We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoky, small portions and overpriced but tasty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelina

Angelina
Ranked #284 of 2,168 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Angelina - the exceptional bar - lounge - restaurant Angelina offers western cuisine with Italian influence and has a gourmet selection of fine grilled meats and seafood as well as modern tapas, pastas, risottos and lighter fare. Angelina is also where the "who's who" of Hanoi come to play. Avant-garde design, a live DJ and a top shelf guest list make Angelina the place to be seen. Innovative mixologists show talent with their signature cocktails, premium spirits and enviable wine list.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
464 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Smoky, small portions and overpriced but tasty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food at Club Angelina was tasty but the portions were very small especially given the prices. Also, even the no smoking section is filled with smoke because the smoke rises from the bar and smoking section below. Until and unless the ventilation system is modified I cannot recommend it unless you smoke...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    32
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chanel your inner Angelina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Let's face it, Hanoi can be an assault on the senses, so if you're looking for a little bit of serenity, a bit of class and the chance to pretend you're Angelina Jolie ( and who doesn't want that last one?), the Metropole is the place you for!

Spend the afternoon sipping cocktails and nibbling ( and I mean nibbling- note to self: Don't come hungry!) on delicious treats and forget about the very steep bill you're accruing. The service is second to none, and the ambiance is incredible. There's a tour available of the hotel, which delves into its history and its famous former guests.

This is real slice of the old grandeur of Hanoi - don't miss it!

On the down side, had the afternoon tea, and were disappointed- one and a half finger sandwiches! Give that a miss!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is surprisingly good value for its location.
Service was excellent, the ambience and decor in the restaurant is lovely.. But most importantly the food is delicious!
My partner and I went for lunch. I had lasagne and he had the farfalle. Both were excellent. The mocktails were great too. I had the mango lemonade and it was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcicala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

An Italian restaurant, named after a movie star, in a Vietnamese hotel -- our expectations weren't high. But it was raining, and we were too tired to go out and be adventurous.
To our surprise, the food was absolutely delicious. It's a pity this place is actually called "Angelina Italian Steak House", because the steak was pretty average (which is to say, about as good as you're likely to find anywhere else in Hanoi). On the other hand, the pastas and salads were outstanding, the martinis were perfect, and our meal was so good we went back a second time during our stay.
I'd rarely rave about salads in a restaurant review, but you often crave something fresh when you've been travelling for a while, and these were so good we ordered them again on our second visit.
We had a chat with the manager; the resident chef actually is Italian, which explains a lot about the flavour, and the quality of the ingredients.
Yes, it's expensive, but it is in the Sofitel. If you're a little tired of Vietnamese food and feel like a Western meal, you couldn't do better.
(Note: the place morphs into a sort of lounge-nightclub later in the evening, so unless you're in the mood, don't dine late.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good staff and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good standard Nothing extraordinary but very pleasant. Staff very friendly. The Hotel is exceptional for Hanoi

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A1sportingspeakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelina also viewed

 

Been to Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing