We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
183
82
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
82
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathhalong bayold quarterlarge roomsmall hotelshower headspoke good englisheach morningthe location is perfecthoan kiem lakesapatoursairportstreetvietnamtransfercathedral
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 292 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place was one of our highlights for Vietnam. Landing after a long flight and arriving here was a slice of heaven. The room and hotel was comfortable and clean but the thing that really got me here was the service.
I can't remember the last time I had better service anywhere. Period. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The staff were all very accommodating, and even gave us their card and said that if we needed help ANYWHERE in Vietnam that we should call them and they would help if they could.
One particularly amazing thing they did for us was open the hotel an hour before reception would normally open because our train arrived from Sapa at 5am and we had nowhere else to go until our flight at 11am. We tried to book a room with them for a few hours but they were full, so they let us stay in the lobby, we chatted and we had breakfast.
Again I can't recommend this boutique hotel enough, we know without doubt where we'll be staying when we're next in Hanoi.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 6 and there was no street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

golden Land Hotel absolutely lighted up my life, i saw the room quite big, spot & really comfortable, it not far from HoanKiem lake, maybe around 5 mins for a walk, just take a little more time to relax at room, it really big although its appearance not the same from outside. Staffs always attentive, Mr.Lam took me to snake village and we had an amazing meal for snake, go around the village for a while as well.I forget my passport but they remind me, i thank a lot for a good stay at Golden Land Hotel.

Room Tip: stay at 3floor is the best, they have unique room on each floor, any room with balcony & window
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

we highly appreciated the room of hotel, our room absolutely big, modern, clean and with a really good city view as well. they serviced breakfast at room or at a small restaurant at hotel lobby, Mr. Danny and his team work professionally when they were wlling to help us to book tickets to Hue, trip to Sapa and Halong Bay trip on Galaxy Cruise, they gave a special offers for free taxi to airport because we booked all trips at hotel,. They can show you some nice place to go around with amazing experiences

Room Tip: ask for a nice room with an email and require for some offers
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We booked five nights at this hotel. We had been charging around Asia for the past 5 weeks and decided to spend a little longer in a place for our first leg of the Vietnam trip.

The hotel had a good reputation on tripadvisor and booking.com (our normal service of hotel seeking) . There were other hotels we were ready to go with but this one had no terrible reviews. It didn’t advertise breakfast as being included on our reservation. There was a little confusion on this matter as we were asked on arrival what breakfasts we’d like and we were unsure if we’d be charged, as it happens it was included. It was to an OK standard, fruits, eggs, toast etc.

On arrival we were warmly greeted but it took an abnormal time to check-in. I think the manager was trying to stall us by showing us the tour brochures. We just wanted to dump our bags and relax after a hot day and flights/transfers.

Our room was fitted out to a very high standard and was a haven for the five days in Hanoi. A few slight problems were that the wifi was temperamental (we asked about this and saw them plug something in under the stairs). Only three out of the 14 plug sockets worked in the room, and the hot water was patchy. We came back from a day trip wanting a bath/shower but couldn’t do so which was annoying and uncomfortable. We didn’t get a balcony room like advertised but we didn’t expect brekkie so we shrugged our shoulders. A slight problem was the shower - despite having a lovely spa bath, you have to be a dwarf to have a good stand up shower.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our first floor room blocks out noise from outside but reception can be noisy but also entertaining sometimes as the staff go about their happy ways.

We would like to share with you some minus points we have about the hotel which results in us marking the place down.

We had read on TA that a three night stay will result in one-way transfer to/from airport is FOC. We wanted a return so we thought we’d be paying $18 one way. Initially we were charged for both but we brought the issue up and were only charged for one. The hotel said that the guest that had wrote this on TA was paying a ‘higher price’ for their room.

We found the manager to be friendly but very pushy at times and didn’t directly answer our questions. His answers seemed to be that of the questions he wanted to hear and often rudely interrupted us when we had enquiries. We wanted to book a Halong Bay trip but a sleeping cruise didn’t fit in with our schedule and decided on a day-trip.

When we explained our plans to the manager, he went away to ‘confirm’ ‘the best day-trip’ but didn’t tell us if it was booked or not. At the same time he was juggling this booking with the train journey we had in mind for the next leg our of trip.

We wanted to book an overnight train down to Hue, we thought we’d go with the hotel rather than a travel agent as Danny promised us ‘the best price’. It wasn’t the best price as you could buy direct from the station for cheaper. However when booking the Halong Bay trip he was on/off the phone with the train station booking our tickets. He wouldn’t listen to our request of the actual plans we had in mind and told us quite frankly a load of rubbish (we later read in Lonely Planet this is Vietnam trick). We weren’t convinced we were going to get what we wanted so decided to go to the train station instead and see what we could get ourselves. Unfortunately the soft sleeper train tickets we had in mind were sold out that Danny said were available so we decided to fly instead to Hue.

At another stage during our stay he pestered us into buying a two-night cruise at Halong Bay but told him bluntly we had already booked a day trip!? On another occasion it took a rather abrupt ‘NO’ to ward off any further gab from the manager. On our say trip to Halong Bay there were other day-trippers who paid $30 to our $36.

It’s not our issue as we didn’t need to use it but the luggage storage was on the first floor just outside our room. It was unguarded and if there was a ‘chancer’ staying at the hotel then your bags will be at risk. I wouldn’t feel comfortable leaving mine.

To summarise, it is quite obvious that the staff are hard-working and care about your quality of stay. It’s a new hotel but I would say in a couple of years these niggles will be ironed out and this will become a reputable little boutique hotel in Hanoi. I would recommend it but would I’d slot it in the ‘good’ category on TA if I could – there should be an option to vote somewhere ‘in-between’ average and very good.

Room Tip: There is one room per floor, first floor noise from reception travels. Top two floors, access only via stairs from the 5th floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a warm welcome when we arrived, and the staff were very friendly. Was great to hear that we got a room upgrade. There are about 7 rooms in total, one on each floor, however the lift only reaches the 5th floor and you have to use the stairs for the other two.rooms. We stayed there on two separate occasions as we went to Ha Long Bay for a night and then returned again to the same hotel. We stayed on the 6th and 7 th floor. 6th floor being the bigger room, but both had the same room facilities, i.e jacuzzi, computer with internet, hair dryer, towels, flat screen T.V, complimentary tea and coffee. It doesn't come with complimentary water though, but can be bought under the mini bar tab.

We were quite unlucky at the time, as the safe didn't work because the battery had died, the air con. wasn't at full power and we couldn't access the internet, but a phone call to reception sorted the problems promptly,

Breakfast is in a small area by reception and you get choices from a set menu which you have to order the day before. If you don't mind being a bit cosy, then try it out, otherwise there are a few restaurants close by which you can also try out. The only thing that was a problem was the shower fixing was too low. My bf is nearly 6ft, and it came to his shoulder height so you had to pick the shower head up and shower fully that way. Also the higher up you are, the less powerful the shower is, but otherwise, it's a great hotel in a great location!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roseycup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews