We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast and reasonably priced food”
Review of New Day Restaurant

New Day Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 2,232 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fast and reasonably priced food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

As recommended we went twice to this place for our lunch and dinner. We didn't what to order exactly so we made an educated guess and were right half the time. A stewed pork leg came with too much bones while the other dish wasn't up to expectation of taste but the service was good and the prices reasonable. The grilled pork would be more tasty with the beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,441
    1,126
    265
    74
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and cheap”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The real experience this is, sit at a table with strangers and have the best dishes in town. Do not expect luxury, but a really good and cheap Vietnamese meal. Staff speaks english, and are helpful choosing your courses. Really a mustgo when going to Hanoi.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Simple, fresh, good food.
Excellent service, servers speak and understand English well, very attentive.

Reasonably priced. I had coffee, appetizer (fresh spring rolls), main dish with rice, and dessert... All for ~$5-6 only. Wow! The fact that food was fresh, simple, home cooked feel and inexpensive.

Tried other places but ate here twice and would eat everyday if I was here longer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
488 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We failed to get a seat by the roadside, so ended up at the back. However, it was very cozy, in a Transport cafe kind of way. The food was terrific. My aubergine dish was excellent, the fried squid less so. My wife's soup was very good, but not her fish. Generally though it was very good and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't look at the menu!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I am sure there is plenty of good meals on the menu. But leave it alone and pick out what you fancy from the kitchen. Your taste buds will thank you for it. It is the best way to sample more of the delicious flavours of Northern Vietnam. The place is always busy, which can only be a good sign, and the staff are always so friendly.

The only way I can see this restaurant being any better..........was if it was here in Melbourne, Australia :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Day Restaurant also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to New Day Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing