We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location. Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Ranked #119 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great value and location. Friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is very well situated for tourists in the heart of the tourism area yet on a quite, one way street. Our room was very clean with a huge bed, very large bathroom, nice amenities. The shower didn't leak all over the floor, which is always a big plus.

Breakfast is nice with a decent variety of things.

The staff is really friendly and polite. They were happy to store our luggage for a few days while we went to Halong Bay and didn't mind us hanging out in the lobby for hours before our midnight flight home.

We got foot massages in the hotel spa. It was a bit overpriced compared to prices on the outside, but it was worth the convenience for us on our last night since we were checked out but needed to kill time before our flight home and were too tired to walk around.

They can arrange for the hotel's car to take you to the airport or will call you a regular taxi. When we were there some older Australian ladies were able to pay the hotel bellboy to go with them to the train station to help them with their luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    253
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
134
250
63
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ginowan-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I liked this hotel because the room was clean and comfortable, close to Lake Hoan Kiem and good restaurants. The staff were very friendly and the Assistant GM, Mr Ian Duong, helped us book a trip to Halong Bay on the Alova Gold, for 2 days and one night.
He also arranged a Hanoi city tour and made us airline reservations, with the tickets delivered to the hotel with no commission. The spa gives great foot massages (so good we went for another the next day). The wifi was free but very slow and hard to connect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel is in a quaint side street in the old quarter close to Hoan Kiem Lake. The room are very comfortable, clean, quiet and have added touches such as fresh fruit and flower petals in water bowls. The staff are very friendly and nothing to too much trouble. They also looked after our luggage while we went to Halong Bay for 2 nights. There are lots of cafes near by and it is within walking distance to the water puppet show. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellsbells21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January 2012 and found the location to be great, as it is on a side street and is reasonably quiet. There is a convenient little cafe across the road. The staff were most helpful in arranging side trips to Halong Bay (a really good trip with the Alova Gold boat) and Sapa (not such a good trip - staying at the North Star Hotel in Sapa was not the best over the Lunar New Year but the hotel had only one choice for the Sapa trip and I would look farther for better options).
Over the course of our stay we were in three different rooms and all were terrific. The standard room was a very good size with a nice bath and space to move around. The other rooms were VIP and were very large. There is a downside. There are are stairs up to the breakfast area on the 8th floor from the 6th floor so if you have trouble negotiating stairs it is going to be problematic. The breakfast was adequate and did have the option of a cooked egg dish, which was great.
The staff were extremely helpful. The bellboy met our train at 5 a.m. when we came back from Sapa and came with us in the taxi to return to the hotel. We were given a complementary room for the morning and complementary breakfast. We were flying to Luang Prabang in the afternoon and, after spending two nights on the train and one in a hotel in Sapa over the Lunar New Year, we were thrilled to have a place to shower and rest. For the money, this is a great place - very conveniently located and really helpful staff, who try their best to understand what you are saying and help you with your plans.

Room Tip: As someone else has said, have a look at your room before you say 'yes'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aileen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

As I was with my family we had two rooms on the same floor – level three. Our children had a reasonable sized room with some natural light while we had a room of less than half the size – not interconnecting. Whilst this was not such an issue, what was disconcerting was that our room was very dark with only two small windows looking directly other homes/rooms only meters away. We had to keep the curtains closed all the time to get some privacy. Even worse, both of these windows had steel bars over the glass and we felt like we were in a jail!!!

The location and value are good and the breakfast reasonable for Vietnam in a budget price / three star rating hotel.

Room Tip: Check the room before taking your bags so you get a room with light and/or views rather than bars an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel was recommended by one of the local guides I had travelled with on a cycling tour of Vietnam. The location was perfect--close to the Old Quarter and the Hoan Kiem Lake. I really liked the spacious & clean room, with windows on two sides! Lots of attention to the small details. . . .flowers, fruit. Shower/tub was clean and big. The included breakfast was good, with a variety of Vietnamese foods and French pastries--good coffee. The restaurant is on the top floor and has a great view of the city. The staff was helpful on arranging taxis to the Ethnic Museum and the Airport. . . .saved me money in both cases. I had fun with the front desk staff practicing English (and being encouraged in my halting Vietnamese). The staff felt like family after a very short time. The location is like a movie set, lots of goings on and good restaurants/coffee shops right outside the door. Practically on the walking tour recommended by Lonely Planet. Rates are reasonable. Internet access was a intermittent, however. My stay was a real treat and I'm hoping to get back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lofstrandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel is in a good location on a side street near the lake and the old section of Hanoi. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. The room was a good size with a large bathroom and a large bathtub with a shower. There was a bowl of water with flower petals in it and fresh fruit in the room everyday. We enjoyed with breakfast buffet because it had both American and Vietnamese choices along with eggs cooked to order. If you have trouble negotiating stairs, this hotel is not for you. There are several short flights of stairs in the entrance and the breakfast is served on the 8th floor while the elevator only goes to the 6th floor, necessitating a climb of 2 flights of stairs. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating, helping us immediately with any questions we had and help that we needed. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have any view other than that of a wall. If you want a room with a view, I think y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#97 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#107 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Imperial Hotel

Property: Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Address: 44 Hang Hanh Str. | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Imperial Hotel is located right in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter and only 2-mminute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Having good food, drink and shopping just takes some steps from the hotel. It is also very close and convenient to visit the most popular tourist attractions, such as Ngoc Son Temple, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, St. Joseph Cathedral, Hoa Lo Prison, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Complex, etc. The hotel has 40 elegant guest rooms with ful equipments and amenities. Most rooms are spacious and have large windows with stunning city view. The staff are courteous and well-trained. The extensive services include 24/24 reception, massage services, concierge, tour desk, airport transfer, car rental, housekeeping, washing and laundry, etc. The breakfast area provides a wide selection of food and panorama of the city in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing