We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“busy great value 2 vists in 6 nights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Day Restaurant

New Day Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 2,169 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“busy great value 2 vists in 6 nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

my son wanted to used a nearby hotel restaurant but they where fully booked with 90 minute wait so the doorman suggested we walk around the the corner to newday.
it was very busy on both visit but great value entree,main,desert and beer for three just over
600000vnd $30 aud

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank les w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,373
    1,088
    255
    73
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ok place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Easy to start in hanoi,offers local food but is not as scary as eating on the street on the first day of your arrival.second or third floor has the best seats of the house so to speak because there you sit on the floor:)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pumalainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great food, quick service (if it looks full they still have a lot of room in the back) You can't beat the price, and the seafood and pork ribs were phenomenal. Don't think twice about going here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ejbrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happy teenagers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Travelling with teenage boys can prove a challenge with the amount of food they can consume. Newday satisfied them with the size of the servings and us with the variety and flavour of food. Lots of tourists who are treated exceptionally well by the staff there. We were a group of 6 and they gave us our own area so we didnt feel crowded in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fer_L1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is rightly very popular - not just with travellers but the hip (and more affleunt) vietnamese locals. It was packed every night we ate there but they always found a space for us - often 3 or 4 floors up.

The food was excellent Vietnamese fare which even our teenage kids enjoyed. If you are in the old quarter you should eat here at least once - probably our favourite Hanoi eatery. Pretty good prices too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptolemy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Day Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Day Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing