We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
183
82
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
82
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathhalong bayold quarterlarge roomsmall hotelshower headspoke good englisheach morninghoan kiem lakefantastic locationsapatoursairportstreetvietnamcathedral
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 292 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My husband, mother-in-law and I stayed at The Golden Land Hotel for four nights recently and we all agreed that staying there really added to our enjoyment of the trip.

Our flight landed at midnight, an hour late, but the complimentary pick-up was still waiting for us at the airport and drove us to the hotel without delay.

The hotel is quite small with one room on each of the seven floors. They are excellent: clean and spacious with very comfortable beds, quiet air conditioning, wireless, cable TV, big windows looking out onto the bustling streets of the Old Quarter and good sound- proofing so we weren't disturbed by noise. The ensuite bathrooms were also spotless, with jacuzzi baths which were perfect to cool down in after a hot day of sightseeing.

Breakfast is included and is served in the bedrooms and there is a choice of five menus to order from the night before. (We often asked for different things from different menus which wasn't a problem.) The food was good, though remember not to assume that tea and coffee is made the same way around the world. We became big fans of Vietnamese coffee during our stay.

The hotel's manager, Mr. Phan thanh Tung, couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating and he and his friendly staff were always on hand to help us get a taxi, recommend where to eat or drink and book restaurants or theatre tickets for us. He also introduced us to a tailor across the street where my husband had six beautitfully cut pairs of trousers, all excellent quality, made at a mere US$50 a pair.

At the end of our stay we got another complimentary car to the airport, though we were really loathe to go.

All in all our stay at The Golden Land really made our trip and we would definitely recommend it. It's fantastic value, in a great location very near the pretty Hoan Kiem lake and the service can't be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YellowFozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We had a memorable holiday in Hanoi. Mr. Tung makes everything possible. He never says "No" or "can't". He has a kind and sincere demeanor. He arranged our tours from North to South Vietnam and Siem Reap, Cambodia. His hotel was the best place we stayed throughout our journey, special mention the quality of the towel, condition of the bed, private computer in the room and of course its cleanliness and location in the Old quarter. Can't beat the price too. Thank you very much Mr Tung and your staff . We'll surely stay again in your Hotel when we visit Hanoi in the future.
Tips:
Halong bay- spend at least one night on the junk ship. You won't regret it.
Sapa valley- take the Orient express train and trek through the valley. Don't forget your umbrella / raincoat. Recommend water shoes during the rainy season.
Learn basic Vietnamese before you go. You'll be glad you did. Very few people speak English.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asparafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This hotel is located at the old quarter. Affordable rates and very nice and comfortable room. There is also a jacuzzi where u can relax after a hot and tiring day. A very good bargain indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and one afternoon (between train journeys) though Mr Phan kindly didn't charge us for the afternoon.
The rooms were clean and spacious, and had excellent soundproofing - we could barely hear the street noise with the windows shut. and the bathrooms looked to be brand new.
Breakfast was superb - room service as standard, with a good choice on the menu (Ithink they would have prepared other breakfast if we didn't like what was on the menu but we never needed to)
Mr Phan was incredibly helpful, organising trips and train tickets for us at what appeared to be cost price, with good companies and his staff were well trained (although their English wasn't as good, but if there was any confusion they called him straight away)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabreurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

As i indicate, the hotel is excellent, specially the owner/manager mr. Phan Thanh Tung - his attitude , service orientation - are above and beyond !!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gidiKiryatBialik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews