We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad smell and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Zen Hotel

Hanoi Zen Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Zen Hotel
Ranked #397 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bad smell and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We first booked two nights at this hotel on our business trip in Ha Noi, However, we decided to move too another hotel after one night. This hotel looked just perfect with its website pictures but it is incredibly bad in reality. The room is dirty and terrible smell that made us headache. Do not trust their website pics, which is completely untrue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quoc Le D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
17
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We feel that this hotel should be avoided. We were disappointed by the overall presentation of the hotel, which showed sloppy workmanship and poor maintenance. During our four night stay we experienced immature staff, with a lack of local knowledge who were unable to answer questions and were often found playing computer games and watching tv. This made service slow. Our room was large, however the carpet was stained, the shower was cold, it often smelt of stale smoke, the bedding did not fit the size of bed and the tv did not work. We felt the breakfasts and environment in which it was served was unsatisfactory. The room was smelly, unclean and dark. There was little choice in food and what was presented was unappealing. The location was far from the city centre and a 30 minute walk from turtle lake. We are sad to say that we would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

we stayed a total of 8 nights here and it was perfect for us. the rooms were massive and air conned and for the time of year we went were very welcome! I travelled with my sister and we had separate rooms, each with two double beds with a wet room en-suite. The staff were the friendliest I have came across, they were extremely helpful and polite. The hotel did not have a restaurant but the staff would order a take-away to be delivered. It was very informal and friendly, more like staying with friends that an impersonal hotel. The location was perfect as you never seemed to be too far away from anywhere. Within walking distance of many things including the giant market.

Overall I would really recommend this hotel for Hanoi. It was excellent value for money, comfortable with staff that we actually missed afterwards.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restlessfeet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed in this hotel, for three days. It was a good room with fine beds. But the hotel was not yet finished at all, they were constructing lots of things, like the breakfast room and also in the corridors. It looked a little bit a mess through the whole hotel. The breakfast that we had, was not very good too. We got cold noodle soup, twice and also they put on the menu fresh orange juice, but it was definitely some watery orange juice from a pack.
The hotel has a good location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Zen is a budget hotel with a number of problems to resolve.

Good: Budget priced, friendly lobby staff (but who don't make up for the problems), rooms relatively stylish & comfy for a budget hotel-- flat-screen TVs, aircon works, electric kettle, small fridge

Bad: "No smoking" rooms are NOT smokefree: mine smelled of cigarettes and had an ashtray. No Smoking means No Smoking! Wifi was not accessible in upper floors. Rooms ending '-01' face noisy Quan Thanh street

Ugly: Arrghh...bait & switch! From the street, the clean trendy lobby is quickly exposed as a facade: boxes stacked in back, the stairwell is crowded with all sorts of crap and the whole place seems in disarray. Hallway carpets are heavily soiled and smell of solvent. Carpets in the room are not properly vacuumed. The 2nd floor breakfast cafe is dirty, the Zen wall print is peeling off the wall, and looks like it's under construction. Not a pleasant place to eat. Breakfast is disappointed and served with apathy. The pho (soup) that they get from the food stall down the street is good and generous, but every morning I had to beg for chilis and lime. Stale wonderbread is served instead of the great crusty airy French loaf that is sold on every corner. Eggs, bacon and toast? Cooked with carelessness on-site. And no bacon ( "not available" Yeah, right. Bacon is available every square block in Hanoi. Could not be bothered I guess.) Bathrooms in the "Deluxe" rooms have stall-less showers, with cheap showerheads that soak everything in the bathroom except you. Final insult: free airport transfers for 5+ day stays advertised on the website turned into 1-way only. My last day there, the website notice had disappeared. Plus instead of providing a private car for the return transfer, as promised, they simply called Noi Bai Taxi, which costs $14/15, and charged me $20 for it. Small amount of money, but not cool and not a good last impression.

Zen could be a very good budget hotel with some clean-up, better management, 1000% improvement in the breakfast, and commitment to truth in advertising. It needs a complete overhaul and a good dose of ethics to be considered a "fine, boutique" hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Originally booked a hotel around the corner that cancelled my booking- for 5am after the overnight train from sapa. So very tired, grumpy and dirty I knocked on the door to zen hotel. They were so lovely- not only was my room nicer than the hotel I had booked (la belle vie) but cheaper too and they let me check in immediately- soft bed and shower were bliss. And the staff recommended a great Vietnamese restaurant around the corner for dinner. Good airport transfer, very early room service breakfast (crepes-very nice)included in the room tariff.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
567 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed at the Zen Hotel fro a total of 5 days, and overall, it was great. If making a booking, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the front rooms get a lot of Hanoi street noise.

The room was adequate and breakfast, although simple, was pretty good. In fact, the Pho served was about the best I tasted while in Vietnam. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.

The location is excellent and within walking distance of downtown and the lakes.

Perhaps the hotel is basic, but for the price it offers great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Smile Hotel
#377 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tam Hotel
Tam Hotel
#219 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
#171 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#136 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#148 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Zen Hotel

Property: Hanoi Zen Hotel
Address: 43 Quan Thanh | Ba Dinh, Hanoi +844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in centre of the capital, the newly built Zen Hotel is a stylish example of this standard tube style. A modernized classic, the hotel references Art Deco. Inside, the mix of French colonial and Asian accents continues, with colors and decorations evoking Hanoi's long history.Zen Hotel offers tastefully decorated and high standard rooms, tour desk and lounge. All rooms are comfortable and modern equipment plus our well – trained and friendly staff guarantee to bring you an unforgettable stay in our hotel. The days in Vietnam, it'll be an unforgettable moment for you at Zen Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing