $20.00. The breakfast was not very good, and could be improved by adding pastries or croissants, but at this price level it was not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckblue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
On behalf of Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team, I would like to thank you so much for your stay and your helpful feedback to us!
We feel so fulfilled by your compliment and will definitely continue the positive part as well as fix the need-improving part, so that all guests can enjoy satisfactory stay with best value. We are now on a renovation for the overall services of the hotel to create the perfect accommodation.
We look forward to your next visit with good expectation.
Wish you have extensively exiting experience in all other trips!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#72 of 606 in Hanoi
1,292 reviews
0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#30 of 606 in Hanoi
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#93 of 606 in Hanoi
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#101 of 606 in Hanoi
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
#139 of 606 in Hanoi
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $53 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing