We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #114 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Hanoi Imperial, and was very satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean and conveniently located. What more can you ask for? They also offer very decent massages for under $20.00. The breakfast was not very good, and could be improved by adding pastries or croissants, but at this price level it was not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckblue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
On behalf of Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team, I would like to thank you so much for your stay and your helpful feedback to us!
We feel so fulfilled by your compliment and will definitely continue the positive part as well as fix the need-improving part, so that all guests can enjoy satisfactory stay with best value. We are now on a renovation for the overall services of the hotel to create the perfect accommodation.
We look forward to your next visit with good expectation.
Wish you have extensively exiting experience in all other trips!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    250
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
132
246
62
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here in Nov 2012. Staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The breakfast provided on the rooftop dining room proved to be the best of our two week stay in Vietnam. They arranged our train from Hue on our return to Hanoi, arranged to pick us up at 5am at the train station and let us shower and cleanup in the spa. They had arranged an overnight trip to Halong Bay for that morning, fed us breakfast and stored our luggage. The staff was very welcoming on our return and always made us feel welcome.They also arranged for our airport transfers. Would return there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mainetraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to give you our sincere thanks for your stay with us last November.
We feel so embraced with your nice words to our services and will try more and more to deserve with your appraisals to us. We felt that was our responsibility to make your stay most comfortable and everything most convenient for you.
Hope that we will have more chances to host you at our hotel in upcoming time as well as to welcome such gentle guests like you.
Wish you have more memorable and fabulous journeys around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved being able to walk Old Quarter from hotel, eat from street kitchens. Mr. Ian most helpful concierge by email in advance and during stay. Hotel room beautiful and spotlessly clean, would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patkap5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Patkap5,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of Mr. Ian and our hotel staff, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your great review to our hotel.
We are more than happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and so honored to be recommended to your friends.
We hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back here for your next visit. We will do our best to make sure you have the most comfortable stay.
Wish you all the best in your life and your personal endeavours!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Centrally located, clean and efficient with nice sized rooms and good bathroom and ok breakfast
i stayed here for 2 nights and it was quiet and staff were helpful and friendly.no fitness centre and never tried room service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Gitta45,
Warm greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We acknowledge your kindness and your sincere comment to our property with many thanks.
It’s so good that you experienced relaxing time at our hotel without any disturbance.
We’re also glad to inform you that we’re going to extend our services with a brandnew fitness center inside our property, where all the guests can work out with modern facilities and equipment and enjoy great view of the city.
Hope you will come back next time to enjoy our extensive services and experience more joyful trips within Vietnam.
Wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is well located in the Old Quarter and walking distance from great places to eat. The rooms are clean and the staff is extremely helpful. Breakfast was very good but was not always ready by the scheduled start time, 6:30am. This was a little disappointing as we had an early flight and had to leave the hotel at 7am and left another day at 7:30am.

My boyfriend and I had the hotel hold our bigger luggage while we left for a one night cruise on Ha Long Bay. I recommend doing this if you have a large bag. The boat cabins are small. The staff was pleasant and more than happy to help. Upon our return, they retrieved our bags before we had even finished checking in.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beerpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Beerpwr,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
On behalf of our hotel team, I would like to give you our special thanks for your feedback to our hotel.
Our hotel team was so honored to have you as our guest and to serve you with our hospitality. We are extremely happy to see that you had a great experience at our hotel. It is so gracious of you to send our staff those beautiful words and hopefully they will be encouraged to work harder and keep their best manners as mentioned.
In the other hand, we also feel very sorry for the inconvenience that you had in breakfast time. Our staffs might have personal problems that affected adversely to our entire service performance. We understand that this was our fault not to get the staff in strict disciplines all the time. We did investigate this problem and forced the staff to prepare the breakfast on time. Optimistically, this problem will never happen to other guests again.
Eventually, we still hope to have another chance to welcome you at our hotel for your next enjoyable trip and may our hotel be recommended to your friends, relatives and colleagues in their travel plan.
Thank you so much once again for your constructive review!
Best regards,
Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights total. As many travelers in this area, we went back and forth to the hotel while traveling other places. Our luggege was kept well and the hotel was in touch with us all the time to make sure if we need anything else.
The staff was very knowledgeable and had great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area.

The rooms are clean, good WIFI, and the breakfast was wonderful.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASNPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear ASNPX,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
We are very grateful for your stay at our hotel last January and your positive feedback to us.
Our staff would be very delightful to get your kind response to their attempts.
They have tried their best to deliver our hospitality and professionalism and finally it paid off.
We’re looking forward to seeing you another time in Hanoi and to assisting you for another pleasant stay at our hotel.
Wish you will be blessed with good lucks, happiness and wealth always!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. We had a room on the 7th floor with a small balcony. The hotel is clean and basic--definitely not fancy. If this is what you're looking for, then you'll be happy. The bathrooms aren't the best, but they work. And the hot water can also be in short supply. But the staff is very helpful, and the wifi was pretty dependable. Good location just a block from Hoan Kiem lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenimper, General Manager at Hanoi Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Danny P,
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Imperial Hotel!
Firstly, we would like to give you our sincere thanks for your stay at our hotel lately as well as your constructive feedback to our service. We are so grateful for your words and happy that you did not get any significant inconvenience during your stay with us.
When designing our hotel rooms, we aimed to create a truly comfortable and relaxing space where furniture and facilities are properly arranged and simplified to the most essential yet still up-to-date and sufficient for all guests’ needs. We also reduced redundant decorations and supplements, as well as kept the rooms open to natural light. Loads of furniture, fixtures and unnecessary details would result in a narrow space for living and unpleasant feeling for staying guests. That might be the reason why you evaluated the room as basic.
We appreciate all reviews from our valued guests as they will be so much helpful in enhancing our accommodation and services. We will definitely execute the renovation for our accommodation in the short time and hopefully may welcome you back for a much more comfortable stay.
Wish you all the best in your life and your personal endeavors!
Kind regards,
Hanoi Imperial Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#75 of 578 in Hanoi
1,040 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 578 in Hanoi
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#98 of 578 in Hanoi
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing